We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skied and ate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyons

The Canyons
4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
435-649-5400
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 attractions in Park City
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Dining, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This area, formerly known as Park West, is the closest to Park City and the former site of the Olympic Games.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skied and ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Terrain is awesome and the food choices are really great, on and off mountain. Try the Farm restaurant

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    156
    58
    18
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Canyons Ski Resort - Great staff - huge mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just got back from skiing two days at this resort. I was so impressed with the entire staff - from obtaining our life tickets to ski rentals to lift operators and staff at the on mountain restaurants. The ski conditions were okay - some runs were icy such as Sidewinder and Doc. It was bitterly cold - -18 during the night and 0 F when we went out around 10AM - the lift operator at the Orange Bubble felt sorry for the four of us and offered us a coupon for hot chocolate or coffee at any of the lift food lodges. We enjoyed our meal at the Cloud Dine location. The mountain offers a lot of options for the intermediate to expert skier - if you are a beginner you will probably not enjoy it as much.

It is hard to figure out the best ways to get from one side to another but once you do there are plenty of runs to enjoy. You can easily ski this mountain for four or five days if you are a good skier.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Ok this resort does it right except food! The runs are varied and the lifts are super fast with some shelter from the elements. We skied in sub zero temps but found the bubble to protect us and provide heated seats as an escape from the very frigid temps. The mountain is huge and terrific for an intermediate to advanced skier. I will come back but will not eat at the restaurants!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Well wortha ski trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Airport half hour away, mountain has certainly grown since I skied here 2 decades agao, its well laid out many gast lifts- a good selection of runs at all levels. Despite bone shattering chill that didnt break 10 degrees for 3 days immensely enjoyed it

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Nice hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Easy to drive up to and drop off your gear. We rented a locker at the base and then paid to park nearby. Sking was great and we had a nice lunch at Cloud 9. I liked the grilled chicken asian salad. $$

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canyons also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.