We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Mountain Range Hike @ Canyons Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyons

The Canyons
4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
435-649-5400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 73 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Dining, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area, formerly known as Park West, is the closest to Park City and the former site of the Olympic Games.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mid Mountain Range Hike @ Canyons Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We rode the gondola from The Canyons resort up to Red Pine Lodge ($15 to ride up, free to ride down) and ate lunch there. We took another lift up to Alpine Lake and then started our hike on the Mid Mountain Range trail. (if you take this second lift, your only option of getting down is to hike) This trail is heavily filled with mountain bikers so pay attention. The hike is 4 miles and is an easy hike going down. Wear good shoes and bring at least a liter of water. The trail provides gorgeous scenery and great look out points while so high up. It's a very gradual decline majority of the time so it isn't too hard on knees.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    229
    84
    24
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Getting there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After so many changes in ownership it is easy to understand why this place has not taken off. The mountain bike trails and Zip lines are some of the best in country. You need to do these for sure. Probably will not stay there again but would do those activities for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Huge number of routes for biking or hiking. Easy ride on the gondola from the car park. Would go again and spend more time there. Only 5 mins from newpark holel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Summer trip - hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Two families of four spent the day here and had mixed reviews. We started out playing miniature golf while killing some time before zip lining. This had to be the worst miniature golf course I've ever played - no division between the holes, inconsistent planning of the course, and except for some rocks to avoid, not much excitement although the kids, ages 9-12, seemed fine with it. Zip lining was fun but know that you do the exact same 800 foot line twice although they sell it as three zip lines. Also, the second zip line is an extreme zip line and you zip line over a very deep gorge. This is also not mentioned when you buy your ticket so having a fear of heights, I couldn't stomach the step off the mountain's edge and had to hike down the mountain's ridge with our guide to catch up with my family for the last zip line. For whatever reason, they went ahead and sent my family without me on the last one too and said I couldn't do the third zip line. I asked for a partial refund for the miscommunication and it was denied.

On to the pond which is really a man-made pond with large boulders around the edge so while you are encouraged to fish from here, you cannot wade into the pond or explore the pond's edge, etc. You are given fishing poles but there is no bait and the person working this area told us when asked that no one had caught a fish that day or the day before. The pedal boats were typical and an added activity for the non-fishers.

The hiking was really great on the Canyons. Beautiful paths and lots of trails and pathways to choose from. Do be careful where the bike trails intersect the walking paths - the bikers are usually in a hurry and can't stop for you. The bike trails were really great for both those that wanted an easy trip down the mountain and for those that want an extreme experience. Rented excellent bikes and the equipment here and it was worth it. Wear the protective gear - a log was bumped by a rider ahead of him and he hit it, flying head first, scratching his face, back, arms, and chipping a front tooth. It could have been much worst without the gear.

We didn't do the horseback riding here but I have another review for that and strongly encourage it elsewhere. The horseback riding seemed fine here but not as quiet, tranquil and rustic as the other location (and I was told the owner of the other stable designed this one first). The disc golf looked really great too even though we didn't do it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed at Sundial Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Sundial Lodge and I have no complaints whatsoever! I would definitely recommend staying there!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canyons also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.