We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of PC History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park City Museum

Park City Museum
528 Main Street, Park City, UT 84060
435-649-7457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 74 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Park City's history at the Park City Museum on Historic Main Street. Prospectors discovered silver in 1868 in the area that soon after became Park City. Mine owners made fortunes, while thousands of miners simply made a living. After silver prices declined, Park City reinvented itself as a ski resort town. Interactive displays tell the Park City story in an engaging manner. Fun for the whole family! Open 7 days a week (Mon-Sat 10-7, Sun 12-6).
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great View of PC History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have been coming to Park City for almost 20 years. I don't know why we never had thought to go to the museum. It is so well done, interactive, interesting, and the staff was lovely. I highly recommend this museum.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    60
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very interesting and very well presented!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Visiting this museum is well worth the cost and the time it will take. Many interesting displays and use of multi-media result in visitors having a clear picture of Park City's evolution from a wilderness, to a mining camp, then a mining town, almost a ghost town, and now a destination resort location! Add this to your list of things to do whether it's visiting or even if you are a local who has not yet learned about the history o where you live...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PChistory, Guest Relations Manager at Park City Museum, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Park City Museum. We love the story of Park City's evolution and are glad that you were able to explore the museum's interactive exhibits. We think we're a hidden gem here on historic Main Street--something visitors and locals would appreciate. Make sure to check out our calendar of events and our membership program, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Az desert
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a great little museum, and had interesting information on the area, including how Park City was one of the only areas that used an old mine shaft to haul skiers up the slope.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Vermont
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A really neat museum of an interesting town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a museum that tells the story of how Park City developed from a mining town (where life was not always easy for the miners) into the resort town that it now is. The items displayed are both interesting and, in many cases, surprising. It's setup so that all members of the family will enjoy it. Only problem, finding a parking space near it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PChistory, Guest Relations Manager at Park City Museum, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your visit to the Park City Museum. We appreciate you taking the time to review the museum and are happy that you found something for everyone in your group here! Parking on Main Street does start to get limited in the summer, and I hope you were able to find some parking behind the Museum on Swede Alley or in the China Bridge Parking structure. These are 4-6 hour time parking areas, but are free and just a short walk to the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very well presented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The museum is 3 floors with an elevator. Much of the topic areas are covered with audio. Downside was there was no restroom facilities.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PChistory, Guest Relations Manager at Park City Museum, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your visit to the Park City Museum! We are sorry you weren't able to access our public restroom. The public restroom for the museum has public access to Main Street, and is right outside our front door. We do have ADA access for this restroom via the museum's elevator, so inquire at the front desk for this access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park City Museum also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Park City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park City Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.