We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park City Museum

Park City Museum
528 Main Street, Park City, UT 84060
435-649-7457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover Park City's history at the Park City Museum on Historic Main Street. Prospectors discovered silver in 1868 in the area that soon after became Park City. Mine owners made fortunes, while thousands of miners simply made a living. After silver prices declined, Park City reinvented itself as a ski resort town. Interactive displays tell the Park City story in an engaging manner. Fun for the whole family! Open 7 days a week (Mon-Sat 10-7, Sun 12-6).
Jackson, MS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

Take the 2-pm 1-hour walking tour, then stroll through the museum and relive silver mining days in Park City in one of the most unique multimedia museum experiences you may ever have. It is a little gem of a museum. We loved it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    40
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The tour of Park City was very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

We enjoyed the museum. What made this experience great was the tour of Park City. A older gentelman, a long time resident of Park City, ( since the early 1960's) gave us a personal walking tour. He was there for the opening of the Park City ski resort and was extremly knowledgeable about the skiing history and Park City in general. I learned a lot and would highly recommend this tour if you want to 'dig in' to some real history.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PChistory, Guest Relations Manager at Park City Museum, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your recent visit to the Park City Museum. It sounds like you were able to go on our Historic Main Street Walking Tour, in addition to visiting the Museum. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your tour of both the Museum and Park City. We think the walking tour is another great way to soak up some history and be outside on Park City's beautiful Historic Main Street! Thank you again for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

The Park City Museum is totally worth the visit. It is right on Main St. in Old Town and tells an interesting story of the town's history from mining to resort destination. There are a number of displays to engage kids and often an old timer there to give a personal perspective on the town's evolution.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great View of PC History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

We have been coming to Park City for almost 20 years. I don't know why we never had thought to go to the museum. It is so well done, interactive, interesting, and the staff was lovely. I highly recommend this museum.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting and very well presented!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Visiting this museum is well worth the cost and the time it will take. Many interesting displays and use of multi-media result in visitors having a clear picture of Park City's evolution from a wilderness, to a mining camp, then a mining town, almost a ghost town, and now a destination resort location! Add this to your list of things to do whether it's visiting or even if you are a local who has not yet learned about the history o where you live...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PChistory, Guest Relations Manager at Park City Museum, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for visiting the Park City Museum. We love the story of Park City's evolution and are glad that you were able to explore the museum's interactive exhibits. We think we're a hidden gem here on historic Main Street--something visitors and locals would appreciate. Make sure to check out our calendar of events and our membership program, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park City Museum also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Park City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park City Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park City Museum to your Saves list