We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort to your Saves list
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $100 Instantly!
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Park City
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ski Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

"My son and I stayed at the Sundial Lodge last winter (March 2011). It was terrific. The skiing at Canyons was first class, especially with the new lifts to ease you over to the Dream Peak side and the Cloud 9 restauraunt. The hotel is extremely conveniently located just a few steps from the gondola. The staff was very helpful and cooperative. The manager, Mary Sorensen, was extremely gracious in every way, especially in selecting a room for us. Our room had a kitchen, a lovely balcony, was well appointed and had all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed apres ski in the jacuzzis. The free wifi was also a great convenience. Good restaurants within walking distance. In short, a great place. We look forward to returning."

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    19
    13
    11
See reviews for
64
45
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

At base, surrounded by restaurants and services. I did not choose the place so was happily surprised by the in-room washer and dryer, fireplace and fully stocked kitchen. Furniture was up to date, bed extremely comfortableThe rooftop hot tub with a view was always on point. The front desk, ski porterage, and valet staff were uniformly extremely polite, friendly and helpful, and never flagged despite the all-too-common entitled jerk behavior of many guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We've stayed here in winter and summer. It is a good value for Park City. Only steps to gondola. Not a lot of activity after lifts close but we like it quiet. If you want activity, Main Street is short drive or free bus ride away. One bedroom is comfortable with full kitchen and washer/dryer. Internet access is free but terribly slow, tvs need updating. I was told by staff that both are being updated and should be complete by December 2011.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msorensen, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on the Sundial Lodge at Canyons! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our one bedroom suites and felt that the accommodations are comfortable. Concerning the TV’s, we have agreed that they were in need of an update; therefore the TV’s are being replaced with flat screens this month. We have also replaced our beds, carpet, repainted, and are going through the process of ordering new furniture items as well. In addition to all this good news, next year we will start in with some beautiful new granite and stainless steel appliance options to wrap up our remodel. We look forward to showing off all our new changes during your next visit. If you would like my personal assistance in booking a room, feel free to contact me directly. Thank you again for staying as our guest.

Sincerely,
Mary Sorensen
General Manager, Sundial Lodge @ Canyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed March 25-28, during the Spring Gruv at the Canyons, above average sized room w/ balcony faced out onto resort and stage where we watched Los Lobos and John Popper (Blue's Traveler) after long days of skiing. Resort was very clean and rooms were large. Rate included lift ticket for 2 people each night of stay plus very nice breakfast buffet each morning. Restaurants on site are good but somewhat expensive; however, they have a market with everything you need and the rooms have either a microwave/refrigerator up to full kitchen. The market also has a deli and pizza plus alcohol. Downside is that restaurants and bars close very very early. Getting into Park City isn't incredibly easy but they do have shuttles that will take you in and out. Cabs are expensive but much more relaxing.

The mountain is excellent. Even when busy most of the slopes aren't too crowded unless you're heading down to a primary lift. The terrain is definately made more for intermediate and better skiers. It is slow going and fairly difficult for beginners but they can still have a good time.

The lifts are right outside your door and lines are either non-existant or move very quickly.

They are still open until mid-April and just got a lot of snow. Make sure to book a deal with lift tickets and breakfast included. Your hotel room ends up very inexpensive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msorensen, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your great view of the Sundial Lodge at the Canyons Resort. We are so glad to read that you were able to experience our Spring Gruv celebration, and specifically have the opportunity to watch the concert from the comforts of your room. I am happy to pass along your comments concerning the bars and restaurants closing too early to our Food & Beverage Director. Your feedback is quite valuable as we work towards leading our guests to extraordinary experiences. We look forward to your next visit and please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I personally can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Mary Sorensen
General Manager, Sundial Lodge @ Canyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

we traveled last minute to the canyons resort and had low expectations . our room was nice and plenty of space for 3 . it was not anything fancy but we had everything we needed . most important was the location . we were able to be in the lift line at 9 ! the heated garage was a big plus too . very helpful and friendly staff . by the way , we have always skied deervalley and decided to see what canyons was like . we loved it !!!! i do think it is a difficult mountain for beginners . make sure you get the grooming reports before heading out though . it helps to know where you are going . no groomed blacks . had lunch at lookout cabin and it was good . not great though .

now to the negative park of our trip : we have always rented from Christy Sports and been happy . this time we had a problem ! my 11 year olds ski broke and was stuck up in empire canyon lodge . she was in ski school and I was skiing in deervalley for the day . I had to meet her there and try to resolve the problem . I called the Deervalley location of Christy Sports and talked to the manager ( I believe her name was Dawn ) and was treated very poorly . She did not do much to help but offered to send a van to the mountain . I think it was the way she spoke to me and the disinterest in general that made me angry . the rest of my daughters lesson was shot as well as the rest of my day . Ski school had to leave my daughter behind . The van driver was very nice and did refund our rentals . Bottom line ......Deervalley Christy sports had such poor customer service when it actually mattered and thats what sets one rental place apart from another . So , just be warned . Safety is another concern when it comes to your child and again this manager did nothing to lesson our concerns when it mattered . Her response was that " it just happens " .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msorensen, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
We are pleased that your latest ski vacation brought you to the Canyons and you were able to experience Sundial Lodge! As it is our goal to provide extraordinary experiences to our guests, it is always wonderful to hear that you felt our staff was helpful to you and your family. With the move of the Gondola right outside our lodge this last year, it is exciting to offer a smoother transition onto the mountain for our guests. We are also glad that you found the grooming reports helpful. Know on your next visit, that we are always happy to point out some great beginner runs before you head on up to the mountain if you would like our assistance.
Due to Christy Sports not being part of the Sundial Lodge or the Canyons, I am not at liberty to respond to your disappointing experience with your rentals. However I sincerely hope on your next visit to Park City, the rentals are smoother for you and your family.
Thank you for choosing the Sundial Lodge and we look forward to your next visit. If there is anything I personally can do to make your next visit more enjoyable, please reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Mary Sorensen
General Manager, Sundial Lodge @ Canyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Room was nice with balcony overlooking ski resort. Staff was very friendly and the snow was perfect. Loved this place. Would stay again next time I am in Park City.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msorensen, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Sundial Lodge at the Canyons. Our goal is to lead our guests to memorable experiences, and provide accommodations that are comfortable and allow you to thoroughly enjoy the perfect snow on the mountain. Therefore it is always wonderful to receive feedback that you found the staff to be friendly and that you would consider staying with us again.
If there is anything I can do to make your next visit more enjoyable, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Mary Sorensen
General Manager, Sundial Lodge @ Canyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Just returned from 4 night stay in a 1bd/1ba (Building C). Unlike some of the other reviews, we felt like the Sundial was a great place for the money spent.

PROS: Check-in and out was quick and easy. Our room was clean, comfortable, and had a view of the slopes from almost every window and the balcony. We had a full kitchen, fireplace, washer/dryer, and spa tub. The tiles in our bathroom were heated---which was great after a day of skiing. Maid service came each day while we were out and gave us extra towels without any problem.

The restaurants were great---expensive, like all slope-side lodging areas. After our first morning, we received free breakfast coupons for each additional day and we used them at The Cabin (located in the Grand Summitt, just a 3-4 minute walk from our room). We also ate dinner at Alpine House and The Farm--both good (but The Farm is a bit overpriced, we thought).

Location was fabulous. Just a two minute walk to either gondola (Red Pine, Cabriolet) and three minute walk to the Sunrise lift or Orange Bubble Express.

CONS: Our TV was quite fuzzy, but we called the front desk and maintenance came quickly to adjust it. He informed us that the resort is in the process of switching to satellite service because cable is notriously poor in the area. The roof top hot tub takes a bit to get warm and it's set on a 15 minute timer so it has to be "restarted" if you plan to stay in for a while. If you are a late-nighter, there isn't much to do after 10pm--you'll have to take the bus to Main Street.

All in all, we had a great experience at The Canyons and thought the Sundial Lodge was a great value for the room and service we received. We hope to return to PC next year with the kids and there is no doubt that we will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#13 Business Hotel in Park City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views.

This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Resort Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.