We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort in a good location. Some Rooms out of date.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Park Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2060 Sidewinder Drive, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Park City
azsunbaby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice resort in a good location. Some Rooms out of date.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We recently returned from Park City and had a wonderful time. We stayed at the Park Plaza Resort because we had a free week there through a family member. The room we originally were placed in was cramped, outdated (microwave 15+ years old) with a Murphy wall bed that made the room seem even small that it was. I was ready to leave after 2 days however my husband asked if we could upgrade and good news they had availability for a very small fee. We were moved into an amazing room with a full kitchen, upgraded appliances and a wonderful balcony and fireplace. We stayed longer than planned just because it was so nice. Each night we called the front desk and someone would come up and light our fireplace. Everyone was friendly and helpful when needed. The continental breakfast was non impressive and looked like the just went to costco and cut things in half but was a nice gesture. They have a game room, movie night for the kids and a nice indoor pool and spa. The location is right night to the free bus pickup and is a short ride to Main Street. We walked everywhere and enjoyed or stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    60
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
51
84
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Park Plaza Resort in Park City when I had a triathlon at Echo Reservoir, and I was pleasantly surprised. When we arrived it looked like an older property, but it was well taken care of. We stayed in a mini suite, which had a full kitchen, queen size bed, couch bed, and bathroom area. You could pull a wall between the bedroom area and the kitchen/sitting area if you had four people and wanted to have a private sleeping area. There was an indoor pool/jacuzzi, and the bed was unbelievably soft and very comfortable. Our room also had a fireplace and a DVD player, and there were DVDs available at the front desk for about $2-$3 each (we didn't rent one, but my husband looked at the list of available movies and said it was a good selection). Plus we got a killer deal on Groupon ($69/night).

The hotel was located very close to all Park City attractions, and had several restaurants that were within walking distance, plus a movie theater and a grocery store that were just a couple of minutes away (by car), and probably close enough to walk if you didn't have a car.

The only potential problem I saw was that there wasn't very much parking. We were there in the summer (the slow season), so it probably was not very crowded, and the parking lot was still full both nights we were there. I cannot say for sure, but parking may be an issue during the winter months (the peak season for Park City).

Room Tip: Get the mini suite if you want a full size kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Went off-season, so it wasn't very crowded. Both check-in and check-out took a bit longer than I'd expect. The studio room was nicely appointed, better than a mid-class hotel, but looked like it'd be tight for more than 1. The shower would work well for a while, then I'd hear a high-pitched whistle and it'd either go pretty hot or pretty cold until I stopped and restarted it. The room was stuffy, and the fan didn't help and A/C didn't seem to be working. I opened a window, but that looks directly across to another studio so you'd have to watch that you are dressed if you leave the blinds open. The studios also overlook the indoor pool in the center of the building, so I bet it gets noisy in season. Went to the "manager's reception" with wine and light snacks, and a few timeshare owners were gathered there and we had a good time, including interacting with the friendly attendant. Parking is under the hotel. I think the larger suites would be better, as they have more privacy and shouldn't get as much noise from the pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Very friendly staff, especially Jessica, who knew her business and was always available to help. Rooms are clean and well kept, not 5 star but 3.5. Older hotel, but well maintained. Staff always available to fix or address any issues. We had a one bedroom with FULL kitchen and it was very roomy with plenty of storage and workspace, slept 5 very comfortably. Ski storage and underground parking were convenient. Shuttle always willing to run you where you needed to go (i.e. Ski resorts and downtown). Okay location, (about 2 miles from Main Street) near a few restaurants and right on public bus line, bus stop across the street. It still might be worth renting a car, if you want to go for grocery shopping and other locations outside of main street (i.e. Olympic park, which we recommend). Pool was clean and centrally located. Wi video system available, games are for rent by the hour. Room could use a bit more soundproofing, as we heard the people above us moving around. The movie night and breakfast were worth going to, but we suggest they do the breakfast earlier during ski season.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Original reservation was for a studio room, however, it was so small, and noise from pool area was so loud, that I upgraded to a mini-suite for $30 a night extra, which was much quieter and had a small balcony. Front desk staff was very helpful with room upgrade, and with a problem I had with yelling children running in the halls, and ringing the doorbell to my room and running away. They stopped the problem immediately after my call. Mini-suite has a full kitchen, with utensils, and a fireplace at foot of bed. Very clean room and large bathroom with second sink area separated by door from main bath. Too far from Main Street to walk, and garage could use better lighting. Pool area is nice, but is located in atrium in center of building, and is viewable from hallways. Pool and adjacent hot tub are open until 11:00p.m.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed in this hotel while Skiing in February. The stay was enjoyable, we started off in a small room and upgraded to a bigger room while we were there which was definitely worth the extra each night to have a fireplace and full kitchen.

The laundry was useful and the under ground parking usually half full so could always find a space. The swimming pool in the centre of the complex was nice, but the no children in the spa sign was so obviously ignored that they might as well take it down.

We were impressed for the price and the location and would have considered another stay when we go back next year.

However I have just received am email from the Hotel saying I didn't pay for some lift passes that I bought back at the beginning of Feb!!! That’s almost 5 months ago, they didn't provide any proof, but they had the audacity to just ask for my credit card details so that they could charge it???

I have never heard of a hotel doing this so long after departing from a hotel. I think that this emphasises the frugality of the hotel. They advertise free breakfast one morning a week and we were watched like hawks that we didn't take anything away! In the end I had half a bagel and left.

Although I would recommend this hotel as a good value place to stay, this request has left a bad taste in my mouth and I dont think I will be going again next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

On a recent trip to Utah to visit our son, we were given a time share gift certificate to this hotel. What a nice surprise for a time-share condo. The Plaza is up to date and our 2 bedroom condo was more than we expected. 3 full bathrooms and nicely furnished bedrooms. Our kitchen had everything we needed; housekeeping service was great and hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Although the pool was being refurbished (which we knew ahead of time), the hot tub was relaxing after our days of hiking and walking. While it was the "off season", we found Park City an enjoyable town to visit. Easy walk to town, and the free bus service all around town was a treat. Free internet service to check up on emails, game room, exercise room, even grills outside. Underground parking a plus.
We found the Park City Museum in town a nice afternoon's activity; guides are very informative and they had a traveling exhibit from the Smithsonian on American music. Also went to the Olympic Park Museum which was free. And a day trip to Museum of Ancient Life in Lehi (about an hour's drive); this is a must if you have children who like dinosaurs--its' fantastic. www.thanksgivingpoint.org
We even managed a trip to Yellowstone for an overnight--didn't want to miss that since we may never be that close again. Would love to spend a few days there; saw all sorts of wildlife.
This is a beautiful part of the United States and loved the climate.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Resort

Address: 2060 Sidewinder Drive, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#17 Business Hotel in Park City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family condo boutique resort centrally located in Park City. We are 1 1/2 miles from Main Street and Park City Mountain Resort. 4 miles from Deer Valley and 8 miles from the Canyons. Our mini, one and two bedroom condo suites have kitchens, living areas, fireplaces, and balconies. Our studios have kitchenettes. In season we have a courtesy shuttle that will take our guests to the two ski resorts nearby, Main Street and nearby attractions. 24 Hour Front Desk, Indoor Pool and Jacuzzi, Courtesy Shuttle, Fitness Center, Sauna, Ski Storage Lockers, Shuttle Reservations To And From Salt Lake City Airport, Complimentary Shuttle Within Park City, Underground Parking, Pre-Book Lift Tickets, Coin-Op Laundry, Community Barbeques, Elevator, Guest Services, Meeting Facilities, Daily Maid Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Park City
Park City Plaza Hotel
Park City Plaza Resort
Park Plaza Park City
Park City Park Plaza
Park Plaza Resort Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.