We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock Stop

The Rock Stop
385 W State Street, Orderville, UT 84758
435-648-2747
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Shopping in Orderville
Attraction details
Bonn
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“This place rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

While touring the Southwest I had a permanent twitching in my fingers to collect some rocks. But since most of the places we went to were parks, I resisted the temptation. So when the Rock Stop appeared on the road ahead of us, I could not resist anymore and we stopped for some rock shopping, a nice chat and a very good cappucino. The owner gave some good advice regarding the rocks, pointing out examples of local rocks from formations that we had been seeing during our trip. So I really got what I wanted...if only we had had a (much) greater baggage allowance...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A fun place full of cool stuff..including Mickey. She alone was worth the stop. We drove away with several great geodes, espresso and a lot of good conversation. You should make a stop when driving buy. Tell her that photographer guy sent you!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Actual Espresso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed right down the street from The Rock Stop, and our attempts to find a cup of actual espresso or a latte with foamed milk and without gaudy heaps of cinnamon were repeatedly and blatantly unsuccessful until we found this place. The coffee was delicious, and the atmosphere friendly and comfortable; lounging in a courtyard surrounded by various minerals and colored glass is surprisingly nice. There are indeed many rock shops in the area (four just within Orderville that we found), and the selection of the rocks themselves may not even be the best, but this establishment overall certainly is.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We Got Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Rock Stop was pretty much right down the street from where we were staying near Zion. The guy who owns it was very knowledgeable about rocks and minerals. He had a huge selection of geodes, polished, fossilized and jewelry along with petrified wood and some figurines. It was an interesting place and we bought some geodes. A friend made me a necklace from one we bought there. It's cool to stop to see the rocks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“#1 Roadside Attraction in Utah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Do not miss this stop on you way between Zion and Bryce National Parks. This is a one-of-a-kind first order roadside attraction. Used to house dinosaur models. Get your soft serve ice cream and expresso here. Put a stick pin in the map and join passersby from all over the world!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Stop also viewed

Orderville, UT
Zion National Park, UT

Been to The Rock Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.