We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful....hospitality, accommodation, location - perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottonwood Meadow Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panguitch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottonwood Meadow Lodge
Save
You added Cottonwood Meadow Lodge to your Saves list
Highway 89 MM 123, PO Box 41, Panguitch, UT 84759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful....hospitality, accommodation, location - perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The owners, Jan & Jerry made us feel welcome before we even arrived & on a chilly evening (there had a been a thunderstorm that day), we arrived quite late and were greeted with the sight of a roaring campfire and other guests enjoying the evening with Jan & Jerry. Jan made sure we had some wine for that evening (we did) & Jerry quickly & without any fuss got us into our accommodation. We stayed in the Barn & it was perfect. Everything was spotless. The beds & seats were comfy - there was everything you needed in the kitchen & we cooked every night we were there. The bathroom was lovely & lots of thick fluffy towels. The upstairs bedroom was like a little den & our 8 year old daughter loved to play up there. You can even get WiFi on the lawn (if you feel the need to, which you probably won't)! Jesse & the kittens provided our entertainment in the afternoon - it was lovely to watch my daughter, also a Jessie, play with Jesse as she is notoriously scared of dogs. We sat around the campfire at night & were made to feel very welcome. Jan made Jessie S'mores (a first for my daughter) & Jerry found some sparklers for her to play with. It was lovely to site & watch the clear starry sky & we even witnessed the Milky Way. The 360 degree views are awesome & other than the properties at Cottonwood Meadow & a couple of neighbours you can see nothing else other than mountains & meadows. It was so peaceful at night you could hear nothing other than the occasional distant cry of coyotes. We loved eating the best free range eggs ever & the hens will gladly come & clear up your crumbs from your porch! The cookies were delicious & it became a routine for the rest of our holiday to take some of Jan's cookies out with our picnic for the day. The location was excellent as although you are in the middle of nowhere, it is only a short drive to Red Canyon & Bryce where there are lots of trails etc. We walked up to a little waterfall one day & paddled in the refreshing water & there was no need to pay an entrance fee as it isn't in the park boundaries. We also walked down into the canyon, taking the Queens Garden Trail option & walked back via the most amazing Wall Street. Panguitch, a really cute little town, is a short drive away & there is a small supermarket that has everything you need & the Liquor Store is just over the street from there aswell. I would urge anyone thinking of staying to book here - much better than the very commercialised Rubys up the road, but make sure you book in advance as a number of people were turned away while we were there as all accommodations were full. Our only complaint about Cottonwood Meadow is that we had to leave!! Jan & Jerry - thanks so much for a wonderful stay & for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Paradise in never easy to find but don't give up... it's worth it !
A lodge not like others that you will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My wife, 2 teens and I spent 3 wonderful days/nights at CML in mid-August 2010. We had stayed at Ruby's Inn during our last visit to the Bryce Canyon area in 2007, and found that to be garish, noisy and not at all in keeping with the serenity and wonder of Bryce Canyon. So, this time we booked something a little different, and reserved 'the Barn' at CML. The accommodation comes with all mod-cons, including satellite TV (very important for teenage daughter), comfortable living area and well-equipped kitchen. The whole property is a tranquil oasis, and I don't need to mention how sweet the resident animals are (as everyone else mentions that already!).
My teenage kids and I had a great time watching the Perseid meteor shower on the deck chairs provided by CML. I don;t think I've ever seen a starrier/clearer sky - so that was a real treat.
Situated within 20 miles or so of the entrance to Bryce, part of which takes you through the amazing Red Canyon (which I was more than happy to drive there and back through several times), CML is really well located (also within easy reach of Cedar Breaks Nat'l Park and others).
The owners Jan and Jerry were like old friends immediately, and couldn't have been any nicer.
So yes - do yourself a favour - stay clear of the touristy accommodation at the entrance to Bryce and book one of the lodgings at CML !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ogden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Fabulous accomodations! Beautifully decorated. Extraordinary kitchen. Splendid star gazing. Adorable staff. Cozy, comfortable and charming farm house.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We certainly look forward to returning to Cottonwood Meadows in the near future. Our stay there in mid-July was everything we had expected and hoped it to be. We appreciated the cleanliness of our accommodations, the friendliness of Jan and Jerry and the animals, the suggestions we received—drive up to Deer Creek, visit Mammoth Cave, see Cedar Breaks National Monument, dine at Adobe Restaurant—the good company of the other guests, and the location right off Highway 89.

Located between Zion and Bryce National Parks, though much closer to Bryce, this is a smart alternative to other motel/hotel options. We actually found it to be a more economical choice compared to other accommodations in the area, especially with the kitchen included. Just be aware that the nearest grocery store is in Panguich (nine miles away), and most all stores in this region are closed on Sundays.

Cottonwood Meadows offers a comfortable way to enjoy the outdoors. We found it to be an ideal setting for families and couples alike, with plenty of open grassy space for encouraging kids to run and tumble, for gazing at stars and planets late into the night, for roasting marshmallows around a campfire, for shooting some most impressive photographs. Although the farmhouse had TVs in all three bedrooms, no one turned any of them on during our four-day stay. Our family photos show us playing fetch at the pond with dog Jesse, watching the variety of birds, petting the horses, feeding the chickens, and laughing at the kittens’ antics.

And everyone in our family agreed that photos featured on the Cottonwood Meadows website (even that of the outhouse) do indeed convey the qualities of the property quite accurately.

Guest books in the cabins we visited are filled with glowing comments from visitors from throughout the world who enjoyed Cottonwood Meadows as much as we did. And nearly all were addressed to “Jan, Jerry, and Jesse”. We would not hesitate to recommend Cottonwood Meadows to anyone, and we have, in fact, already recommended it to several friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California. USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Left busy, over crowded Southern California, a place full of goofballs and kids addicted to PS3 and Wii games and complaining about nothing. Arrived at Cottonwood Meadow Lodge, actually played games with my kids (outside), went fishing, hiking, ATV rides, veg'ed and smoke'd my wife at horseshoes! My kids were on the go the whole vacation and I even had some "special" time with my wife... woo woo! Jerry and Jan are the best hosts, what nice people.

If you are a family with too much going on and want to wind down and enjoy each other again, do yourselves a favor and book a three night stay at this place.

JHG

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the log cabin for two nights in June, 2010. Our stay at Cottonwood was one of the top highlights of our entire two-week vacation in Utah.

The property on which Cottonwood is located is wonderful. The property is remote (wonderful for stargazing), the scenery is wonderful, and the atmosphere is very peaceful. We spent an entire evening on the front porch of the log cabin just watching the horses, playing with the inn dog Jesse (best inn dog ever!), and watching the stream that runs through the front of the property. It was a delight to sit and be still and enjoy an evening with your wife!

Our accommodations were very clean and nicely decorated. (My wife even noticed details such as high thread count sheets and embroidered pillows.) The innkeepers are wonderful, welcoming, and friendly. They treated us to some fresh cookies, which were a treat. (Incidentally, this is not a bed and breakfast. Breakfast is not served. So I guess it would have to be called a "bed and cookie." haha) We also enjoyed going to the chicken coop, taking a few eggs (the innkeepers had extended that offer), and preparing some scrambled eggs in our kitchenette that morning. Not something that we city folk get to do very often, so we thought that was fun.

Regarding the location and its vicinity to Bryce National Park...the lodge is convenient to Bryce. It might be a 15-20 minute drive to the entrance, and some hotels are located closer to the park's entrance, but my wife and I are willing to stay an extra 10 minutes away to have such a wonderful lodge in which to stay.

I would highly recommend this property to anybody. Especially for a romantic getaway, but also to families or groups of friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottonwood Meadow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Meadow Lodge

Address: Highway 89 MM 123, PO Box 41, Panguitch, UT 84759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to it all in Southern Utah! Designed for families, thrill seekers, corporate retreats, or romantic getaways, Cottonwood Meadow Lodge hosts four unique living quarters: The Farmhouse, The Log Cabin, The Barn, and the Bunkhouse. Each unit comes adorned with antique, cushy furniture, deluxe gas barbeques, wireless Internet, and authentic pioneer fencing. At Cottonwood Meadow Lodge you're free to hike, bike, fish or just relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottonwood Meadow Lodge Panguitch, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottonwood Meadow Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.