We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hilton Family Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Park City

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Park City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Park City
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2100 Frostwood Drive, Park City, UT 84098 (Formerly Dakota Mountain Lodge & Golden Door Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit per Night
Ranked #11 of 59 hotels in Park City
BuffettAir
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hilton Family Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

First class experience -

Excellent staff and nicely appointed rooms. We were fortunate enough to get a 1 bed / 2 full bath suite upgrade with HH Diamond, complete with full kitchen (Viking Appliances!). Fireplaces are in the bedrooms, family rooms, and even on some outdoor decks. I can't think of a nicer place to stay near Park City.

Everything was top notch and we look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    87
    50
    27
    18
See reviews for
197
230
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. They don't get it totally right at first but they do keep trying. One should bear in mind that the rates are below other 5 star properties in the area so don't expect the top of the top.

We have a very nice dinner in the formal restaurant. I thought the food was outstanding. The only down side was the people next to us were ordering off the bar menu. There is plenty of seating in the bar area with dining tables, etc and when you are dropping $300 for two with wine and cocktails you don't expect the people next to you to be having fish and chips.

I also had lunch in the bar dining room one day which was fair and breakfast there which was very good. The gym is nice and adequate. The shuttle service to the heart of Park City is a great bonus. I will return!

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet room and balcony don't face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were really happy with this Waldorf. The whole property is beautiful -- gorgeous lobby, stylish hallways, and the rooms... wow, the rooms. We had a 1 bedroom suite and it was enormous. We wanted to take the kitchen home with us -- it felt just like home, not some rental condo or extended stay inn. Fully stocked with every cooking and serving gadget you could want, high end glassware, great appliances, the whole nine yards.

The suite had 2 fireplaces, plus its own washer and dryer. What blew us away was that the hotel provides free Tide liquid detergent -- there was a large bottle sitting right on top of the washer. I've never seen that before and it was a small thing like that that just made us feel that extra special welcome at the Waldorf.

The staff was fantastic. We were traveling with our 75-lb dog and they all went out of their way to make him feel welcome. Everyone was warm and attentive without being annoying. Top notch staff.

We were there in the summer, so we mostly wanted to lounge around and then go on some walks/hikes. There aren't really any hiking trails right on or adjacent to the property, but you can walk about 20 mins down the road to get to a hiking area. Not the most convenient and you have to walk along a very busy road/highway to get there, so I'd recommend you drive.

The hotel is about a 10-15 min drive to downtown Park City, where we found plenty of free parking. But the hotel also has a free shuttle that will take you back and forth. We loved that idea, but since we had our dog with us, we weren't able to try it out. Kudos to the hotel for offering that free service, though.

I had a massage in the spa and it was one of the best I've ever had. I didn't linger in the spa, so can't really comment on how good the overall facilities are, but the treatment I had was excellent.

If I had to ding the hotel on anything, it would probably be the bathroom toiletries. Waldorfs have Salvatore Ferragamo toiletries and they are too heavily perfumed for my taste. Besides, do we really need soaps and lotions from a company that makes shoes and handbags? It felt a little pretentious and the quality of the products just didn't live up to it, so I am not a fan. I'd prefer something more natural like L'Occitane or Aveda.

All in all, a fabulous property. It's luxurious but didn't feel snobby at all -- the perfect blend for us. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Try to top this experience! If you wish to be treated like royalty stay at this resort. EVERYONE was extremely friendly and accommodating. No matter what the time or the request they were at your beck and call. The room was a King Fireplace w Kitchenette, comfortable living area with sofa, leather chair and a big screen TV. The bath contained a whirlpool tub to luxuriate in after a long day with a lovely fragrant bath fizzie & loufah to take you into another world (only wish I had gotten one the second night too!). Beautiful ceiling to floor doors opened onto a lovely outside patio where we sat and enjoyed a cocktail.
No matter what we needed they were at our door within moments of the request. Top that! It was actually shocking. S'mores are provided gratis each evening to toast at the cozy outside firepit. The heated pool area (all year long) is gorgeous and luxuriously maintained. Our room view was of the mountains and I actually preferred it to my original plan of viewing the pool. Our view provided serenity and complete privacy. The food was amazing in the restaurant. I did not use the Spa facility because of time restraints but would have loved to partake in that luxury. I can only imagine how incredible that experience would have been. Valet service was quick and efficient. The Consierge was extremely helpful. Shuttle is provided back and forth from the hotel to downtown two times per hour after 3PM for free.... before 3PM it is once per hour. You absolutely will not be disappointed in this hotel....sit back, relax and expect to be treated like a King/Queen. I am in LOVE with this hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our mountain view and we were on the bottom floor...it provided privacy and serenity but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We recently spent five nights in a two bedroom suite at the hotel. Our return guest promo included a $50 per night credit which we used in the restaurant for lunch( menu is very small with kids menu). The hotel was comfortable and luxurious. The kids loved having their own bedroom with two queen beds, a full bath, gas fireplace and balcony. We had a king room with same set up and in between was a large kitchen, living/dining room. Everything we needed was there. We picked up some basic breakfast and snacks groceries at the Whole Foods at Kimbell Junction on our way in and loved having the full kitchen.
Pros
Beautiful interior
Clean, modern rooms with all amenities you need
Very good service ESP the concierge ( Marlene was best!!), valets and housekeeping
Great pool with comfortable lounges set up with towels for you and snack bar there
S'mores by the first each night
At base of Canyons resort
Free shuttle
Great bathrooms and bath products
Fireplace and faux fur throw in rooms made it so cozy
game room playroom for kids
Business center with macs

Cons
Road to hotel is under constructions and very rough
Pool snack bar closed early most nights we wanted to order dinner. Also coffee shop in lobby closed by midday so we weren't able to get any coffees or desserts in the afternoon when we wanted them
Check out was long and confusing, not like our efficient check in
Not right in Downtown Park City but they have the shuttle or free bus and easy five minute ride

Our family really enjoying our stay and hope to return. Prices were $225 plus $25 resort fee and tax during the summer. We liked the restaurant for lunch and pool snack bar. Gym looked very nice as spa but prices were too high for me to try. Loved the hotel!

We went ziplining at the Canyons resort and it was good but a better zipline is at the Olympic Park and well worth a vist to see the skiers freestyle into the pool with skis on. We loved the southwestern food at the Loco Lizard in Kimbell Junction which the conceirge suggested.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool as our canyon view wasnt great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Italy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are in the middle of a two week plus holiday at the Waldorf Park City. We have been here numerous times but this is the first since the change to Talisker ownership. (Still Hilton Property Management). It is without a doubt the most relaxing and enjoyable place you could stay. We are in a one bedroom residence which is really an entire 85 metre condo...but there is maid service twice a day, with turn down service, a complete gym, valet and so many outdoor things to do within a 10 minute drive or you can just walk out the door and find three trails without taking a car.....Colins Trail, Rob's Trail and Sun Peak can all be accessed by walking to the left of the entrance to the hotel and down the road. You can take the gondola outside of the hotel and take lovely hikes right in the Canyons, or drive over to Deer Valley Resort in l0 minutes and walk or hike there and then have a fantastic lunch at Stein Erickson Lodge sitting out on the deck. Just so nice! Park City, Utah is especially nice for us because we can easily fly from Italy to Atlanta and overnight there and the next day fly to Salt Lake City and rent a car and in 30 minutes you are in this resort. Very easy. The hotel is managed very, very well with people at the front desk and in particular the front desk Manager Kevin seems to be always there to ensure that things run smoothly. There are two excellent concierges and a pool that is never crowded. I have used the hairdresser and nail part of the Golden Door but not the Spa, but t many people both locals and guests are evident at all times. There are many summer promotions here but all in all it is an excellent value. There is now a small but very nice boutique in the lobby and a restaurant that serves more traditional plates....not exotic as it was before when it was called Spruce. There are no sounds in the rooms at all. Highly recommend this property. If you wish to see the American West, this is a very good place and without crowds...the Wasach Mountain Range is not as high as the Rockies, but really gorgeous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I had a great stay here 2 nights in August. The hotel is away from the old town area and has easy access to the Canyons area lifts. We didn't take advantage of all the amenities the hotel has to offer, but here's the rundown on what we did experience:

Pros:
* Big, nice, clean rooms with comfortable beds
* Extremely friendly staff
* Nice pool & hot tub area
* Free shuttle service into town
* Free lift up to Canyons area
* Great room amenities like complimentary bottled water, microwave, dishes
* Quiet location

Cons:
* Several miles from town (not a problem for us with the shuttle)
* Parking is all valet (they were very quick to get cars, I'd just prefer to self-park)
* No window shade over one of the windows in the room, so room never got completely dark at night

The window thing was annoying to me because I have to have a completely dark room to sleep well, but it was still a great place. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Park City

Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Park City Hotel
Waldorf Astoria Park City Hotel Park City
Waldorf Astoria Park City Utah
Address: 2100 Frostwood Drive, Park City, UT 84098 (Formerly Dakota Mountain Lodge & Golden Door Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#10 Business Hotel in Park City
#12 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria Park City 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.