We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel - room looked like a home office” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 West University Parkway, Orem, UT 84058   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Orem
Iselin, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel - room looked like a home office”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

The La Quinta Inn in Orem was an excellent hotel. The room was unbelievable. The hotel appeared to be newly built and had contemporary decorations, and the room looked like a home office.

It was a very large room, approximately 20' x 20' with a very comfortable king bed. I was too exhausted to look carefully, but I think one of the bed spreads or blankets felt like thin suede or chamois. Along the far wall was a desk that ran from the left wall to the right wall with something similar to an Aero office chair and a modern table lamp. At the right end of the desk was a 32 inch LCD TV that faced the bed. At the same end of the desk was an internet router that provided hard-wired internet service. The hotel even provided an ethernet cable. The room was well lit with many contemporary style lamps.

The bathroom was medium sized but still had all modern conveniences. In addition to the ceiling lights it also had a makeup light around the mirror.

The built in wall heater/AC that is common to most hotels and motels was conveniently wired to a digital thermostat on the wall, so the room temperature could be set exactly.

The room had all of the modern amenities commonly found in more upscale hotels like Marriotts and Sheratons, such as coffee maker, iron, microwave, refrigerator, etc. All of these were elegantly hidden inside cabinets.

The included breakfast was in the spacious front lobby. It was a full self-serve breakfast that included waffles, eggs, toast, bagels, cereals, fruits, juices, and coffee.

Some of the rooms had views of Utah Lake.

For us, this was a nice way to relax from an exahausting vacation in Yellowstone before catching our flight home.

  • Liked — large room, comfortable bed, clean, and modern
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    64
    39
    18
    21
See reviews for
102
40
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We have just returned from our vacation in Wyoming/Utah and we spent our last night at this hotel. It is new and has a very bright, modern exterior and a very beautiful and spacious, white interior (lobby). It is just a mile away from the Utah lake and the lake view is available from some of the rooms. Unfortunately, we got there late night and didn't get a chance to enjoy the view or the lake.

It is located right off of the I-15 highway, and has a lot of fast-food/restaurants near by, even to get a late bite. Also, it was not noisy at all (in case you are wondering if the main road traffic noise bothered us).

The Provo city and some of the attrcations like the Utah lake, Thanksgiving point and Mt. Timpanogos are just miles away.

The room was nice, clean, bright and contemporary, and had a wall-to-wall desk (like an office) on one side. The room also had a flat panel tv and high-speed internet access- though not wireless access (which was a bit strange for its modern look). Had a microwave and a small refridgerator in the room and the bathroom was spacious. The bed was comfortable as well.

This place also served a decent breakfast in the mornings (yogurt/toast/cereal/waffels/fruit/coffee & juices).

This place also has a swimming pool, though we didn't get a chance to use it. This property is also pet-friendly.

The only small disappointment was the wrong automated message on the hotel messaging service when you select the directions options. The message is incorrect and it sends you to another La Quinta location which is located 3 exits away. At 10pm, we were a bit annoyed having to drive down to a wrong location, but fortunately the right location was just 5 minutes away.

Conveniently located.....Overall a very decent place, we loved our stay at this La Quinta propery and would recommend it to travellers of all ages , singles and families.

  • Liked — Comfortable king-size bed, contemporary look
  • Disliked — wired highspeed internet access (no wireless access)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

I have family in Orem/Provo and have stayed at several of the area Inns and hotels over the past few years. This was far above and beyond what the others offer nearby. The room was very clean and well-decorated so imagine my suprise when I saw that the rooms are being upgraded over the summer. The continental breakfast was adequate, nothing special but a clean area provided to start you day off. Choices included the usual fare and occasional hot dish such as biscuits and gravy or breakfast burittos. The hotel sits on a terrace and the pool area is quite lovely and private with a gazebo and covered tables in the courtyard. The pool area is open at one end but has a roof with many skylights to protect you from Utah's blazing summer sun. The pool/hot tub area was clean and attended to daily. The staff was polite and seemed genuinely to care about their jobs and their clients well-being. When returning for my next trip, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean!
  • Disliked — price a bit steep
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2007

The hotel is ok and they are buying new furniture. The only but was that during the nigth some people start a 'joke': shoot eggs to the windows. I hope this was a exception situation.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

My wife and I stayed here twice on our road trip because it is so convenient from the highway. The room was spacious and clean, staff courteous, but...
-A/C was off when arrived and did not work well enough to cool the room; changed rooms, none worked any better.
-elevator is dark enough to be scarey
-gap in middle opening bathroom door left no privacy
-did not accept AAA for discount at second stay
There are many other lodgings nearby; there must be a better choice.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orem hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

As far as cleanliness this hotel definitely passed my high standards although the carpet in front of the door as you walk into the room needed shampooed badly. The room was showing a little wear here and there but overall it was clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet for sleeping. The elevator was very dark and not very welcoming. One problem I feel I should mention is if the desk clerk can not find your business name listed in the "La Quinta national register website" they aren't even flexible enough to override the system and have your business name put on your Hotel bill. This is very inconvenient for tax purposes. Otherwise our experience with this hotel was ok!!

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway

Address: 521 West University Parkway, Orem, UT 84058
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Orem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Orem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway Hotel Orem
La Quinta Inn And Suites Orem University Parkway
La Quinta Orem
Orem La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.