We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 West University Parkway, Orem, UT 84058   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Orem
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    64
    39
    18
    21
See reviews for
102
40
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lindale, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Despite the helpful front desk staff and great location this hotel was a disappointment. After several prior pleasant stays over the last few years, this time around the public areas of the hotel were untidy (needed vacuuming, clean up), etc., and the mattress on the bed in the room had (a) dead bug(s). I won't return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This property is a little awkward to get into in the dark unless you are familiar with it. Garmin tells you to turn at a light and then you have to make your way through several parking lots to get to the hotel.There is a small unmarked road a block before the light on University Parkway where mapquest/google/garmin tells you to turn. If you know about the unmarked roadway it is a direct road to the hotel.
Hotel is clean and neat, staff are efficient and friendly. Room selection can make all the difference in whether you will have a view or not. Even number rooms are the view side but our room, on the second floor happened to have a big tree right in front of it blocking our view. Elevators/stairs are located at either end of this rather long property so avoid rooms in the middle of the hotel, rooms that end in 10-24 on the view side are the less desirable middle rooms.

Room itself was fine size and cleanliness wise. Hallway noise could be loud at times. Bathroom didn't have an effective exhaust fan so if you closed the doors the room got all steamed up. No extras in the bath, just soap and shampoo. A small amouunt of mould in the corner of the tub.

Couldn't get room cool enough for sleeping, even though I turned the temp down to 60. it would pump cool air for awhile then shutoff. With the thermostat right on the unit it cools down very quickly but the rest of the room is still warm. No continuous fan mode so it kept coming on and off through the night.

Grounds were nice and clean with some grassy areas for the dogs.

Excellent shopping and restraunts within half a mile.

Breakfast area was nice, clean and standard LQ fare.
Well tended to.

For the price paid it was a great value and I would choose it above the other LQ that is a few miles north.

Room Tip: Choose a room at either end of the hotel on the west side of the hotel for nice views of the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice return for my money. My boys loved the pool, and the breakfast. I liked the room and the proximity to the stadium. Very good service. I would highly recommend this location. It is very close to I-15, and plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

No room service
Has an indoor pool and hot tub. Hot tub was heated and full, but jets weren't working.
Free breakfast
Free Internet
Make sure you request a room with microwave and fridge since not all rooms have them
My bed was terribly soft....

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with microwave and fridge since not all rooms have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed at many LQ's before and this one was pretty good as well. Fairly clean and very quiet. The room layout was very big and had a few strange things like a counter that was the full width of the room as well as "french doors" for the bathroom, not a negative, just kinda different. However the bed was very comfy. Don't be fooled by the "plug and play" tv, if you don't have cables with you it won't work, I had cables (every imaginable cable for hooking up a laptop) and it wouldn't work - no HDMI hookup on the tv in our room which is kinda strange for new tv's these days. Oh well, we weren't there to watch tv anyway. We would stay here again. There were a couple of cleaning issues with our room but we found them after we had unpacked everything (we don't travel light) so we couldn't be bothered to move. The front desk staff was very helpful and was more than happy to try and move us.

Room Tip: If you are allergic to cats or dogs, ask for a non-ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway

Address: 521 West University Parkway, Orem, UT 84058
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Orem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Orem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway Hotel Orem
La Quinta Inn And Suites Orem University Parkway
La Quinta Orem
Orem La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Orem University Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.