We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer hiking not as scenic as Park City/Empire/Deer Valley, snooty staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyons

The Canyons
4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
435-649-5400
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Dining, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This area, formerly known as Park West, is the closest to Park City and the former site of the Olympic Games.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Summer hiking not as scenic as Park City/Empire/Deer Valley, snooty staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The summer hiking here was just not as scenic as other areas in Park City. There are some nice areas near Red Pine Lodge but we found the hiking around Park City, Empire, and Deer Valley to be more scenic. They are also more accessible. We were dropped off at the base of the resort by the free Park City bus system, but had to hike up to the village (the 20 minutes felt a lot longer in the summer heat with no shade) given the total lack of shuttle service (after our arrival we finally saw a bus). We asked directions to the working gondola (most of the lifts were closed for the summer) at the Grand Summit Hotel where we had planned to have dinner later that day, but the staff at the hotel were quite snooty and unhelpful. Given that this is a tourist destination, we found this quite odd. We made other plans for dinner at place where we would be treated with hospitality. We rode the gondola up to Red Pine Lodge ($15 each). While on the mountain we were studying our map and a Canyons staffer asked if she could help. After we told her what we were looking for she suggested a hike. Unfortunately, only part of the hike was really scenic (part of it was more desert like than forest) and her assesment of the trail length and time required were grossly underestimated.
In summary, there isn't enough here for me to waste my time returning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    155
    57
    18
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mid Mountain Range Hike @ Canyons Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We rode the gondola from The Canyons resort up to Red Pine Lodge ($15 to ride up, free to ride down) and ate lunch there. We took another lift up to Alpine Lake and then started our hike on the Mid Mountain Range trail. (if you take this second lift, your only option of getting down is to hike) This trail is heavily filled with mountain bikers so pay attention. The hike is 4 miles and is an easy hike going down. Wear good shoes and bring at least a liter of water. The trail provides gorgeous scenery and great look out points while so high up. It's a very gradual decline majority of the time so it isn't too hard on knees.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Getting there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After so many changes in ownership it is easy to understand why this place has not taken off. The mountain bike trails and Zip lines are some of the best in country. You need to do these for sure. Probably will not stay there again but would do those activities for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Huge number of routes for biking or hiking. Easy ride on the gondola from the car park. Would go again and spend more time there. Only 5 mins from newpark holel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Summer trip - hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Two families of four spent the day here and had mixed reviews. We started out playing miniature golf while killing some time before zip lining. This had to be the worst miniature golf course I've ever played - no division between the holes, inconsistent planning of the course, and except for some rocks to avoid, not much excitement although the kids, ages 9-12, seemed fine with it. Zip lining was fun but know that you do the exact same 800 foot line twice although they sell it as three zip lines. Also, the second zip line is an extreme zip line and you zip line over a very deep gorge. This is also not mentioned when you buy your ticket so having a fear of heights, I couldn't stomach the step off the mountain's edge and had to hike down the mountain's ridge with our guide to catch up with my family for the last zip line. For whatever reason, they went ahead and sent my family without me on the last one too and said I couldn't do the third zip line. I asked for a partial refund for the miscommunication and it was denied.

On to the pond which is really a man-made pond with large boulders around the edge so while you are encouraged to fish from here, you cannot wade into the pond or explore the pond's edge, etc. You are given fishing poles but there is no bait and the person working this area told us when asked that no one had caught a fish that day or the day before. The pedal boats were typical and an added activity for the non-fishers.

The hiking was really great on the Canyons. Beautiful paths and lots of trails and pathways to choose from. Do be careful where the bike trails intersect the walking paths - the bikers are usually in a hurry and can't stop for you. The bike trails were really great for both those that wanted an easy trip down the mountain and for those that want an extreme experience. Rented excellent bikes and the equipment here and it was worth it. Wear the protective gear - a log was bumped by a rider ahead of him and he hit it, flying head first, scratching his face, back, arms, and chipping a front tooth. It could have been much worst without the gear.

We didn't do the horseback riding here but I have another review for that and strongly encourage it elsewhere. The horseback riding seemed fine here but not as quiet, tranquil and rustic as the other location (and I was told the owner of the other stable designed this one first). The disc golf looked really great too even though we didn't do it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canyons also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Canyons to your Saves list