We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort to your Saves list
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $100 Instantly!
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Ocean, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Location and Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

If you want to stay slopeside without paying hefty slopeside rates then Sundial is for you. If you are seeking a luxury or "hotel like" experience then you will do better elsewhere, such as at the nearby Grand Summit Hotel. Sundial charges less than you would expect, and the staff make an effort to provide the most possible within that budget. Hot drinks in the lobby apres-ski, valet parking and a fair ratio of staff make up for what is otherwise a spartan lodge.

Our room and the decor were simple, nice touches included the small in-room kitchen and porch. The lobby and public areas are small and the elevator wait time can be long at peak times.

Overall Sundial is a decent alternative for the budget minded who want to stay slopeside - the location is ideal, just a few feet away from Canyons ticket office and the gondola and in the center of Canyons base village.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    67
    19
    13
    11
See reviews for
64
44
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Sundial Lodge at the Canyons for 5 nights in January because we were attending Sundance Film Festival. We had stayed there previously and really like the location. This time was not as nice as the last. We were given a ground floor room even though we really didn't want one. The front desk clerk was rude when we asked to change and said it just wasn't going to happen. When we returned from being out the first day all the windows and doors were unlocked.
When my husband went skiing one morning while I went ahead to Sundance, he then tried to get a taxi to go meet me in Park City and was told "That's really hard to do: this is Sundance". (they wouldn't call a taxi). When I asked at the desk about tea bags instead of just coffee in the room I was told "this isn't a hotel". When we checked out, I left a $400. sweater hanging on the back of the bathroom door by mistake. I called later that day and was told "the housekeeper did not find anything". I persisted for 2 weeks in trying to get it back, and the security staff tried very hard to help, but basically it was stolen.
We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
I am very disappointed to hear that you felt your stay was so dissatisfying particularly since you have had an enjoyable time here at the Sundial in the past. As you can imagine, so many of our guests have specific room location requests and when it gets to be a time as busy as the Film Festival it can be a great challenge to move rooms around to accommodate every request. I am sorry that you felt you were not treated respectfully in your request for a room in a different location. One of the best ways we can learn to improve in areas where we have fallen short is to receive feedback such as yours and I appreciate your taking the time to provide this review as this can be a very valuable piece of training material for us moving forward. I remember specifically your missing sweater and as you mentioned, our Safety Team took your concerns very seriously and did, indeed, determine that the sweater had not been removed by a housekeeper. I am very sorry the sweater was never located. I invite you to give us another chance and come back and have the enjoyable and positive experience you had in your previous stay. Feel free to contact me directly if you would allow us the chance to rise to the challenge and win you back.

Warmly,
Kristin

Property Manager, Sundial Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here multiple times and still love the location and the skiing. Room was fine; standard condo quality. Like a lot of the resort it seemed that the lodge was always understaffed. The folks were very nice and helpful but it seemed that they all were just trying to keep up. 1 front desk attendant who sometimes doubled as the ski locker valet, 1 bellhop. You get the picture. Maybe due to the economy plus we were later in the season (early march). Would still return though as the location is great. One final word; if you dont rent a car be prepared to take a shuttle into town as the eating options are limited (and pricey) at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

If you're independent, resourceful, and looking for a walk to lift location the Canyons Resort, Sundial Lodge may fit your profile. Less than one block to the gondola, the Sundial rooms have stove, microwave, dishwasher for those looking to eat in. Speedy Fernandez (a food delivery option,) is an option from local restaurants as well. The condo style rooms also have an over under washer dryer in the units. They include small flat panel TV with Blue Ray DVD and a small iPod stereo in room. A gas fireplace couch, multiple tables, dining room table complete the room layout. Bathrooms are equipped with a in room jacuzzi tub and reasonable sized bathroom. The staff here is friendly, helpful, hard working and see that you have all that you need. This is a place working hard at building a brand.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great stay at the Sundial! The staff was very friendly and the property was charming with all the amenities a family could need. Our one bedroom suite was a good size for the four of us, and it was fully equipped. (Washer dryer; detergent provided, dishwasher; dishwashing detergent provided, coffee maker; coffee and condiments provided, iron and blow dryer...even paper towels were stocked.) The majority of lodges do not include the small extras...have to go buy them at a market and waste vacation time shopping for set ups. The Sundial has a warm rustic feel. If you are looking for a Ritz Carlton type of setting, then this is not your place. The charm of the Sundial is perfect for a mountain setting. We would highly suggest adding the breakfast vouchers with your stay, the food was wonderful; especially the extensive options in the fresh made omelet line! The property location is perfect...only takes a few minutes to walk to the gondola. Although I read complaints about minimal food establishments, we found there were plenty of choices that could service the guests even during a very busy holiday weekend. Loved our stay! Would stay again!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a king bed hotel style room. Had spa bath in it, not much of a view but didn't matter as we were skiing all day. Walking distance in boots to gondola and restaurants. Limited food , but the Farm and the red tail grill are great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

Large 2br, 3ba with a loft at the Canyons. Full kitchen and large balcony overlooking ski beach. Short walk to pool and hit tub. Also very close to Red Pine Gondola and the slopes. Also very close to the farm, alpine house and red tail grill. Overall very nice slopeside amenities at the Canyons.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#13 Business Hotel in Park City
#24 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views.

This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Resort Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.