We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food - Horrible in room viewing options - Bad Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Park City

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Park City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Park City
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2100 Frostwood Drive, Park City, UT 84098 (Formerly Dakota Mountain Lodge & Golden Door Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
For The Love of Food
Ranked #10 of 59 hotels in Park City
Orem, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cold food - Horrible in room viewing options - Bad Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Poor reception upon arrival. Staff was not helpful. Took 7 hours to get a roll away. No attention to detail. In room movie access was practically non-existant. Room service was 30 minutes late and cold. Bummer of a hotel. Especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klh0320, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Park City, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review in regards to your stay. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you had several issues relating to check-in, room service, and performance by our staff. We will take this feedback to better prepare ourselves for the future and to help improve our service. We hope we may see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Kerry Hing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    459
    100
    58
    30
    20
See reviews for
225
255
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This luxury ski resort hotel was a great place to stay in the summer. The staff was consistently helpful and friendly. We had mentioned upon check-in that we were celebrating our anniversary, and the next day at dinner in the lounge, we were surprised with complementary champagne and dessert. The Park City area offers plenty of activities: hiking, cycling, stand-up paddling. But the spa in the hotel is worth staying in for a day, as is the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klh0320, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Park City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Waldorf Astoria Park City and we hope you had a wonderful anniversary! It's great that you had time to visit our spa as well for some relaxation. We hope that we made your trip memorable and that we may welcome you back in the future for another great occasion.

Best Regards,
Kerry Hing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We checked in to the Waldorf Park City for a getaway weekend. The property is beautiful. Food and service are also excellent. There was great live music on the patio which we listened to as we ate dinner. After dinner, supplies were provided to make your own S'mores over a fire pit by the pool (great fun). On Saturday, we enjoyed an afternoon at the pool ( I recommend the beef or chicken kabobs for lunch.)
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are coming to Park City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just returned from a week stay at the Waldorf. This was our first visit ever to Park City so we were going in BLIND. The Property is very nice not "wow" nice, but nice. The Canyons Resort area is very small. Once we drove around Deer Valley, we knew what area we should be staying. Check out Deer Deer Valley first! Back to hotel. First the good. The valet guys were the best... helpful, fun, and always working hard. (please tip them well). The Concierge tried hard, but after not being able to get 4 bikes delivered to hotel in a town filled with bike rental companies I was a bit concerned. They also told us we had reservations and when we showed up to restaurant there was no reservation. I chose to book to all other activities on my own. Along with the reservation, we had multiple other small issues. Like room cleaners throwing away rite-aid bag full of cold medicine, or dish washer not working so we had no clean dishes, or rude spa attendants. My biggest disappointment came after I spoke With the General Manager's Assistant. I shared all the issues that we have had (there a even more then mentioned above) and I never heard a word from GM Kerry [---]? There was however a small plate of fruit, some chips, and a small bottle of water sent to our room from assistant. My bill was in excess of $4500 and we got a plate of fruit? Kind of a slap in face and showed that they really don't want to hear about issues. Shame on you Kerry [---]. The saving grace and why I did not rate this worse was due to the nightly rate being only 390. I should have known you get what you pay for. For a Waldorf they should be embarrassed, but this was definitely a Hilton like experience in both what we paid, and what we got. Next year we will be at the St. Regis

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I love the Waldorf Astoria -- especially in August. (In our home state of Texas the weather readers have been uttering words like, "heat index of 109" without batting an eye.)

The Waldorf is not only literally cool, it's a great base camp for day trips exploring the town of Park City or just being laid-back, staying on the property and enjoying the mountain scenery.

A fun-loving couple was able to meet up with us, so we took advantage of one of the Waldorf's luxurious two-bedroom residence units. These are essentially two separate rooms that share a common area consisting of a designer kitchen ("Viking" brand appliances) and a living room with sofas, big flat screen TV and dining table. There were three bathrooms. The one in the common area offered a beautiful, practical and roomy glass shower that's all the rage these days.

Beds and robes were "heavenly" and the provided coffee "brick" was delish (though it would have helped to have had instructions on how much water to put in the carafe, since the coffee label was of no help). We and our friends used the coffee provided in all three rooms, since we had no particular schedules or plans in the mornings. Exactly what a vacation should be.

Our residence unit was on the sixth floor, just one above the lobby and all accommodations were on the same level. The last residence unit we stayed in at the Park City Waldorf was a two-story, which was also very nice. If you have mobility issues, be sure to ask for the adjacent rooms.

For max versatility, one bedroom features a king bed and the other has two queens. I could see flipping a coin if two parties prefer one layout to the other. (My suggestion: the winner of the toss treats the "loser" to breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, Slopes, which is a food-lover’s delight. We loved the wild boar pancakes and chef’s special breakfast tart.) If you're worried about packing on too many calories, there's always the hotel's fitness center and its high-tech workout equipment. We didn't use the spa.

One morning we struck up a conversation with a friendly couple from Los Angeles that had their sweet Labradoodle in tow. Like our dog, a Dachshund/Labrador retriever mix, their hybrid enjoys car rides and they were breaking up the long drive to their family's ranch in Montana with a few days in town. The fact that the Park City Waldorf welcomes woofers was another feather in its cap, in our book!

Room Tip: For the best mountain views, try to snag a room in the low 6000s with even last two digits (6158, 61...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klh0320, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Park City, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Park City. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing stay and got to enjoy the great Park City weather. It's always wonderful to hear that our rooms and restaurant met your expectations and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Kerry Hing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we checked in they lost our credit card information on file. We then were checked into a room that someone was already staying in. Dishes were in the sink and garbage was every where. We did not order room service but at check out they had a bill for $170.00 for room service. We argued about the bill and they found that they had billed us for someone else. We were not told about the resort fee. We will be staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

When hearing Waldorf Astoria, the expectations are high! Upon arrival in the one bedroom residence, it was definitely exceeding my expectations. With a nice bed, two bathrooms, a large living room, including dining room and high-end kitchen (incl. washer/dryer) it was a small slice of heaven.

However in hospitality - service is a decisive key factor and that is where I was seriously disappointed. Before arrival I asked several questions via e-mail, but for some reason they ignored the question about possible hotel/airport transportation? Upon arrival, we weren't in the system, despite having been e-mailed the booking confirmation. One colleague arrived a day later, but upon check-out they were adamant that he stayed the same duration since the system was telling them this. It wasn't till showing the flight details that they understood they were wrong.

Upon returning to my room, my bed had been made but my door had been left open, without any staff inside. So anybody could have been in my room! At the restaurant one evening we had the waiter forget part of the order, it also took the kitchen over an hour to prepare the meals.

The valet service due to a lot o people leaving, it took about half an hour before we were able to get out truck which was sitting 50ft down the driveway.

So all in all these sometimes small points added up to a big nuisance and Waldorf was not able to match my expectations.

I do need say that not all service was bad, particularly the breakfast was lovely outside on the terrace.

Room Tip: One bedroom residence is definitely the way to go for a couple's retreat and adding an adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klh0320, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Park City, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Waldorf Astoria Park City. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your residence, however I apologize that there was confusion with your reservation upon your arrival. Our team members work hard to provide our guests with exceptional service and we hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future to show you a more positive experience.

Best Regards,
Kerry Hing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Park City

Address: 2100 Frostwood Drive, Park City, UT 84098 (Formerly Dakota Mountain Lodge & Golden Door Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#7 Spa Hotel in Park City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#9 Family Hotel in Park City
#13 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria Park City 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Park City Hotel Park City
Waldorf Astoria Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.