We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto on most of the reviews, exactly what you'd expect in Panguitch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Sage Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Purple Sage Motel to your Saves list
Purple Sage Motel
132 East Center, Panguitch, UT 84759   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Panguitch
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Ditto on most of the reviews, exactly what you'd expect in Panguitch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Took a chance on this hotel, didn't have a reservation near Bryce Canyon. The Grand Hotel newr Bryce was full, as was Ruby's Inn (stayed there before, good, not great). Ended up at the Pruple Sage on recommendation from a clerk at the Grand. It was everything you would expect at a hotel in Panguitch, UT. Mom and Pop. Very friendly. Let me see the room before we booked. It was a bit musty, but for $65 a night, what can you expect?? It was clean, convenient to park right in front of the room, and we watched the owner turn out the vacancy light after we paid our fee.
Quiet, inexpensive and a good choice for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    86
    42
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
85
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
n/a
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here two years ago and liked the place; among other things, motorcycle friendly. So I made reservations there again this trip. Dealt with wife for res and check in first time; the husband this time. Both were great on the phone and in person. Friendly, helpful, good info. As 'direct owners' they appear to care about and take care of their establishment. First time room on ground floor toward back; this time ground floor on right. Clean, comfortable, appropriately stocked. It is 1/2 block from main intersection and easy walk to dinner and breakfast. This was my 3rd time in Panguitch, 2nd time at Purple Sage. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Purple Sage Motel is twenty to thirty minutes drive from Bryce Canyon, which we were visiting in May 2013. The motel is in the small town of Panguitch, and is easily identifiable from the highway (89). The motel is run by a lovely couple who are happy to help with dinner suggestions and offer a 5% discount if you pay cash for your room. Our room was great - clean, comfortable, exactly what you'd want and expect for the price, with a good shower and towels included. Although we only stayed one night, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it when compared to the gaudier and much more expensive hotels/motels closer to Bryce Canyon National Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It is a great location for exploring Bryce Canyon. The town of Panquitch is a quiet little place with some shops and a number of places to eat. We arrived on a Sunday evening and found that only two places to eat were open.
Be sure to visit the Quilt Walkers Park located almost right beside this motel. It's a little slice of Utah history.
The motel itself has nice size rooms which are clean and neat. There is a little coffee pot in the room. A refrigerator and microwave are located in the office.
This place has friendly service with a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May whilst visiting Bryce Canyon. It was around 25 miles to the entrance of the National Park.

We stayed in a double queen room which was on the 1st floor - if you have disabilities or would struggle to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs, request a ground floor room. Our room was very clean as were the towels and the sheets, the in room wifi was fast and reliable - we were able to Skype our family. There were plenty of TV channels to choose from but the picture wasn't the best.

The accommodation was very peaceful so we could get a good nights sleep, the aircon was a tad noisy so we had to switch it off overnight - the windows do open though if needed.

A couple of concerns I would have are that the room does not have any smoke alarms and the electric socket was hanging off the wall.

There is a microwave and fridge available but these are located in the reception area, it is a bit awkward when using the microwave as guests are checking in whilst you're trying to heat stuff up, but then again I guess they don't need to provide these facilities. There is an ice bucket in your room and an ice machine on the ground floor which will keep your drinks chilled in your room.

There are restaurants in the area as well as a grocery store, petrol stations etc but on Sundays we were told that pretty much everywhere closes.

All in all we did enjoy our stay and it was good value for money based on the prices closer to the Bryce Canyon entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We as a touringcompany often visit the Purple Sage Motel ans our experiences are very good. The owner always tries to work with us, the rooms are clean and spacy and prices are very reasonable. A good choice when you visit this area since Bryce Canyon is very nearby

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

First off, we liked the Purple Sage, but it's just a nice motel, so it's hard to give it a great rating.

The room was clean, nothing spectacular, the beds were comfortable, and surprisingly, the temperature was good despite a cold-ish night. We had a very good wifi signal in our room. The motel guy was nice to us and was good with answers. I have a feeling that there's no such thing as a great meal in Panguitch, so we didn't blame him for the food recommendations. He had menus which were handy. They were very good with emails.

The price was about average for Panguitch. It's about 30 minutes to Bryce unless you get stuck behind a slowpoke like we did. There isn't much to the town, but there are gas stations and subways at least. There's not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, but everything is within a minute's drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purple Sage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Sage Motel

Address: 132 East Center, Panguitch, UT 84759
Location: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Purple Sage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Sage Hotel Panguitch
Purple Sage Motel Panguitch, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Sage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.