We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive Improvements!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyons

The Canyons
4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
435-649-5400
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Dining, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This area, formerly known as Park West, is the closest to Park City and the former site of the Olympic Games.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pasadena, ca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Massive Improvements!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Canyons has undergone major renovations since the new ownership took over two or three years ago. New restaurants, better ways to get up on to the mountain from the base (including a heated four pack chair called the Orange Bubble), even some the flatter areas were regraded to be more sloped.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    154
    57
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent ski resort for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We returned for our second year (road trip from Southern California) to ski and snowboard at the Canyons. Everything is incredibly convenient and the people working at all the venues were super nice. We will be back again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good mix of slopes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff and a decent selection of slopes make this a good choice. The lack of food options is a downside though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great time skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Park City. The Canyons is huge! Lots of lofts and trails. Many lifts. Lots of people due to the holiday but it didn't seem so crowded because of the size. Some good powder. But some of the trail shot a bit icy in the afternoon which I don't like.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“good times at The Canyons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

just got back from three days at The Canyons. we got lucky with a solid Christmas season snowfall. it was our first trip here and found it to be a modern, well-organized, and friendly-staffed resort. as california skiers, it reminded us of Mammoth right after they expanded. however, The Canyons could take some lessons from Mammoth: more acreage isn't necessarily better unless you also add more ways to get to the top from the bottom of the mountain. as it stands, the mandatory gondola start leads to a bottleneck situation during busy times. we also found the bottom-isn't-really-the-bottom and the very limited mid-mountain dining choice a bit frustrating. the waffle hut is a nice touch, however. the ski/snowboard school/instructors were great. overall a very good experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canyons also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Canyons to your Saves list