We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock Stop

The Rock Stop
385 W State Street, Orderville, UT 84758
435-648-2747
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Orderville
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A fun place full of cool stuff..including Mickey. She alone was worth the stop. We drove away with several great geodes, espresso and a lot of good conversation. You should make a stop when driving buy. Tell her that photographer guy sent you!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Actual Espresso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed right down the street from The Rock Stop, and our attempts to find a cup of actual espresso or a latte with foamed milk and without gaudy heaps of cinnamon were repeatedly and blatantly unsuccessful until we found this place. The coffee was delicious, and the atmosphere friendly and comfortable; lounging in a courtyard surrounded by various minerals and colored glass is surprisingly nice. There are indeed many rock shops in the area (four just within Orderville that we found), and the selection of the rocks themselves may not even be the best, but this establishment overall certainly is.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We Got Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Rock Stop was pretty much right down the street from where we were staying near Zion. The guy who owns it was very knowledgeable about rocks and minerals. He had a huge selection of geodes, polished, fossilized and jewelry along with petrified wood and some figurines. It was an interesting place and we bought some geodes. A friend made me a necklace from one we bought there. It's cool to stop to see the rocks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“#1 Roadside Attraction in Utah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Do not miss this stop on you way between Zion and Bryce National Parks. This is a one-of-a-kind first order roadside attraction. Used to house dinosaur models. Get your soft serve ice cream and expresso here. Put a stick pin in the map and join passersby from all over the world!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stop...for rocks and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Rock shops are everywhere in Utah - but shops with friendly owners like Don Davis and good old fashioned customer service are a bit harder to come by. We were driving through the area travelling from Bryce to Zion. I knew there were construction delays on the Zion Mt. Carmel Highway, so I figured we better make a rest stop while we could. I saw that the Rock Stop not only sold the usual selection of rocks and fossils, but also had snacks, ice cream, and (maybe most importantly) restrooms. We ended up spending an hour in the store talking with Mr. Davis (the Virginia earthquake had just happened and he was kind enough to look up info on the 'net for us).

If you're travelling through the area between Bryce and Zion, be sure to stop in and say 'hi' to the Rock Stop's owners!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Stop also viewed

Orderville, UT

Been to The Rock Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.