We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, interesting and unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park City Museum

Park City Museum
528 Main Street, Park City, UT 84060
435-649-7457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 73 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Park City's history at the Park City Museum on Historic Main Street. Prospectors discovered silver in 1868 in the area that soon after became Park City. Mine owners made fortunes, while thousands of miners simply made a living. After silver prices declined, Park City reinvented itself as a ski resort town. Interactive displays tell the Park City story in an engaging manner. Fun for the whole family! Open 7 days a week (Mon-Sat 10-7, Sun 12-6).
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Clean, interesting and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Park City Museum is partially housed in a century old building, but the maintenance staff keeps it sparkling clean. Even though it is about the history of the Park City area, it feels modern with all the special effects and interactive displays. I especially liked the "books" about specific events or topics (one was about the social standings of blacks, Chinese and others). Each was about 5 pages long with a great photo on each page. Joyce, one of the ladies working there, was pleasant, knowledgeable, and encouraged our Park City friends to join the History Museum. With so many benefits, I encouraged them, too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“You gotta check it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We love visiting museums when we travel. Some are great, like this one. In this tiny little town, the history really shines and they've done a wonderful job of storytelling the past, making it interesting for all ages. Be sure to go to the basement so you can "blow up" the mining mountain.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hands on fun out of the snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

With time to kill before lunch my husband and child entered the museum not knowing what to expect. They had a blast learning about the town's history through interactive displays and videos. The woman behind the desk was so friendly and helpful!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaTravels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Spend some time here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was lovely to get to know the history of Park City, UT. A place my partner and I enjoy so much.
We were lucky enough to go on a day with free museum entry and really enjoyed ourselves. The people working at the desk were also very friendly and knowledgeable.
Thanks very much!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank EckoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Park City Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A wonderful little museum! You'll learn all about the history of Park City through videos and interactive displays. Bring the family!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park City Museum also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Park City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing