We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome home base for family ski vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Star at Park City

Save Saved
You added Silver Star at Park City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Star at Park City
1825 Three Kings Drive, Park City, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome home base for family ski vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This review is long overdue - we went there in January 2013. We knew wanted Park City because 1) it is direct from NYC airports 2) resort not hours of driving from airport 3) great skiing terrain for our diverse group-- great double black EX down through beginner, 4) reasonable expectation for good snow, 5) great food options in town. We stumbled across Silver Star and had the best trip.

First off, I have to say that the concierge staff were amazing- they were so responsive to all of my e-mails and requests and concerns for arranging this awesome & successful trip. Everything was taken care of very professionally, far exceeding my expectations. We were traveling as a family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children under 9). They helped arrange the limo company for pick up, which was top notch. (I have to say we would not splurge if it was a smaller group, but after traveling with 3 kids in coach on a 5 hour flight, it was worth it). Park City, as you probably already know, is a close drive from SLC. Our van brought us in for a quick check in, then drove us into the garage under our building - up the elevator with luggage, and into the grandest accommodation. (We chose a 3 bedroom). I was not expecting it to be this nice. It must have been 2400-2600 square feet of well designed mountain luxury. You can see the pictures for yourself, I will just say pictures are accurate, it is clean and well maintained, true to the brochure so-to-speak, and it is much more spacious than the pictures show. Our kids actually couldn't quite cope with the spacious spread -- somehow still they wound up all in the same room (one bedroom went unused). High end details all around, very comfortable. The staff also stocked our refrigerator at my request, including organic milk etc.

Some other things to mention:

The silver star lift is right there, super convenient. Unfortunately we didn't get to use it because of 2 young beginner children it was easier to take the complimentary Silver Star van to and from the base each day and that worked out great. We actually wound up not even using the provided silver star lockers after the first 2 days (they are in the lobby right at the silver star lift base) - it was easier for us to use the on slope ski valet. (We got very tired of carrying skis for 2 small children plus ourselves and it was easier to force them to learn to carry their own stuff if it was a shorter distance).

The ski shop on premises (silver star ski and sport) was very professional - and it saved the trip many a time when kids would lose gloves, or goggles, etc.

The ski school at Park City was a little hectic - maybe they are too big to provide a personal touch. It wasn't until the 5th day that they seemed to recognize our 3 kids by sight. The instruction was very good and our children had fun, but I was expecting a little better.

The skiing was fantastic - I'm sure other areas on tripadvisor can describe better- I will NEVER forget Powder Monkey - that will be my favorite run forever I think. McConkey's lift was the group favorite. Experts in group could do Molly's and other bowl runs, while others went down Georgeanna to all meet up at Powder Monkey for great group fun.

Viking Yurt on the mountain - late lunch after the rush - hot chocolate and soup, great treat.

Coming home: private hot tub luxury, enough said. Also, the Silver Star units have XBOX's -- for us there was an XBOX with 5 games - we were all actually too tired to play any, but it was nice to have the option. We were able to play rhapsody over the built in sound system through our iphones which was cool.

Food - I initially had grand plans for dining out most nights but cancelled most reservations. We were all too tired every day - hotdogs never tasted so good. But we ordered twice from the restaurant on premises -- it really should be listed in top restaurants for Park City. It is an undiscovered jewel, and would easily hold up as a solid NYC restaurant.

So all in all, Silver Star at Park City made the perfect family trip for us - perfect location, beautiful accomodations, perfect amenities, helpful staff. Outstanding restaurant and sport shop on premises. It was missing nothing. Next time we visit Park City, I will stay at Silver Star, and hopefully the kids will be able to take the Silver Star lift!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for a family reunion with several other family members. Units are well maintained, nicely furnished and comfortable. Out door pool was also nice. Underground parking was also available. It is close to hiking trails and one chair lift that operates in the winter. We loved our stay and are planning on going back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the condo, we had our own hot tub which was very nice to enjoy after a long day of skiing. We had a 3 bedroom, 3.5 bath condo, it was awesome! The beds were very comfortable, condo was clean, even had box fans in the closets. It was nice to have a heated ski locker, that was close to the ski lift. We rented our skis at Ski Utah, but you can rent skis, etc. by the lift. We will be back! We've already booked our ski vacation for next year for the same condo!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

You can't beat the convienence of these condos if you are travelling with children. We saved a lot of time everyday because we had heated ski lockers (not sure if every unit has these) and a lift 20 yards out the door. It was very nice to have part of the family sleep in and the real ski enthusiasts get up early for some awesome morning skiing. We were torn on the necessity of a rental car. Turns out we didn't need it at all. We utilized the shuttle service many times and they even took us to the grocery store on a slow day. The condos are million dollar places and absolutely beautiful! We could have easily walked downtown with our children 12, 8, and 7 but we ended up taking the shuttle each time. The restaurant by the Silver Star lift was really great. They have a little bit of everything; coffee drinks, breakfast muffins, sandwiches, dinner entrees. It was super easy to come back to the condo for a break and/or meal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We traveled to Park City with another family (10 total) for a Christmas ski trip. We stayed in a 4 bedroom condo at Silver Star and I would go back tomorrow! The condo was spacious, well decorated, had it's own outdoor hot tub, wifi, underground reserved parking and had a great kitchen. The private concierge service was very helpful in lining up our activities and the location was excellent. We had about a 70 yard walk to the Silver Star lift (only about 20 yards of it were outside). Right beside the lift was a ticket office that NEVER had a line, even during the PEAK week of the year. The ski rental shop was about 50 yards from the lift, well equipped and well staffed. We have skied at 9 different resorts in Colorado and 2 others in Utah, for sheer convenience, Park City and the Silver Star is definitely our favorite and we will return..... hopefully soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Great place with first rate amenities. Your own private ski lift. Staff was very accomodating and friendly. The condo was immaculate with first class amenities including the viking appliances. Wonderful master bath. Witning walking distance to Park City Mountain resort. and a short ride to Main Street. We had a great deal with the 4th night free thru ski.com The only problems were the wireless internet was poor. We had to pick it up from another room. There was no router in the apartment with no ethernet plug.. Also be warned about the deli. I had a skier's lunch for $10 that was soup and a half sandwich. The sandwich smelled bad and I decided not to eat it. Otherwise a wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Just got back from Park city ski trip with family. We rented a 3 bedroom unit, beautifully equipped next to pool and hot tub. Loved the rooms. We called ahead and had groceries delivered (for a fee of course) well worth it not to have to do that.....it is a ski on/off resort but if your room is furter away from lift its a short walk. They also have ski lockers by office and lift. Try to request a room closer to lift and pool. Another bonus is they have a free shuttle to take you to other resorts like deer valley and canyons-also to town(about 5 min) for dinner...we did tip the drivers though. Resort was not too busy so shuttle could always accomodate us. I would definitley stay here again-but I also like to stay at resorts right at bottom of ski hill with more action. Very nice but a little quiet

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Star at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Star at Park City

Address: 1825 Three Kings Drive, Park City, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Specialty lodging in Park City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a new condo complex at the base of Park City Mountain Resort with ski-in, ski-out acces to the Silver Star chair lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Star at Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Star At Park City Hotel Park City
Silver Star At Park City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Star at Park City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.