We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what it is.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Sage Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Purple Sage Motel to your Saves list
Purple Sage Motel
132 East Center, Panguitch, UT 84759   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Panguitch
Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for what it is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

All that they advertise - very clean and in good repair, well run, WiFi etc. The owner-operator is a retired salesman who decided to settle there and he's done a good job refurbishing everything and putting it in good shape. I'd stay here again anytime - and prefer it to what I saw clustered around the entrance to Bryce Canyon a few miles away.

Panguitch is a classic crossroads small town and if you're here - usually sightseeing and tired - this is a great place bunk for a night or two. From what I've seen you can find cheaper rooms locally, but they look pretty sketchy. I suppose I could deduct a point for no espresso machine in the room or lack of gold plated fixtures etc. but you're in (very) rural Utah!

Disclosure: I traveled in October 2011 but am putting the review in much later as an afterthought and couldn't choose that from the menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    85
    41
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
85
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
utah
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Purple Sage offers clean, modern, handy accomodations in an area which hasn't a wide variety of choices.
Our room was large, clean, and well appointed. One shortcoming was the shortage of hangars; only four were on hand.
Otherwise, we found this an adequate stop for the evening.
The cost was moderate at $66, incl tax for two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as there is some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked in at Purple Sage ahead of time based on what we read on Trip Advisor. Our purpose in staying there was to give us a base for Bryce and Zion touring. We stayed 2 nights, but went elsewhere after being in Zion. (The Bob-Bon Inn at Kanab.)

The room was very clean and had all the necessary things for an overnight stay. It was quiet, not in a small part due to the thoughtful and quiet neighbours at the time. If a neighbour was noisy the construction of the place wouldn't damp much of the noise.
The owner was very nice and helpful. This was good, because when we tried to get into the room with the key it wouldn't work very well. After a few trips to the office the owner lubricated the lock and it worked fine from there on.
This is an old, mom-and-pop type motel and we are evaluating it on this basis. We've stayed in lots of these before and this one can be rated as average when giving it that consideration.
The beds were great and we had a good sleep both nights.
There were a few small, annoying things worth mentioning. First, we were only provided with a VISA receipt and no zero balance invoice as most motel/hotel places provide. The other was the internet connection. They advertise HIGH SPEED INTERNET, but it isn't. In fact it is closer to what you might get over an old telephone analogue line. I'll assume that their connection to the service provider is high speed, but once it is used by many residents, the speed diminishes dramatically. We couldn't even check the weather radar maps to see what sort of precipitation was coming at us as it never did finish drawing the map. Being an electrical engineer I am geeky enough to run tests on internet connection speeds and this one was VERY slow. Is this a big deal when considering a motel? No, I don't think so. But if I was trying to support of my business via the internet at this location I would be very upset.
We were in Panguitch in the middle of October and it is pretty quiet at this time of the year. However, the Cowboys Smoke House cafe has superb suppers and Troys Cafe has great breakfasts, so the food angle is well covered in town.
Would I go back? If I needed to stay in Panguitch, yes I would. There are some other options in the other towns nearby, but they are not obvious on the internet searches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just spent one night at the Purple Sage in Panguitch. We were visiting Bryce Canyon during a trip to Vegas and just wanted a place to crash for the night. Because it was the Columbus day weekend everything close to or in the park was fully booked so I widened the search results.
The motel is in the heart of Panguitch though this is a very small town approximately half an hour from Bryce Canyon.
The room was your basic standard motel set up. Flat screen tv with good selection of channels plus free secure wi-fi. The bed spreads could maybe be freshened up as they looked old and dated but the linens were clean and fresh.
There are not a lot of options for eating out in Panguitch so we opted for one of the two Subway sandwich shops in the town.
You could do far worse than the Purple Sage and for the price, compared to the hotels/motels at the gateway to Bryce Canyon, its a good place to stay for this price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Chose motel based on trip advisor reviews and a recommendation by the owner of a B & B in the area who was already booked. Motel was clean, price was right and the location good. We picked this town because it was conveniently located for our visits to Zion and Bryce. There are several decent restaurants in town too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We pick the Purple Sage due to Trip Advisor reviews and were very happy. The rooms were clean and the owners were very friendly. They recommended a few restaurants and very very helpful on the sites and drives. The motel is usually filled up and I can see why, Good value, good location and good rooms. Will stay again if we revisit Bryce Canyon.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a visit to Bryce Canyon. We didn't book anything in advance and first tried to get a hotel in Tropic (close to Bryce). Unfortunately every hotel in that town had been sold out! So we ended up in Panguits (appr. 50 min drive) and found this motel. The owners of this motel were very friendly. The room is pretty old-fashioned in style but clean and neat. Since the door is facing outside it is very easy for flies or mosquitos to come into the room. We had to kill a couple of bugs first before we could comfortably stay in this room.

There is no fridge or microwave in the room but they have them in the lobby which you can make use of. Free wifi available in the room.

No complimentary breakfast. 1 block down the street there is a small food store where you can buy things to eat and drink.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purple Sage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Sage Motel

Address: 132 East Center, Panguitch, UT 84759
Location: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Purple Sage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Sage Hotel Panguitch
Purple Sage Motel Panguitch, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Sage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.