We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, watch for the extras on the bill!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 59 hotels in Park City
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely room, watch for the extras on the bill!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a condo and had lots of space - it was really like a good sized apartment. The pool is very nice too. However, be warned, there are hidden extras. Breakfast is a pay per item place and is very expensive - we went to the local supermarket instead. On check out, we were also charged for using the car park which no one had told us about (we didn't even use the valet!). We weren't impressed with the staff, they didn't seem very professional so all in all it felt good - average.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHotelManager, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review for the Grand Summit Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the pool area. We are lucky to be in such a beautiful location, and enjoy sharing this with our guests and owners.
Concerning the parking charge, we do in fact charge $16 a night whether you valet or self-park. We agree with you that hidden fees are no fun, therefore add this piece of information into our reservation confirmation letters sent out to all guests. Considering this was news to you, we will immediately review the letter to ensure the correct information is being given.
One great aspect about the Grand Summit is that many of our rooms have full kitchens. For those that are on a tighter budget, the kitchen is a great way to feed your families at a lower cost.
We do hope you consider to stay with us again in the future. Our rooms are lovely now, and will continue to improve as we are currently updating many aspects. We also are excited for guests to notice a great increase in service as we have recently been refocusing our energies on not just delivering the necessary, but the beyond expectations.
Thank you again for staying with us, and taking the time to share your experience.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    71
    44
    29
    14
See reviews for
79
43
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was surprised at the smallness of the room when I walked in. It was apparantly just a bedroom unit designed to join the larger living/kitchen area next door. The positives were a great view and a nice balcony. This is a beautiful area of the country. We looked at the breakfast menu onsite and decided to drive into Park City for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHotelManager, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay here at the Grand Summit Hotel. We agree with you; the location is fantastic with beautiful views, and it is always great to read that our guests are enjoying it. While the particular room you stayed in was small, hopefully you did get the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful large jetted tub, that takes up some of that room space.
In addition, please note that when you return to visit us again, our reservation agents are always happy to discuss different room options. The Grand Summit Hotel has quite a few different room configurations, and I believe we would be able to find the perfect fit for you.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were there for a wedding and when we arrived our room was not ready until 5 pm. When we got to the room it was very small. Checking the room we had no glasses for drinking, no wash rags, 1 hand towel. The next morning when we went to shower the shower door opened into the shower leaving little room to stand. We called maintence and the came up and the shower doer was inside the rubber seal and was hard to pull outward. That night when we went to bed the OLD TV wouldn't turn off. No way to seven unplug the TV. Waited for 1/2 for maintence to come up and fix it. The wireless internet connection was very poor, only two bars and hard make connection. The maids made up the room after 5pm and our last night she left our door open by using dead lock. We went back to room about 6:30 to discover this, we could have been robbed. The room was way over priced and then to charge for parking is highway robbery. Worst ever and I have stayed all over the world.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHotelManager, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
While it is good to see that you liked the location and felt that the rooms were clean, it is disappointing to read that you found other areas lacking. We find guest feedback to be vital to our success and your detailed review was shared with all staff involved with urgency so that we might learn from your experience. In addition, please know that we have a strict policy surrounding keeping our guests and their belongings safe, and your comment about the dead bolt is not taken lightly whatsoever. This type of fault on an employee results in swift action, and therefore it is very important for us to hear and I appreciate you taking the time to share.
If you do decide to visit us again, please let me know so that I personally can ensure you have a fantastic vacation. Our goal is to have a guest leave feeling like they had an experience of a lifetime, and I hope we have the opportunity to provide this for you in the future.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was not impressed with the Canyons at all. The biggest issue? You can literally hear every word of a conversation in the room beside you. The rooms themselves have no glassware, no bottled water, no desk. There is no bar other than the tex mex place which I believe primarily services skiers in the winter months. We stayed at the Waldorf last time - beautiful rooms and a nice dining scene.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a great room, clean , comfortable and modern. Great location at base of gondola up canyons mtn. Lots of activities in summer available right at this hotel or base of mountain. Staff was very considerate and helpful. Little pricey but worth it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Exceeded our expectations-Family of 5 stayed in the 2 bedroom suite.
Very nice pool and spa. So much to do so little time...would love to come back! Staff friendly-Thank you Grand Summit for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the fourth of July and loved it so much, we went back this weekend. We have two kids - 6 and 9 - and they love it. On the weekends, there is a lot going on around the common patio area of the resort. You can listen to a concert and grab some ice cream, and the boys loved taking the Cabriolet gondola down to the parking lot and back. It's intended as a shuttle, but feels more like a ride. The scenery is beautiful.
I also cannot say enough about the service. Everyone is great from the valet to the man who came in and set up the sofa sleeper for us. Super friendly and patient with my kids. The rooms are great. I'd recommend a balcony room, though we didn't really end up spending a lot of time in the room. We like heading down to the pool - which is heated and great especially in the morning before it gets too crowded.
The only complaint I have is with the food. We've had 3 dining experiences at this resort. We ate dinner one night at The Farm and the food was terrible. We had a large table and ordered several different things, and by the end the only thing we could eat was the kids Mac and cheese. We ordered room service the next morning, which was very expensive. Half our order did not come and what did was also not very good. This time we ate at a sports bar called Drafts. Again - it took forever for our food to get there and most of it was not good.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again, but we will eat somewhere nearby before heading up to our room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Address: 4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#10 Spa Hotel in Park City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#18 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel Park City
Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel Park City, Utah
Summit Park City
Park City Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.