We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grandma's Cottage to your Saves list
Grandma's Cottage
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   99 North 100 West, Panguitch, UT 84759   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Panguitch B&B and Inns
Dyer, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I were recently on a motorcycle trip through northern Arizona and southern Utah.
After spending the day in Zion Canyon and Bryce Canyon we were made to feel so VERY
WELCOME to Casa Azul, one of the properties of Bruce and Lue, owners of Grandma's
Cottages. We arrived just ahead of a thunderstorm and Lue encouraged me to park my
Harley on the front porch, out of the weather, a HUGE plus for bikers!
Don't be misled by the average appearance of this house, it was newly furnished and spotless
on the inside! We had the pleasure of meeting both Bruce and Lue after our check in when
they returned with fruit and some delicious muffins!
The house was perfect for us, allowing us to catch up on laundry, it was just like being at home!
They were perfect hosts and we could not have been more pleased, we also enjoyed the
town of Panguitch, they recommended a great steakhouse for dinner, which was excellent as
well!
Thanks Bruce and Lue for a wonderful visit, we look forward to seeing you again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
youngstown OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a great discovery!!!! Such great attention to decorating detail, spotlessly clean!!! A fruit basket and delicious muffins when we arrived. Bruce and Lue are AWESOME. We even booked an additional night. Great little town. You can even visit the homestead of Butch Cassidy. We had a wonderful time in Panguitch and the close-by Bryce attraction. This couple runs a class-act operation! You'll be happy you booked one of their properties!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent three wonderful days in Panguitch in July, en route from Denver to Las Vegas - couldn't have picked a better place. The three-bedroom cottage was as quirky as it was comfortable. Absolutely spotless and extremely well equipped (appreciated the washer and dryer in particular), in a quiet residential area - yet an easy walk from "downtown", supermarket, library etc. The fun chats with our wonderful hosts on life as such were the icing on the cake. Grandma's Cottage is great value for the money, and IMO makes a much better homebase to explore Bryce or Zion than the lodging "clusters" sitting right at the entrance of the parks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were travelling around the States for a month and this was a really lovely find and a comfy stay. Bruce was most helpful and friendly and it did feel like home from home. A great location to visit Bryce. Panguitch is a great little town to visit and everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Definitely worth staying here if you are visiting Bryce.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in Robber's Roost for two nights, it was an awesome place!!! It is 30 min away from Bryce, located at a quiet countryside location. There is Sevier river nearby. You can hold a cup of coffee, sit on the little patio, and enjoy the sunset.

The house has a full size kitchen with cookware, very neat. If you want a place completely different from the city scene, avoid hotels and come here. Especially consider that you pay the same price for a little hotel room!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were delighted with our cottage (Unwind at Rewind) and found our hosts to be very helpful and friendly, including providing recommendations for places to eat. We stayed four nights and it was wonderful to have so much comfortable space to relax (two bedrooms, a kitchen and a living room, plus a bathroom with shower), a fully equipped kitchen to cook some of our meals, and a washer/dryer right in the cottage. The price was excellent - you get so much more than a hotel room and at a lower price -and we enjoyed being a short (25 minute drive) from the hustle and bustle of the Bryce Canyon tourism activity. We would stay here again and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at Grandma's Cottage for 1 night and we were amazed by the hospitality of Lue and Bruce. The breakfast alone is worth coming back for! Our room (Grandma's Cottage) was very clean and comfortable with all the amenities you need and great attention to the detail. There is even a small skylight above the bed. The mattress was quite firm and it definatelly helped my back pain. The location is just great if you're visiting the National Parks. Overall it felt like home and it was a great experience. I would definately recommend staying there if you're in the area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandma's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandma's Cottage

Address: 99 North 100 West, Panguitch, UT 84759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandma's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandma's Cottages is owned and operated by Lue and Bruce McMahan of Panguitch Utah. Lue and Bruce do everything they can to make visitors feel welcome and happy to be on vacation. Grandma's Cottages are Cozy, Clean and Comfortable getaway retreats located in the charming city of Panguitch. There are several different cottages and an apartment to meet your needs. When you stay with us you will be centrally located for access to many of southern Utah's picturesque parks, lakes and attractions. Southern Utah is the most concentrated area of natural scenic wonders, and something everyone needs to see in their lifetime. Grandma's Cottages is open from April to October. We provide breakfast items for each accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grandma's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandma's Cottage Panguitch, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.