We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our first stay at the Canyon and I highly recommend it for couples and families. We stayed here right before the start of Spring Gruv and then a couple days during Spring Gruv. Not so crowded before...but got crowded during! However, the resort knows how to handle a crowd. Even though we did not ski, we were with people that did and they really enjoyed the slopes. The spa was also top notch. The food, as with any resort, is expensive. We ate at Drafts and Redtail. Redtail was really good. Drafts burgers were good as were the wings but the pizza was so so. We didn't try The Farm but heard some good things about it. If you need to rent skis, clothes, etc...you can right in the resort. Downtown Park City is a 10 minute drive. We will go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    78
    46
    32
    16
See reviews for
85
51
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went for a recent short ski trip on my children's spring break. This is our second time going back to the Canyons. The proximity and ease with which we could access the slopes in the mornings and afternoons can't be beat. The room could use a bit updating, but everything was clean and sparkling. Used the exercise facilities and the pool. The staff is courteous, friendly and aim to please. After a day of skiing it was a pleasure to relax at the spa. We are kosher and were thrilled with the Bistro at the Canyons which offers excellent Kosher Cuisine. What a treat! We are avid skiers and have been to nearly every resort out West - but this was a first for us. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice hotel right at the base of the lifts. If you ski, you can't get any closer to the slopes. Nice sized room (we had a one bedroom) and kitchen though the kitchen dishes set was missing a few pieces. The decor is a bit dated but still a real nice place. Great outdoor pool and hot tubs. We've been there before and it seems the dining options and service are improving. Real nice and helpful staff but it's clear they're not always trained properly and kept informed of what's going on around the resort.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the mountain - you'll love the view at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, CO
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights here - we enjoyed the convenience of the location and the Fast Tracks breakfast options in the mornings - for quick to go sandwiches and breakfast burritos. We mistakenly booked the hotel style room - which was simply 2 beds and a bathroom - no kitchenette - no micro fridge - no microwave - which was a mistake that I won't make again.

Pool and hot tubs were nice - though a bit crowded at times - and hot tubs could've been a bit hotter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette and a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am glad to hear that you found the location of our hotel and the First Tracks breakfast a great aspect of the Grand Summit. We are very proud of the fact that guests may simply walk out the back door of the hotel and hop on a ski lift.
Next time you come to stay, may I recommend that you ask for either a Studio unit, or a Studio Queen Deluxe. The Deluxe version gives you that added space as well as a full sized kitchen, which may be beneficial if you have more than 2 adults in the room. It sounds like this would have been a much better option for you and your comfort level. Be sure to ask our reservations team for details on all our room types, as we offer many different options to fit guests needs.
Thank you for adding your feedback on TripAdvisor! I hope to have you back as a loyal guest to the Grand Summit Hotel.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After a few long days of skiing my legs were spent. I decided to skip a day skiing and hit the spa instead. I booked the "Ninety Nine 90 Leg Treatment" ($99.90) which was amazing. The spa technician (Sue) massaged my legs for quite a while then used a cold cotton wrap. Afterwards I enjoyed the sauna and hot tub for a bit. I felt like a million bucks and enjoyed a nice snack and tall beer at The Farm after. I was so refreshed afterwards. It is worth mentioning they have a nice gift shop with some very darling wallets, jewelry and gifts. I highly recommend this experience and will enjoy it again when I return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am delighted to read that not only did get you an opportunity to enjoy our mountain, but also our Spa within the Grand Summit Hotel. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our Spa Director, so that she might recognize Sue and the wonderful service that she provided.
The Spa has gone through some updating in the last year, menu of treatments included, and your comments have reconfirmed that we moved in the proper direction.
It is always wonderful to hear when guests are feeling content, relaxed and a little spoiled while on property. I hope that you return again for another fantastic vacation.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petd0c
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Summit for 5 days for a professional meeting in March. This is my second stay at this facility- the first was almost 11 years ago when the hotel was relatively new. Among the positives are the wonderful ski in/ski out location, the kitchenettes in the rooms and convenient conference facilities. Additionally, I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Among the negatives are that the hotel is aging and in need of some updating. Lighting in the rooms is rather dim (stayed in a king standard room), the furniture and kitchen appliances are getting worn and outdated and hallway decor needs to be updated and modernized. This facility was built at the same time as its sister hotels in Steamboat and Crested Butte but is now owned by a different company. The facility in Steamboat has done a much better job of updating the rooms, halls and general appearance of the property (I've owned a fractional there for 10 years) than they have here and they are very similar in design and original decor. Nonetheless, the hotel is friendly, well located and has very nice work out and pool facilities. I would stay again but my opinion is that they would be wise to update significantly to keep up with other properties in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences here at the Grand Summit. First off, I am happy to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We focus on not only having employees that are service minded, but that they guide our guests to extraordinary experiences; creating long-lasting memories with family and friends. Your feedback is great confirmation that we are on the right track with our goal to be the friendliest resort around.

Concerning the feel of the Grand Summit Hotel, I want you to know that this is the primary focus of the Owners. A design team was brought in a few months ago, and have been working hard to give a great update to our rooms, and common areas. I trust that if you come to visit again, you will be pleased with the changes.
Thank you for staying with us again, and we hope to have you back!

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellvue, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Overall I was disappointed by the resort. They seem to be cutting a lot of corners and running on their reputation. For example, the lobby had a chess board but the pieces were broken and the set was incomplete. The food was overpriced and there were very small portions. The staff at the front desk was poorly informed about meeting locations and times. I will not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am disappointed to read that your perception of the resort is that we are doing things cheaply. I assure you we would never want a guest to feel this way, especially with the incredible amount of updating we are doing across the board. Your input has been shared with all of management, as this perception is not acceptable to us. We have already started to brainstorm ways that we can give those special touches throughout the resort, that leaves people feeling well taken care of.
Note that we have removed the chess pieces as clearly it provides no purpose being out on the floor. Thank you for providing us with this feedback and motivating us to continue discussions on what we can do to be the best.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Address: 4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#9 Spa Hotel in Park City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#21 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel, a AAA Four-Diamond resort, sits majestically in the heart of the Resort Village. This property is a combination of beautiful design, exceptional ski-in / ski-out location, attentive service and livable luxury. It has the variety to suit the most diverse families and groups, with 350 lodging options including hotel rooms, studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites and expansive luxury penthouses. From the moment you arrive to the covered porte cochere of the Grand Summit, our staff is dedicated to making your stay here at Canyons an exceptional experience. Whether you need to relax in our warm and inviting grand lobby after a long travel day, or you are inclined to get out and enjoy the outdoors as quickly as you can get checked-in, our concierge and bell staff are at your service. Of course, there is no shortage of amenities, depending on your room choice--all rooms have color televisions (flat screen), terry-cloth robes (available on request), coffee makers, hair dryers, iron & board, down comforters, alarm clock and CD player/stereo. Many rooms have balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and full kitchens with service for eight people featuring GE Profile appliances and granite countertops. High-speed wireless internet access (WiFi) is complimentary throughout the hotel. Our outdoor heated pool is the place to relax. If your adventures exploring the outdoors wear you out, try a relaxing massage or indulge yourself with a luxurious spa treatment from the Canyons Resort Spa and Health Club. Dining options include The Farm, Red Tail Grill and First Tracks Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel Park City
Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel Park City, Utah
Summit Park City
Park City Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.