We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Park City
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Christmas party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Company Christmas party. We stayed for 2 nights. Everything was so beautiful inside and out. Our studio room was very romantic with a fireplace and big whirlpool tub. The patio had a great view of the resort. We put our beer on the patio to keep cold, well actually it froze so don't leave it out there too long. All the food we had was great, from room service to nachos @The Red tail deer. The food for our Christmas party was unbelievable, from prime rib to oysters and a million desserts. I do need to warn you though, Utah laws are a bit different for alcohol, so if you'd like a mimosa or bloody mary for breakfast stop by the 7eleven down the road. Room service only delivers whole bottles and not until after 10am or maybe later. The ski lift closes pretty early so we couldn't eat at the restaurant at the top. Cheers

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    76
    45
    32
    15
See reviews for
83
49
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
So. Cal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Took a trip with a soccer team and stayed here. Everyone was more than accommodating and helpful. The setting was gorgeous, close to food, shopping, and activities. The view was amazing and the hiking around the hotel was a lot of fun. We stayed in a 2 bedroom and it was huge! There was plenty of room to move around, kitchen, living room, and 2 bathrooms. It was very clean and the decor was pleasant. We never heard the neighbors and the halls were quiet as well. We would definitely stay here again! I had a problem with the TV on the first day and they were up in the room in 10 minutes to fix it. Service was exceptional and we were even lucky to get early check-in. Can't recommend this enough!! Great memories!

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a mountain view but the valley view was gorgeous also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice hotel in quaint and beautiful setting with lots of amenities, close to slopes, dining, and shops. Great pool.

We came to town for a big soccer tournament and the hotel was booked up by several different teams from different states. Most of us had booked Queen beds with additional sleeping. We ended up getting the so called "Parlor Rooms". Those rooms have a full kitchen, a fireplace, and a dining table that easily can seat 10-12 people but NO beds. Instead it has a queen sofa sleeper and two daybeds. The player rooms were booked for four players per room. None of them had sheets on the sofa sleeper, only on the day beds. 1/2 of the parents room experienced the same in our group of about 50 people. We all checked in late, and getting sheets on before bed was an issue. Parents ended up begging houskeeping to just hand the sheets over, otherwise it would have been midnight before all the girls would have made it to bed.

Upon arrival, the hotel was not ready for the sheer amount of people arriving and checking in all at the same time. The front desk was understaffed and there were no bellhops to be found anywhere to help with luggage. Parking was $16/night. No breakfast was provided but I understand there was an overpriced cafe to buy breakfast.

One night the hotel offered a family night catered toward the soccer tourny behind the premises. It included mini soccer games, miniture golf, families could bring picnic, and other activities, followed by a movie nigh with free popcorn and drinks.

Wednesday the resort has its own farmers market. take the little gondola down to the stands for free.

This hotel has a nice setting and is great for in/out skiing in the winter. I find it overpriced for the hassle it gave us, inconvient not having beds, slow response to some requests/needs.

I don't think I would choose to stay there again, nor would I recommend it. Would look for other options nearby or within the Canyons group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I held our wedding at Lookout Cabin at the Canyons and we couldn't be happier! Janice Fine and her team went above and beyond any of our expectations! We don't live in Utah so this was a destination wedding and Janice and my event coordinator did everything without me being there and absolutely nailed it! The 3 bedroom penthouse (#702) was amazing for all of our parties and for everyone to meet as a home base. The rooms are updated and gorgeous and there isn't a bad view in any of the rooms! I highly recommend this hotel as a leisure stay or to host your wedding!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our management group selected this location for a quiet, affordable off season cost and availability of quality facilities.

From the moment you pull into the covered arrival area, friendly staff are at your service. Yes, it costs $10.00/night to park but you get to walk right into the facility! The cost for that service is small compared to the value received.

The rooms are very clean and well maintained. For the guest who appreciates the use of a microwave or small refrigerator, be sure to inquire if your room if equipped with those items.

Banquet staff are outstanding and punctual to a tee. All banquet events were on time and on target. Even when we requested a change at the last moment, the staff accomplished the change. After the event was complete, we worked with the banquet manager on any additional cost for the change. I will paraphrase the response to, no additional cost ..what else can we do to help ! That attitude mixed with pricing, will bring us back !

Lastly, when we had a challenge with the facility we approach the staff with a positive statement instead of the , "We made good money and we deserve....now!". The correct approach was to state the challenge, suggest a resolution and ask for their assistance. Boom..resolution was immediate and did not have to avoid eye contact with staff.

I am very happy to report a wonderful experience at a low cost with great service and staff.

Room Tip: Ensure you see a photo of the room you rent. Ensure it has the common applicances you use. If you se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had reserved a King Hotel Room with fireplace. We were very disappointed with it - it was smaller than expected, only one rickety chair, no fireplace, and generally not at all of the standard I would expect of a 4 star hotel.

The following morning, I expressed my disappointment to reception and asked if they had any other options. They were wonderfully helpful! They offered us a choice of 3 other rooms, and we moved to a gorgeous Queen Deluxe Studio, at no extra charge. The rating given reflects our experience in the new room (not the old one), and the way our problem was handled.

The new room was fantastic, everything we could have hoped for (apart from a King bed, but an American Queen is very large anyway): at least twice as large as the King room, plus full kitchen, large bathroom, sofa, 2 day-beds, fireplace, dining area, massive windows overlooking the slopes.

One quibble (applied to both rooms): the hotel should really iron their sheets better - the beds looked as though they'd already been slept in!

We breakfasted each morning at the Cabin restaurant at the hotel. Excellent, though I thought quite expensive. We noticed that other guests seemed to have coupons. There was a cheaper continental option that we usually took (excluded the hot food).

Hotel is the best location at Canyons, just steps from the lifts. I'm a nervous skier and I loved the green slopes. My husband wasn't overly-impressed with the grooming on the other slopes, but we were right at the end of the season.

The restaurants at Canyons didn't inspire us, but the hotel had a great free shuttle service into town and we used that on several nights. Park City is lovely, lots of great places to eat, drink and there was live music.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the slope-side - the view is great, you don't get the noise from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business retreat just after ski season. Would recommend for such an activity. Town was quiet, but staff was great and helped us out where they could. Restaurant I would say is the weak point, ate there three times, had minor trouble two of those (overcharged once and wrong order the other time) so maybe if I was doing trip again I would plan for breakfast in the room, plenty of other options for lunch and dinner. Beautiful resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Address: 4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#9 Spa Hotel in Park City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#20 Business Hotel in Park City
#26 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel, a AAA Four-Diamond resort, sits majestically in the heart of the Resort Village. This property is a combination of beautiful design, exceptional ski-in / ski-out location, attentive service and livable luxury. It has the variety to suit the most diverse families and groups, with 350 lodging options including hotel rooms, studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites and expansive luxury penthouses. From the moment you arrive to the covered porte cochere of the Grand Summit, our staff is dedicated to making your stay here at Canyons an exceptional experience. Whether you need to relax in our warm and inviting grand lobby after a long travel day, or you are inclined to get out and enjoy the outdoors as quickly as you can get checked-in, our concierge and bell staff are at your service. Of course, there is no shortage of amenities, depending on your room choice--all rooms have color televisions (flat screen), terry-cloth robes (available on request), coffee makers, hair dryers, iron & board, down comforters, alarm clock and CD player/stereo. Many rooms have balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and full kitchens with service for eight people featuring GE Profile appliances and granite countertops. High-speed wireless internet access (WiFi) is complimentary throughout the hotel. Our outdoor heated pool is the place to relax. If your adventures exploring the outdoors wear you out, try a relaxing massage or indulge yourself with a luxurious spa treatment from the Canyons Resort Spa and Health Club. Dining options include The Farm, Red Tail Grill and First Tracks Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel Park City
Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel Park City, Utah
Summit Park City
Park City Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.