We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park City Museum

Park City Museum
528 Main Street, Park City, UT 84060
435-649-7457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover Park City's history at the Park City Museum on Historic Main Street. Prospectors discovered silver in 1868 in the area that soon after became Park City. Mine owners made fortunes, while thousands of miners simply made a living. After silver prices declined, Park City reinvented itself as a ski resort town. Interactive displays tell the Park City story in an engaging manner. Fun for the whole family! Open 7 days a week (Mon-Sat 10-7, Sun 12-6).
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Such a cool story-the progression from a mining town to ski town... all documented in a very accessible, well laid out little museum. There are great historical pieces like the old mining cars, "skiers subway" and interactive exhibits. We loved the old jail underneath the museum and its ties to labor rights in mining etc. Great for a little afternoon stop to get to know more about the history of the area! Highly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    40
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
“Nice Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Lots to see, hear, experience, including the original jail and videos of the history of Park City as a mining community and through its ski resort transformation

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I really had a good time, its very interactive and fun. Walk around touching buttons and playing with some cool effects. Was great to learn about this beautiful city in the early 80's very interesting. Would recommend.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and I decided to visit this museum on an off day from skiing after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. First of all, the staff that we met, Margarethe and Joyce, were extremely nice and informative and a pleasure to talk with. The museum is very interesting and informative about the history of Park City. Even my 6 and 10 year old grandchildren stayed interested (kids are give a card upon entering so that they can do a "treasure hunt" throughout the museum) and especially enjoyed the basement floor. We spent a little less than 2 hours here and were very glad we went.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Worth a pop-in while on Main Street. We all had carmel apples from Rocky Mountain Chocolate and enjoyed the museum. Kids liked it too

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park City Museum also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Park City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park City Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park City Museum to your Saves list