We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent - great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 59 hotels in Park City
Crested Butte, CO
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent - great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights here - we enjoyed the convenience of the location and the Fast Tracks breakfast options in the mornings - for quick to go sandwiches and breakfast burritos. We mistakenly booked the hotel style room - which was simply 2 beds and a bathroom - no kitchenette - no micro fridge - no microwave - which was a mistake that I won't make again.

Pool and hot tubs were nice - though a bit crowded at times - and hot tubs could've been a bit hotter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette and a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am glad to hear that you found the location of our hotel and the First Tracks breakfast a great aspect of the Grand Summit. We are very proud of the fact that guests may simply walk out the back door of the hotel and hop on a ski lift.
Next time you come to stay, may I recommend that you ask for either a Studio unit, or a Studio Queen Deluxe. The Deluxe version gives you that added space as well as a full sized kitchen, which may be beneficial if you have more than 2 adults in the room. It sounds like this would have been a much better option for you and your comfort level. Be sure to ask our reservations team for details on all our room types, as we offer many different options to fit guests needs.
Thank you for adding your feedback on TripAdvisor! I hope to have you back as a loyal guest to the Grand Summit Hotel.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    74
    45
    32
    15
See reviews for
81
46
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After a few long days of skiing my legs were spent. I decided to skip a day skiing and hit the spa instead. I booked the "Ninety Nine 90 Leg Treatment" ($99.90) which was amazing. The spa technician (Sue) massaged my legs for quite a while then used a cold cotton wrap. Afterwards I enjoyed the sauna and hot tub for a bit. I felt like a million bucks and enjoyed a nice snack and tall beer at The Farm after. I was so refreshed afterwards. It is worth mentioning they have a nice gift shop with some very darling wallets, jewelry and gifts. I highly recommend this experience and will enjoy it again when I return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am delighted to read that not only did get you an opportunity to enjoy our mountain, but also our Spa within the Grand Summit Hotel. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our Spa Director, so that she might recognize Sue and the wonderful service that she provided.
The Spa has gone through some updating in the last year, menu of treatments included, and your comments have reconfirmed that we moved in the proper direction.
It is always wonderful to hear when guests are feeling content, relaxed and a little spoiled while on property. I hope that you return again for another fantastic vacation.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petd0c
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Summit for 5 days for a professional meeting in March. This is my second stay at this facility- the first was almost 11 years ago when the hotel was relatively new. Among the positives are the wonderful ski in/ski out location, the kitchenettes in the rooms and convenient conference facilities. Additionally, I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Among the negatives are that the hotel is aging and in need of some updating. Lighting in the rooms is rather dim (stayed in a king standard room), the furniture and kitchen appliances are getting worn and outdated and hallway decor needs to be updated and modernized. This facility was built at the same time as its sister hotels in Steamboat and Crested Butte but is now owned by a different company. The facility in Steamboat has done a much better job of updating the rooms, halls and general appearance of the property (I've owned a fractional there for 10 years) than they have here and they are very similar in design and original decor. Nonetheless, the hotel is friendly, well located and has very nice work out and pool facilities. I would stay again but my opinion is that they would be wise to update significantly to keep up with other properties in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences here at the Grand Summit. First off, I am happy to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We focus on not only having employees that are service minded, but that they guide our guests to extraordinary experiences; creating long-lasting memories with family and friends. Your feedback is great confirmation that we are on the right track with our goal to be the friendliest resort around.

Concerning the feel of the Grand Summit Hotel, I want you to know that this is the primary focus of the Owners. A design team was brought in a few months ago, and have been working hard to give a great update to our rooms, and common areas. I trust that if you come to visit again, you will be pleased with the changes.
Thank you for staying with us again, and we hope to have you back!

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellvue, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Overall I was disappointed by the resort. They seem to be cutting a lot of corners and running on their reputation. For example, the lobby had a chess board but the pieces were broken and the set was incomplete. The food was overpriced and there were very small portions. The staff at the front desk was poorly informed about meeting locations and times. I will not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am disappointed to read that your perception of the resort is that we are doing things cheaply. I assure you we would never want a guest to feel this way, especially with the incredible amount of updating we are doing across the board. Your input has been shared with all of management, as this perception is not acceptable to us. We have already started to brainstorm ways that we can give those special touches throughout the resort, that leaves people feeling well taken care of.
Note that we have removed the chess pieces as clearly it provides no purpose being out on the floor. Thank you for providing us with this feedback and motivating us to continue discussions on what we can do to be the best.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Exceptional location with very professional staff. Standard king bed rooms well appointed but a bit small. Very good bars/restaurants adjacent to hotel. And, best of all, a high speed quad lift right out the hotel's back door!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, General Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am happy to read that you were so pleased with your stay at the Grand Summit Hotel. The location is prime, as it puts you so close to the lifts, as well as the excitement in our plaza area. I am also happy to read that you found the staff to be very professional. It is always a great motivator when the staff gets to read that a guest found them to be great at their job.
I sincerely hope that you visit us again. Thank you for submitting this review on TripAdvisor.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Canyons as part of a group of hospitality professionals. The rooms were nice enough, but for $300 per night, I was expecting higher quality. The convenience of ski on/off was great, so that helped. The report itself is amazing, with a diverse array of offerings for skiers/boarders of all levels. Its also very family friendly. I could see letting my sons, who are grown now, run around on their own if they were teens/tweens, without worry. The pool/hot tubs are great, although there should be drink service available. I had to get out of the heated pool, and walk into the spa area to ask for a drink. That was cold! The food for breakfast in the Cabin restaurant was good, with fresh fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, breads, plenty of egg concoctions, etc.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the hill are the best! You can also get rooms facing the valley, which is also a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

i am from Aspen Colorado, known as a top notch world class resort and l was totally impressed with the Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel during our 2 day stay. Everything, every detail was perfect for us during our stay. The food delicious, the rooms exquisitely comfortable and clean with fireplaces and jacuzzi tub in our suite, views, amazing room service speed, the absolute nicest most professional staff in the world. Highly, highly recommend to those who want excellence with genuine warmth.

thank you so much, we will be back!

Room Tip: If you are romantic, spring for the suite to have the fireplace going as you watch the sunset and br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Address: 4000 The Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#10 Spa Hotel in Park City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#21 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel Park City
Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel Park City, Utah
Summit Park City
Park City Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyons Grand Summit Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.