We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream but not the best ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scoops From the Past

Scoops From the Past
105 N. Main Street, Panguitch, UT 84759
1-435-676-8885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Panguitch
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Scoops from the Past and the Historic GEM Theatre offers a multi-sensory experience for customers that consists of high quality ice cream and entertaining theater events in an interactive atmosphere offering an Internet lounge and museum. All ice cream is made fresh on site, as well as waffle cones, fresh nut assortment and movie popcorn. The Historic Gem Theatre is also equipped to host a variety of special events upon request.CASH OR CHECKS ONLY PLEASE
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good ice cream but not the best ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a very good ice cream here but it was not the best ever. We did not try the rest of the menue since this is a tipical ice cream shop.

Nice 50's decoration.

There are a lot of different flavours and the price is not expensive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Adorable! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived late and everything else in Panguitch was closed but this cute ice cream place.
We had a milkshake and a tour upstairs where there's a little museum and a cinema. Both great!
If you are visiting town, don't miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I only had a single.scoop sugar cone..rhe lady was very nice and the ice cream is Thrifty..very good and super economical i think i paid $ 1.50

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Charming concept - menu needs more variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

There's not a lot to eat in Panguitch, but our hotel owner kept recommending the Historic GEM Theater. How perplexing - a theater where you eat? Apparently so. The concept is charming -
dinner and a movie in the same building - which is a historic building built in 1909. You order a meal, take it into the theater, and eat watching the movie. Each meal comes with a complimentary scoop of ice cream.

All of the decor in this restaurant is vintage 1950's as are the prices. Where can you buy a bottle of water for 50 cents? Or popcorn small - $1 and large $3. The floors are black and white checkerboard and the chairs and tables chrome right out of the 50's. This type of concept and set-up in a larger city would make a million dollars - but not here in Panguitch which is 20+ miles from Bryce National Park.

The menu needs some variety. If you are vegetarian or only eat fish - there's nothing to eat. Though they had grilled salmon over a salad when we were there. The salmon was very fishy smelling and tasting which probably means it's been frozen or sitting around a while.

Seems like this is a place locals love to frequent. Many of them came in to order a couple scoops of ice cream, sit, catch up with the owners and then leave. They have first run movies, but only one screen so you get what you get.

Overall a pleasant place though I wish the salmon didnt smell so fishy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had tried almost every restaurant in Panguitch so for lunch we decided on Scoops from the Past at the GEM Theater. The proprietor at the hotel said they had just started serving sandwiches, wraps, etc. but he hadn’t tried it. How bad can a sandwich be? It was great. I have no idea what you do to make a serviceable sandwich a great one, but Daniel, the chef, does it. We were telling him and the owner John, how good it was and lamenting how sometimes it’s hard to find simple fare on the road. Daniel said come back this evening and I’ll fix you chicken and rice and sautéed vegetables. We did and he did and it was great again. I highly recommend this place. Oh, you also get a small scoop of ice cream (made on the premises) for dessert.

The operation is still evolving. They plan to expand their menu and there is an actual movie theater there. Their intention is to serve meals while you watch but that may be a few months (or more) off. But the food was excellent and Daniel and John could not have been nicer.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoops From the Past also viewed

 

Been to Scoops From the Past? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scoops From the Past, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.