We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food--FAST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Azteca Mexican Taco Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Azteca Mexican Taco Shop
78 S State St, Orem, UT 84058-5418
801-225-7773
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 193 Restaurants in Orem
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food--FAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is run by the same people that used to have El Azteca by BYU. The food is great and quick. They even have a drive through. We like to stop there when we are in a hurry.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“just nasty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have really liked chili rellenos in the past, but I may not be able to order this dish again after the one I got here. I am sure that I am permanently put off them for a long time. The dish served with beans and rice was just wrong. very soggy and sloppily served. I should have ordered the fish tocas that my wife had, but there again the the food was sloppy and falling apart as she ate. won't be back of course

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality, good tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Not every restaurant has the menu items you wll find here. I have eaten almost everything they serve. Mole made from scratch, like everrything else is wonderful. I love the items from their salsa bar. They can do mild to spicy. The salads and greens are always fresh. If you want to experience fresh made mexican food from scratch, then this is the place to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“here eat this mess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Everything served here seems like it was all smashed together. Weird stringy meats and limpid shredded lettuce.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Food in Utah Valley - Great Salsa Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I've been going here for years, including the old restaurant before it closed down. The finest mexican food around. Everything is made fresh. Their refried beans are the best I have ever had - in Utah or out. They are made fresh daily. Shredded chicken dishes are incredible, as are their shredded beef. Some favorites - tacos - come in 2 fried hard shells, taco salad, tostada, carne asada platter, carne asada burrito, bean and cheese burrito smothered in green sauce (with pork). Try the bean soup - it's delicious. This was the first Mexican food restaurant chain in Utah Valley and the only one for a long time. This local family knows how to cook. Get to know them - they are also wonderful people. Salsa bar is one of the highlights! They have several items at the self-serve salsa bar - great traditional salsas and several other styles. Chips and salsa is very good. If you want the best Mexican food around, try this out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca Mexican Taco Shop also viewed

Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 

Been to El Azteca Mexican Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Azteca Mexican Taco Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.