We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want home cooking that your mother NEVER made come here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Cafe

Joe's Cafe
1126 South State Street, Orem, UT 84097
(801) 607-5377
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 194 Restaurants in Orem
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“If you want home cooking that your mother NEVER made come here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food! Try the biscuits and gravy, unique and delicious. The grits alone are a religious experience. Bacon is the best I have had in the state, and some of the best ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Point, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Utah County!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at Joe's for 2 years now. Great food! Great service! Joe is very personable and takes care of his customers. He makes recommendations and if what you want isn't on the menu he will make it for you. Everything is cooked fresh and served hot. The quality is exceptional and portion size is perfect. If you have the time make Joe's your stop for breakfast or lunch and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I am from the SLC, however when i am in Orem Joe's Cafe is where i am throwing down (eating) weather it is breakfast or Lunch. from the moment of waliking through that door the greeting /welcome is amazing i can feel and see they are glad to see and serve me., the ombiance of the restaurants is enertegetic, and happy the aroma reminds me of some good down south cooking, The food fresh the flavor tasty so good, The bones of the pork chops, yes i said the bones my goodness amazing, the amount of food is more than fair for the price $$. The owner cooking yet still made time to come our table to see how we were doing, For a small restaurant the bigger restaurants could take a page from Joe's Cafe in food flavor and hospitality.

Jay Molock

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Good down home Southern Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I never liked grits til I had Joe's. My goodness, he makes everything taste good! All made fresh from scratch, great breakfasts. If you like biscuits and gravy, Joe is the Man! Love his burger, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is a greasy spoon to be avoided at all costs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I went in for breakfast this morning and was served the worst food I have ever seen. The omelet looked like a mix of burned shredded potatoes, onions, undercooked bacon and scrambled eggs. It didn't even look like an omelet. The pancakes were greasy and burned around the edges and served cold. The hash browns were burned black and tasted bad. There was a lot of food but I could only eat a small portion of it until I just couldn't eat another bite. I have been sick to the stomach all day long day since trying to eat the food served. It was the first and the last time I will ever go to this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Cafe also viewed

Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Joe's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.