We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who is not to Love Cafe Rio????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
139 North State, Orem, UT 84057
(801) 822-5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 193 Restaurants in Orem
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Who is not to Love Cafe Rio????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

While I would not exactly classify Cafe Rio as Mexican food, I would classify it as DELICIOUS! The every day specials are hard to pass up and the pulled pork salad is to die for. There isn't a thing on the menu that isn't delicious. Such tasty beans - yum. The service is fast - set up like a ride at Disneyland - and the servers are efficient, fast, and so nice. Love Cafe Rio!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food's good, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I think everyone likes Cafe Rio food, and we are not exceptions, but the place and the system are far too hectic. A customer shouldn't have to feel pressured and intimidated by the process of getting his food ordered and prepared. It is difficult, at best, to communicate with the food handlers and preparers on the other side of a very high plexiglas counter with all the noise and urgenc pace of the place and the sometimes labored English of the folks taking and preparing the orders. Sometimes the orders are mixed up, and one time I had to wait 15 minutes or more for more chicken to be grilled for my order. --And no apologies are given when screwups occur. I contacted the place's complaint number afterwards but got no response.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite date night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We love Cafe Rio! Our favorite thing to do is get takeout and eat it with a movie at home. They do a good job accommodating my gluten free needs.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants! 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We absolutely love Cafe Rio. My husband always gets the award-winning Pork Barbocoa salad and I love the fideos (Friday only special in Orem), grilled chicken salad, and coconut shrimp tacos. We always go to Orem so I can get Stevia-sweetened sugarfree Strawberry Lemonade--my favorite! Yummy, fresh, and delicious. Watch out for the famous green tomatillo dressing--you'll be addicted soon. :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the Best Managed and Highest Quality Cafe Rio Restaurants Around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

In direct contrast to the poorly managed Cafe Rio in Cedar City, this location in Orem, Utah is top notch! The managers are energetic and friendly every time we have gone in the place. They act like they actually love serving you fresh, great-tasting Mexican food, in huge portions, with a smile and great conversation. They keep the place clean and the employees happy, which translates into a great dining experience all the way around. Sure, you can pick up some Taco Bell, or some other junk Mexican food, but when you are ready to take your taste buds to the next level, drop in on the magical Mexican food performances going on at the Orem, Utah Cafe Rio! From the artisans who orchestrate the grilling of the fresh tortillas on the large, hot carousel until they are golden brown, to the way the manager himself performed like an exquisite knife juggler slicing up the fire-grilled steak for my favorite quesadilla, they demonstrate they are committed to high quality and customer satisfaction at this location. I go out of my way to eat here whenever I am in town... And you can grab a good price on a lathe at the Harbor Freight next door!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.