We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place AND Half the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harold's Place Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harold's Place Inn to your Saves list
Harold's Place Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3066 Highway 12, PO box 311, Panguitch, UT 84759   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Panguitch
Redlands, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Place AND Half the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

When I planned our trip to Bryce a few months ago, I found many choices near the park entrance, including Ruby's. The prices were high ($150+). The reviews were mixed, many of them bad. The sales reps were high pressure. Scouting the internet I found Harold's Place Inn and called Kristie (Spelling?). She was friendly and helpful. You could tell that it was a family-run establishment, and they had pride in their place. The reviews were all good except for one lady who complained about a hair in her bed. (I found that there was much more to this story than the lady admitted.) The pictures looked good. (Of course, when choosing a cabin in the wilds of Utah, one shouldn't expect a room like the Ritz Carleton on the Pacific beach). For $75 it seemed a good choice. (Harold’s also has a regular motel if that is more to one’s liking.)
As one reviewer has already pointed out, it is about 15 miles from the park entrance, but the ride is beautiful and restful. We found the cabin to be very clean and larger than most motel rooms. The high ceiling makes the room look larger. All the equipment in the room worked well. The only negative might be the size of the shower, but as I wrote earlier we were not expecting the Ritz. Because the cabins are separate we did not have to worry about the volume of the TV, nor hear the next door neighbors. The little porch on the front was a nice place to relax and came equipped with a “butt can” for those who like to have a smoke (all rooms are non-smoking), which was a nice touch not found at many places.
A pleasant surprise was the restaurant. I believe that Harold was a chef in Las Vegas, and it showed. The menu was limited but all items (almond encrusted trout, Cajun pork chops, coconut shrimp, clam strips, etc) were excellent. The breakfasts were fresh and tasty. The prices were very reasonable. Kristie mentioned that when her Dad retires in the near future, she will close the dining room and make it a store. She will have free continental breakfasts, and have steak and trimmings available for people who want to cook them on the patio near the cabins. There are a number of restaurants available between Harold’s and the park, so that should not be a problem.
We stopped at Ruby’s a couple of times to shop and it made us very happy about our choice. With so many rooms in a small area, the place was crowded and hectic. People had to stand in line to eat. It certainly would not have been as peaceful and relaxing as Harold’s. Though Highway 12 runs in front of the cabins, they are set back far enough so there is no road noise.
You can’t do better on your trip to Bryce than to stay there. We found Kristie, who manages the restaurant and cabins, to be a bit of a “brat”, but I mean that in a good way. She was very helpful and a pleasure to meet. She knew the area and was a good choice for travel information

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    59
    31
    19
    7
See reviews for
36
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

The cabin was very clean & comfortable - much nicer than we expected for the price. We also ate dinner in the restaurant (it's the only place around) -the food was freshly prepared & reasonably priced. This establishment is also very pet friendly!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We just decided to ditch and head down to Southern Utah for the weekend. We have always wanted to stay in one of the little cabins you see along side the road and Harolds was the first one we saw. I don't know about "gouged" from 2008, the room was $55/night. Cabin was about 200 sq feet with a picnic table outside (we had #1) good tv and very cozy. Wood panneling (see photos) and a great drive to boulder. We had fun watching the sun come up over the mtns. The restaurant was fine, nothing hugely different, but the balsamic chicken was good and the service was very good. The coffee and coffee maker is in the room, suave shampoo, bring conditioner if you use it and lotion. Water pressure very good. Just a neat time. There is beer at the restaurant, not wine. We ate at a restaurant in Boulder (Mesa something on the Burr trail) great fries. Would go back. If you want wine or something mas fuerte stop at Heather's Liquor store in Panguich.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Cabin Was GREAT !!! We traveled out to Bryce Canyon a 4-5 day stay in the Bryce area. Usually we have stayed at Ruby's Inn, but we called there and they were booked solid. They recommended Harold's Place and gave us the phone number. I called and spoke to Kristie (sorry if I have your name spelled wrong & you read this!) and she booked us for our stay. I am really glad we had our eyes opened to the fabulous cabins at Harold's !!!! Absolutely! Nice private cabin, great parking right there, and it was very clean and comfy. We slept well and it was very quiet there at night. Even though you are close to the road, there is no one travelling past there at night pretty much. I worried about that since I am a light sleeper! We went to the restaurant there on property and had a nice dinner with great service by Kristie. This is a great family run place and they truly care about their guests. We had a great time and no problem travelling to the canyon in the morning, in fact it was very scenic and a great wake up ride. We really enjoyed our stay here and had great service, no complaints. The only thing I was surprised about was the very small shower stall that is in the cabin, but it worked fine. We had great a/c and it worked fine. Nice little table and chairs allowed a place for us to sit and chat in the evening, great chest of drawers allow you to put your stuff in there with ample room. Overall we had a great experience and definitely will return here again without any hesitation! Thanks Kristie for a great experience at Harold's Place! We will see you again soon!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

First of all, we wanted to stay at the Best Western just outside Bryce Canyon National Park but they were full. They must have some sort of kick-back scheme going on with Harold's because they made the reservation at Harold's for us.

I am sure we paid at least twice as much for the room because of its proximity to Bryce Canyon – although it wasn’t really that close! The quality of the room certainly did not justify the steep price. The manager of the place was laughably bad. She was rude and acted as though she was doing us a favor by letting us have the room. There was a sign outside that said "free coffee," so when I asked about it in the morning, she said it was only for those staying in the cabins. LOL!

  • Liked — If I remember correctly, they did have good, free Wi-Fi
  • Disliked — Being charged more than I felt the room was worth simply because of its supposed prime location.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4voyageuse
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

I spent a night at the Harold's Place Inn at the end of September and would like to recommend it to future travelers.
We were 2 couples, in the same room, inside the motel, not in the cabins. The Harold's Place Inn is located outside Panguitch, 15 mn West from the Bryce Canyon Park entrance, and minutes away from the beautiful Red Canyon. There are 2 or 3 minimarts on the way to Bryce Canyon, a couple of restaurants too. There is no need to return West to "downtown" Panguitch for last minute simple shopping before heading for Bryce.
As it was said by other travelers, it is spartan, very simple, but clean, both the room and the bathroom. 2 double beds, a chair and a corner table , a night stand, a TV and a reasonable variety of channels, an old but working A/C unit.
I wish I had taken photos, it is difficult to find pictures of this motel online.
You cannot book online, it is done either by email ou by phone. Many major booking websites do not feature that motel, which is a pity.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayre
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I was on bus trip thru southwest, when they stopped at Harolds Inn, it was clean, but there was no phones, hair dryer, or coffee makers, not even in the lobby, the air condition sits on the floor have to get on knees to adjust it...breakfast was ok it someone wanted to get on bus with full stomach, told the owner about not having coffee maker and I needed my coffee mornings, so she sold me a cup of coffee for $2.00 and told me to warm it up in the lobby microwave in the morning....which I did , but thought that was rude

  • Liked — that it was only one night
  • Disliked — no amenities and air condition in wrong place
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harold's Place Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harold's Place Inn

Address: 3066 Highway 12, PO box 311, Panguitch, UT 84759
Location: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harold's Place Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harolds Place, We are looking forward to serving you with Great Food and cozy cabins to enhance your stay in this great vacation spot. We have a great addition to our facility to provide more choice to our customers. We have purchased and remodeled a Motel next to our property and you will love to see what we have done with it, it is called Harolds Place Inn and it has thirty two rooms that we are sure will please all of our guest. Harolds Place is a family oriented business out to please the traveler. Enjoy our clean and friendly restaurant, with its rustic look, we can accommodate large and small parties. We have 20 log cabin rooms to accommodate you. From Bunks to kings our plush clean modern rooms are complete with air conditioners, and overhead fans. Along with orthopedic beds you will enjoy in-room coffee and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Harold's Place Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harold`s Place Hotel Panguitch
Harolds Place Hotel
Harolds Place Motel
Harold's Place Inn Panguitch, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harold's Place Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.