We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like strong flavors, you will love this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge

Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge
9200 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
435-645-6632
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 201 restaurants in Park City
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Empire Canyon Lodge
Description: Fireside Dining Opening Saturday, December 14, 2013 for the 2013-2014 ski season. Fireside Dining offers a sleigh ride around the Empire Canyon Lodge (12 minutes approximately). The cost is per sleigh, which is $30. Please indicate in the "Special Requests" section of your open table reservation that you would like a sleigh ride or you may call 435-645-6632. Offering local favorites from the European Alps in the heart of Deer Valley, Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge features four courses served from our five stone fireplaces. Offered Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings during ski season, from 5:45 pm 9 pm Reservations are suggested. Free parking available. Adults $58, Children $28 (11 years and younger), prices do not include beverages, tax or gratuity. Phone reservations will be accepted beginning on Monday, November 4, 2013, between 9 am and 5 pm Monday through Friday.
Park City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you like strong flavors, you will love this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I ate here with my husband, sister and brother-in-law. We all really enjoyed the meal. It was pricey - wine prices are pretty high - but it was definitely worth it. Next time, I'll be sure to wear something that expands around the waste (a dress, or an elastic waistband under a sweater). Other people have described how it works and what kinds of food are available, so I'll make some other notes.

I'm kind of surprised people bring their kids here. Don't get me wrong, I understand why it would seem like a good idea: a sleigh ride and food cooked over fires. Sounds fun! But if you don't like lamb, or good cheese, or hearty stews and vegetable dishes where they let the veggie shine, then you won't like this. I don't know a single kid under the age of 15 who would like anything other than the dessert fireplace. In fairness, though, the dessert fondue might possibly be worth the price of admission. Possibly. Admission is pretty expensive.

If you DO like roasted butternut squash soup (for instance) that isn't overloaded with cream - a soup where the squash is the star - I think you'll like the food here. They had a carrot and potato mash that was spectacular. The lamb was perfectly cooked, and the veal and mushroom stew was to-die-for. For those who have moral problems with veal, their veal is free-range. This means no broken legs or containment. All four of us went back for seconds on the potato-encrusted Utah trout. Normally, I like trout. I LOVED this trout. The ingredients are local and organic for most things on the menu.

On tripadvisor, I like to check the reviews that give a poor rating. If most of the people giving a poor rating are unreasonable, then you can tell that the place is pretty good. Seriously, read the Terrible and Poor reviews for this place. I don't think they are unreasonable, but most of them have kids. One person thinks the cheese smells terrible (and there is only one kind!). Yes. It's a raclette. Another says it's an overpriced buffet with only salami at the cheese station. That's a straight up lie. I'm not sure why someone would lie about it, but I think that person had kids. I can understand: if you were there with someone who prefers chicken fingers, then you might not enjoy the experience as much. Maybe you didn't notice the pancetta, prosciutto, several kinds of bread, house-made pickles, pearl onions, housemade mustards and preserves and peppers, etc. Anyway, if you like food with bold flavors, you have some money to spend, and you want to do it in a relatively unique environment? Definitely check this place out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    38
    13
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I LOVED the cheese dripped plates! The offerings brought out the carnivore in me and I had to try it all! Loved the lamb and trout the best while my husband preferred the beef cheeks. Watch where you are seated - i got a little too toasty next to the fireplace!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our group of 10 skiiers dined here and enjoyed ourselves. Not surprisingly, our dinners, with drinks, tax and tip were quite pricey. Dinner is sort of buffet style, but is kept fresh. Unfortunately, I and most of the women in the group did not "get our money's worth". It is certainly a place where you pay for the experience. The food was unique and tasty, but I think it could be found for less elsewhere in PC.

Service was attentive, and apologetic when another much larger group arrived and was a bit distruptive in the dining room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Very Best of Deer Valley Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you're looking for a truly amazing dining experience, Fireside Dining is by far, tops! The food is fantastic and the service is unparalleled. Go hungry is all I can say. There are so many dishes to try you have to pace yourself. Save room for dessert, the selections of treats will astound you. Perfect place for special occasions. My wife and I will never forget this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good hearty food in a unique setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We recently returned to the Empire Lodge with a group of friends for the Fireside Dining . This is definitely a "special occasion" experience. For those not familiar with the layout of this dinner, come prepared with a serious appetite, as the offerings are hearty and plentiful. The food is presented in sort of buffet fashion except that each course/station is located at one of the many open hearth fireplaces situated around the large and open areas of this log building on the mountain at Deer Valley resort. The offerings include a first course of raclette, the alpine melted cheese served with a variety of accompaniments such as cured meats, homemade mustards, cornichon and pickled onions. It is tempting to fill up on this rich and satisfying delicacy, but restrain yourself. There is always lots more to come at the other fireplaces. On this visit, a special for the evening was short ribs of beef braised in red wine. For my money this was the star attraction. Also served at the same station was a rich (almost too rich) veal stew and the famous Swiss specialty, rosti potato- shredded potato "pancake" fried in butter. Along with a serious number of other dishes such as Basque clam chowder, salads, paella, assorted vegetable plates, the signature item appears to be leg of lamb which is roasted in front of an open hearth. The lamb is carved to order by a member of the lodge kitchen staff. Unfortunately they do not know the proper way to slice leg of lamb and the resulting portions, while cooked to a perfect medium rare, are tough and chewy. Too bad because this lack of knowledge/skill detracts from an otherwise flawless presentation. Save room for dessert. It's worth it. At yet another fireplace servers offer a variety of hot dipping sauces for a dessert fondue. The dark chocolate is my favorite. There is an endless selection of items in the form of fruits, cakes, cookies etc that are available for dunking in the sauces. As far as I am concerned, the homemade biscotti top the the charts for this purpose, but it seems as though the fresh strawberries are another big hit. The per person charge is a hefty $58 plus tax and tip. Coffee is an additional $3. Corkage is an exorbitant $20 per bottle, but the servers obviously have some leeway here, as we shared 5 bottles and were charged for two. In general I find that if I let the server know that we prefer to tip generously when corkage charges are forgiven, we get better service and fewer charges. As I said, this is not a place to frequent everyday, but as a once a season excursion or for a special event, it is worth a try. Advance reservations are a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.