We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ski resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyons

The Canyons
4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
435-649-5400
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Dining, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This area, formerly known as Park West, is the closest to Park City and the former site of the Olympic Games.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
SoCal
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very nice ski resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Besides parking at Cabriolet level, you can have valet parking at the Canyons Resort and take elevator to ski area...no carrying skis in the snow, also no crowd getting down Gondola and Cabriolet to car.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    154
    57
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Skiing & Good Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We skied everday at The Canyons. Would love to stay there next time. We used the pro-shop (way expensive), took 1st Time Beginner Ski classes there (most economical), but either register a day ahead or get there around 8AM to get registered, fitted for equipment, etc...class starts at 9:15 ($100 inc everything)

We had a ball in the Drafts bar & grille...Evan was an awesome bartender...but next night was a girl that was so rude, we complained to mgmt and walked out.

We did Christmas brunch in the main restaurant at the Canyons...FABULOUS food!!! Also, did a Christmas Eve sleigh ride (save your $$$...it's not a traditional sleigh, it's like a long wagon attached to the horses). I definitely like the Canyons! The bus stops there too and you can take the cabriolet up to the main ski area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loved every moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been there for 3 timesfor skiing and loved every single one. By far the Best ski resort in Park City. We're Brazilians ( me and my girlfriend ) and didnt know skiing, and our instructor "Mark" taught us everything and with a patience of Buddhist monk, every tiny little detail... And because of that, We could be able to ski and enjoy the resort even more. The Fireworks on New Year's Eve was amazing, even in a cold -2 F ( -18 C) temperature ... I will surely come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Management of Lift Lines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'm a local, and vacillate between The Canyons (which is half the distance from my house) and Deer Valley. Both are great resorts in terms of amenities. But the years I purchase my pass at The Canyons, I always remember why I switched to Deer Valley the year before. The Canyons DOES NOT manage their lift lines. I've skied 8-10 times since the resort opened, and only twice has there been a representative to gate the lift lines. The problem is that there is a certain population, predominantly young men, who make a point of pushing their way through in groups of anywhere from 6-10. It appears that defying basic ski etiquette is an important component of their day. Deer Valley has never left a lift line unattended in the 5+ years I've lived in Park City.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, ca
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Massive Improvements!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Canyons has undergone major renovations since the new ownership took over two or three years ago. New restaurants, better ways to get up on to the mountain from the base (including a heated four pack chair called the Orange Bubble), even some the flatter areas were regraded to be more sloped.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canyons also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Canyons to your Saves list