We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is the appeal?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge

Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge
9200 Marsac Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
435-645-6632
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 207 Restaurants in Park City
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Empire Canyon Lodge
Description: Fireside Dining Opening Saturday, December 14, 2013 for the 2013-2014 ski season. Fireside Dining offers a sleigh ride around the Empire Canyon Lodge (12 minutes approximately). The cost is per sleigh, which is $30. Please indicate in the "Special Requests" section of your open table reservation that you would like a sleigh ride or you may call 435-645-6632. Offering local favorites from the European Alps in the heart of Deer Valley, Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge features four courses served from our five stone fireplaces. Offered Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings during ski season, from 5:45 pm 9 pm Reservations are suggested. Free parking available. Adults $58, Children $28 (11 years and younger), prices do not include beverages, tax or gratuity. Phone reservations will be accepted beginning on Monday, November 4, 2013, between 9 am and 5 pm Monday through Friday.
TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What is the appeal?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We found the entire experience overrated and overpriced. The food was okay but none of it was that impressive. It wasn't fun having to serve yourself for that price.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Winter Dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Everything is cooked in fireplaces all around the lodge. From Raclette appetizers, to stews and soups, to roasted lambs, pork, beef,and game, to chocolate fondu all are cooked at different fireplaces. Wonderful dining experience. Worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“They Make it Easy to Totally Enjoy the Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have been here a few times on our visits to Park City and it's awesome. We've been with groups large and small and the service is superb and the experience fabulous no matter the size of the group or the day of the week. New is the free shuttle bus from the Park City Transit Center - a big improvement as we had to take cabs in the past. The service ends at 10:30pm or so so if you're counting on the bus ensure you leave enough time to really savor dinner. It's a price-fix, $56 this year, which includes all courses. We love love love the raclette of cheese and all the neat things that go with it. Each "room" is a station with different types of food. Options suitable for all are available. I think the only thing I would like to see them do differently is offer smaller plates/bowls to support trying everything without it all running into everything else. It's not a problem, but a thought if Fireside Dining staff read these reviews. The dessert is awesome. The cinnamon coffee cake and apples for dipping are my favorite. They have specials included in the menu every night. This year we had a big party and the staff offered to break our check which was wonderful. They make it easy to enjoy every aspect the experienct. The service is just awesome. Leave 2+ hours - you don't want to rush this. Reservations required - book early to have full choice of seatings.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We enjoyed doing this. It was more of an experience than just a meal.
We started with the raclette and enjoyed sitting by the raclette fireside and just watching it melt. Moved on to the seafood, soup, salads. Then the leg of lamb and veggies.
Desserts were fun, including the fondue bar with not one but 3 kinds of fondue.
Lots of fun. Expensive but priceless family memory. You have to have a reservation.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS - TOP 10 EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I arrived at Fireside Dining with a group of approximately 30 from a ski club in Virginia. Everyone in the group agreed the lodge, meal, ambience, food quality, service, variety, price, etc., were superb - absolute grandeur! In reading all the other reviews it appears most everyone agrees on this! It truly would be at the top of my list for an outstanding dining experience. We were there on January 12...as someone else with a very negative review the same night. I cannot believe they were in the same restaurant/lodge! I did not see anything that would even resemble a chicken tender...and would hope not to see one at a 5 star restaurant! Friends at Roanoke Ski Club, Virginia

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Dining at Empire Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.