We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waldorf Elegance, Service, & Convenience with Park City Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Park City

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Park City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Park City
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2100 Frostwood Drive, Park City, UT 84098 (Formerly Dakota Mountain Lodge & Golden Door Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
For The Love of Food
Ranked #9 of 59 hotels in Park City
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Waldorf Elegance, Service, & Convenience with Park City Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Facility is first class (spa / high-end gym, great restaurant, ski valets, heated pool/hot tubs, everyone super nice, etc.) and the particular unit is great with full kitchen, multiple TV’s and fireplaces, etc. We’ve stayed in a lot of nice places, and this is near the top. Couldn’t be easier to get to the lifts as hotel has its own private gondola to take you from entrance to base of mountain. And if ease of travel is high on your list of vacation qualifiers, this is for you … 30 minutes from Salt Lake airport. Finally, the ease with
which we arranged the visit through LastHoorah.com and how it worked with the Waldorf (just like we’d made the reservation directly with hotel – (same check-in and other benefits) but at a much lower price point, was great! Highly recommended. We’ll be going back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    91
    56
    28
    19
See reviews for
212
244
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dickerson, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

The Waldorf Astoria has some nice things about it, but avoid it during the festival. They are toally unprepared transportation wise. They advertise that they have a free shuttle into Park City 's Main street and other locations and they are good about getting you there, but terrible about picking you up. We went with 3 other couples and diiferent people were stranded multiple times. Once we waited an hour at Deer Valley and after calling repeatedly we gave up and went back to the hotel with skis, boots etc on the public bus. Not fun. If they would just tell you they would come in an hour then you could go to the bar or shop, but instead they are always going to be there in a few minutes and you stay outside, freeze and fume. After complaining we never heard from a manager or heard back. We definately weren't the only ones; there was frustration among many guests and most just decided to use the towns shuttle and hoof it back from the public bus stop. Not what you are expecting at the prices here,
We had a 4 bedroom unit and the rooms were nice, but the living room didn't even have seating for all 8 of us so 3 people would have to pull up dining room chairs. We were told that each room had it's own bathroom, but for one of the rooms it was out in a hall and to get to another room you had to walk through. The kitchen looked fancy, but didn't have the equipment to cook meals for a large group, We asked for larger pots and pans, but got 4 medium sized frying pans. Silly, but very inconvienent.
The housekeeping staff and concierge were great, the restaurant, Spruce, was yummy and the bar was nice. The spa was also great, but expensive. For skiing it isn't really ski in and ski out. You have to take a gondola up to the base of the Canyons. Also important to note is that hte Canyons is not a beginners mountain. There is only one area with 2 slopes that is rated green. The rest of the mountain is beautiful and huge, but tough for some of our group, hence the trip to Deer Valley.
All in all, it's probably great at other times of the year if you want to be pampered and like the Canyons. It is a pain to get around to Park city and Deer Valley, and avoid it during Sundance!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I spent Christmas 2010 in Park City with my husband, our Niece, my best friend, and her son. We loved the Waldorf - the service was excellent. We arrived on the 23rd and took advantage of the Park City Quick Start program - on certain dates, you can get a free lift ticket at one of the 3 area resorts if you are planning to ski on the same day that you fly in from out of state. google it! the staff lugged our bags to a large bathroom/changing room so that we could get into our ski stuff since our room wasn't yet ready.

The Waldorf serves the Canyons ski resort. There is a dedicated gondola called frostwood right across the street that takes you up to the base. A "ski valet" will even haul your skis the short distance from the Waldorf. Note: the Canyons is a pretty tough mountain. There is not a lot of green terrain. If you are skiing with beginners, there does not seem to be a lot of opportunity to ski together. I would recommend planning to visit deer valley for a day if you have beginners.

We had a full kitchen in our 2 bedroom suite. If you're going to cook, I'd recommend inventorying it and seeing if you need anything (we had to get a skillet) and the staff will bring it to your room.

There is a heated pool and a hot tub at the hotel, which were both awesome. The only thing that bothered me was that they did not turn off the music in the pool area all night. The rooms were a little on the warm side, even with the thermostat turned all the way down, and we would have liked to crack our bedroom window. That was not possible with the music blaring 24/7 and our room facing the pool.

Both bathrooms had jetted tubs - a bigger one in the master and a smaller one in the second bedroom. I absolutely loved the golden door eucalyptus products - they smell amazing. i've been hording a small bottle of the bath salts that i had leftover from the trip.

All said, it would be hard to go wrong staying at this hotel. The service is second to none, the property is beautiful, and the skiiing was great!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with a group of friends for the Sundance Film Festival opening weekend. From the moment we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating by offering us hot chocolate and helping us check in to our room. The property is absolutely 5 star-gorgeous, brand new, super clean, cozy, and posh.

We stayed in room 5613 which was small and did not have much of a view but was very nice inside. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi and the room had a fireplace and a flat screen TV.

One evening after snowboarding we went swimming. The pool was heated to about 100 degrees and the hot tub was very nice and warm also. There are huge towels to dry off afterwards.

For skiing or snowboarding, go to Canyons-it is much easier since the hotel is located at the base of the ski resort. You can rent and buy lift tickets at the hotel and go directly on the slopes.

The restaurant is delicious too-they literally have the most amazing breakfast sandwich-ask for it on a croissant panini style. Also lunch was superb! Did not have dinner there but I'm sure it is amazing.

The ONLY issue we had was the shuttle service-it takes you to town anytime you want to go but FORGET it if you want to come home on the shuttle-they are NEVER there to pick you up even after calling them multiple times. We took cabs every time and spent a lot of money on taxis to get back to the hotel.

Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Our family visited Park City, Utah Thanksgiving 2010. We love this time of year and wanted to stay some place warm and cozy. We had previously stayed in the mountains in Mont Blanc, but never considered Utah. Well, we were pleasantly surprised at the amiable and welcoming community of Park City. Prior to arriving we reached out to Martyne Stout, the concierge, and manager, Piper at the Waldorf Astoria to assist us with special accommodations. They were delightful and helped us in every way imaginable. I guess true customer service does still exist.

When we arrived, the initial ambiance and mountain views were breathtaking! If that wasn’t enough, our spacious room was superb. We stayed in the 3 bedroom loft w/full kitchen amenities. Our daughters enjoyed their very own space and I loved the roomy kitchen. The appliances were top notch, i.e. Viking and Cuisinart. We experienced luxury in every possible way, from the fixtures to the linens.

We shipped most of our Thanksgiving supplies, but a variety of shopping was only about 5 minutes away. When our special pantry shipment arrived, Jennifer along with other staff stocked our cupboards and refrigerator neatly without hesitation. To me, this is nothing short of exceptional service. I can’t say enough about the Waldorf team. They were definitely a part of a memorable Thanksgiving holiday for our family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

The service was outstanding! We would definitely return to this hotel! The shuttle service was a great way to get around town. We only had to use a cab once on our trip. The close proximity to the Canyons resort is very convenient. Spruce restaurant in the hotel was amazing. Everything was perfectly cooked. He had a massage at the Golden Door Spa and it was the best we have ever had!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel has limited one bedrooms, so we paid for a one-bedroom suite. My only off-putting experience was at check-in. I had only ONE request for the hotel and that was to have a room close to the lobby. Unfortunately the girl who checked us in didn't and wouldn't even bother to check. To me for approximately $800/night she should have looked. They were on 70 percent full and she wanted nothing to do to cater to our request.

It wasn't until my last day there did my silent frustration with the price of everything, i.e., including approximately $800 for one-room suite when we would have preferred a just a bedroom, $155 for a 50-minute facial, additional $30 per day to use the spa if I didn't have a spa service that day, did my husband point out to me that this hotel caters to corporate accounts, people who stay there that do not look at their bill. He was so right.

Beautiful hotel but does not have the skiier lodge hangout atmosphere that we were hoping to experience. There is one restaurant/bar and a spa, period.

To end on a positive note, there were plenty of other staff who were extremely helpful, specifically Erica, the assistant hotel manager who on her own made it a point to know us by our name; also valet guys who were personable as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Park City

Address: 2100 Frostwood Drive, Park City, UT 84098 (Formerly Dakota Mountain Lodge & Golden Door Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#7 Spa Hotel in Park City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#10 Family Hotel in Park City
#10 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria Park City 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Park City Hotel Park City
Waldorf Astoria Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.