We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch new ski area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyons

The Canyons
4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
435-649-5400
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 31 attractions in Park City
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Dining, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This area, formerly known as Park West, is the closest to Park City and the former site of the Olympic Games.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“top notch new ski area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

While it is still under development, this is an interesting area for a side trip. New resorts and the likely addition of a Vail managed ski operation(s) are making the Canyons a new 'hot spot' at the edge of Park City. Several new resorts by major players have already opened with more to come. The new facilities are in keeping with the area but the wildness of the Canyons is being invaded by new construction. Many more new shops and commercial venues are sure to follow.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    150
    56
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, good for beginners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The resort itself is flawless. I am a total beginner with skiing, but I felt I could handle these slopes. It seemed like they had something for all levels. I came during Sundance, so it was a little crowded, but not overbearing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Summer hiking not as scenic as Park City/Empire/Deer Valley, snooty staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The summer hiking here was just not as scenic as other areas in Park City. There are some nice areas near Red Pine Lodge but we found the hiking around Park City, Empire, and Deer Valley to be more scenic. They are also more accessible. We were dropped off at the base of the resort by the free Park City bus system, but had to hike up to the village (the 20 minutes felt a lot longer in the summer heat with no shade) given the total lack of shuttle service (after our arrival we finally saw a bus). We asked directions to the working gondola (most of the lifts were closed for the summer) at the Grand Summit Hotel where we had planned to have dinner later that day, but the staff at the hotel were quite snooty and unhelpful. Given that this is a tourist destination, we found this quite odd. We made other plans for dinner at place where we would be treated with hospitality. We rode the gondola up to Red Pine Lodge ($15 each). While on the mountain we were studying our map and a Canyons staffer asked if she could help. After we told her what we were looking for she suggested a hike. Unfortunately, only part of the hike was really scenic (part of it was more desert like than forest) and her assesment of the trail length and time required were grossly underestimated.
In summary, there isn't enough here for me to waste my time returning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mid Mountain Range Hike @ Canyons Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We rode the gondola from The Canyons resort up to Red Pine Lodge ($15 to ride up, free to ride down) and ate lunch there. We took another lift up to Alpine Lake and then started our hike on the Mid Mountain Range trail. (if you take this second lift, your only option of getting down is to hike) This trail is heavily filled with mountain bikers so pay attention. The hike is 4 miles and is an easy hike going down. Wear good shoes and bring at least a liter of water. The trail provides gorgeous scenery and great look out points while so high up. It's a very gradual decline majority of the time so it isn't too hard on knees.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Getting there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After so many changes in ownership it is easy to understand why this place has not taken off. The mountain bike trails and Zip lines are some of the best in country. You need to do these for sure. Probably will not stay there again but would do those activities for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canyons also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.