We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value with lovely owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grandma's Cottage to your Saves list
Grandma's Cottage
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   99 North 100 West, Panguitch, UT 84759   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Panguitch B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good value with lovely owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stay 4 nights in the casa azul :
- advantages : very good value, lovely owners, high reactivity and sense of service of the owners, casa azul is perfect for a family of 3 or 4, quiet house, A/C for hot summer days (nights are cool), near Bryce Canyon
- points to watch : more pans in the kitchen will be appreciated, the courtyard at the back would deserve to be more row

Room Tip: 2 rooms and 2 queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
938 reviews 938 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 352 cities Reviews in 352 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The cottage was full, so we took this place. It was very nice. Nice kitchen area [we did not use]. Bed was small, but ok. Nice living room. Bathroom is small with not much counter space at all. Location was the best part - walk to dinner and breakfast. I suspect on weekdays you would get fair amount of road traffic noise in morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Incredible. In a great sort of way.

We were due at Robber's Roost for 2 nights on our way through Bryce Canyon. We called when we got to Panguitch and were informed that there was a little bit of a mix up, and that this was EXTREMELY uncommon (like, never - the reviews here reflect that as well). Bruce came through in the biggest way, not only making sure that we were set for the night, but really, I mean, going above and beyond to make amends.

Robber's Roost was absolutely incredible. It's THE spot. Incredible scenery, stargazing, pastoral surroundings, super nice folks at the house, awesome friendly dogs, and a great cowboy feel to the whole thing, but not in a hokey sort of way, in a totally spectacular sort of way.

Bruce and Luella and their wonderful rentals were actually a highlight of our trip. Highly, highly recommended. Come see these folks, enjoy their company, enjoy the surrounding, and have a fabulous trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Bruce, the owner, seems like a lovely man and was friendly and helpful. He used to be a ranger at Mesa Verde so very knowledgeable and a good source of information. We stayed two nights and it was convenient for Bryce Canyon. Panguitch itself gives you a flavour of small town American life and so we enjoyed ourselves. Grandma's cottage is difficult to criticise as they've gone out of their way to make it comfortable for guests. I felt it was a bit cluttered with furniture but that's just a matter of taste. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable, it had facilities for making tea and coffee and heating up food if you want. It has everything you'd need for a short stay. One downside is the lack of in room Internet but we gather that it's something to do with the service providers. Had we asked we could have used his hotspot in his house. It's only the lack of wifi which downgrades the place from excellent. A minus rather than B plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in Casa Azul for 2 nights in mid-May. The cottage is lovely, very comfortable, well-appointed and clean. We felt immediately at home and really wished we could have stayed for longer. Lue and Bruce were extremely welcoming and very kind. Bryce Canyon is an easy drive from the cottage and it was nice to come 'home' at the end of a long day. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to the area and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a long over due review. We stayed at the Casa Azul cottage, during our 21day, bucket list Arizona/Utah vacation with our 2 daughters. Out of all our accommadtions, staying at Casa Azul was the best! It was immaculately clean, supplied you with everything you could want in a vacation rental, convenient, & the hosts were always available, friendly & helpful! It was nice to be in a home! My daughters loved it! The town of Panguitch is very quaint, filled with friendly, helpful residents. Thank you Luella & Bruce!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We rented 'Unwind' which is a two bedroom house with a full kitchen and very nice living room. It also has a washer and dryer which you get to use without paying extra. It was so nice to be able to clean our clothes after 4 days of hiking in the parks.
We loved being able to cook our own meals.
The drive to Bryce takes about 25-30 minutes. Kodachrome Basin is about a 45 minute drive.
The owner, Bruce, came by and chatted with us. He's a very interesting guy and talking with him certainly made our stay more enjoyable. I can't recommend this place enough. You'll love it.

Room Tip: When you ask about reservations tell Bruce or Lue how many people you have and let them pick the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandma's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandma's Cottage

Address: 99 North 100 West, Panguitch, UT 84759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandma's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandma's Cottages is owned and operated by Lue and Bruce McMahan of Panguitch Utah. Lue and Bruce do everything they can to make visitors feel welcome and happy to be on vacation. Grandma's Cottages are Cozy, Clean and Comfortable getaway retreats located in the charming city of Panguitch. There are several different cottages and an apartment to meet your needs. When you stay with us you will be centrally located for access to many of southern Utah's picturesque parks, lakes and attractions. Southern Utah is the most concentrated area of natural scenic wonders, and something everyone needs to see in their lifetime. Grandma's Cottages is open from April to October. We provide breakfast items for each accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grandma's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandma's Cottage Panguitch, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.