We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Ogden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Ogden to your Saves list
Courtyard Ogden
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   247 24th Street, Ogden, UT 84401 (Formerly Summit Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for business and it looks likely they are finishing up a renovation. The rooms are great, bar is good, but it looks like there is some more construction going on outside. Would be a 5 but construction

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_E_Guzman, General Manager at Courtyard Ogden, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jidegan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you like our new rooms and the Bistro at the hotel.

We are in the process of finishing up with the exterior portion of our hotel renovation and we can't wait for the beautiful outdoor courtyard we will have once we're finished.

I look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to Ogden.

Kind Regards,

Ezequiel Guzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thanks to Hotels.com, I had a free night available for booking up to more than $400 in value, and so I chose the most expensive hotel and most expensive room in Ogden, UT: The Courtyard (at a room price of $168.00).

Apparently, a $10m refurbishment project has been completed - but not entirely as the large field of building rubble and debris inside the fenced off area to the right of the hotel suggests. It rather looks as if a major explosion took down part of the hotel.....

Apart from that, there remains ample parking, and the reception staff is friendly and helpful (although it does seem to take a rather long time to process an existing reservation). The decor in the reception area (which is very spacious) is what I would describe as "neo Russian" - i.e. it likes any identifiable style.

After a lengthy walk to the elevators, one is whisked up to the room, which seemed to have an average size (not too small, but not really on the large side either), which includes a very comfortable bed, a desk area, a fridge and microwave, as well as a seating area. The bathroom is well equipped and has a large and pleasant shower area.

A real downer is the breakfast - nothing free here or included. There is a Starbucks outlet where you can buy coffee ("we only have mild this morning" - really????) and some suspicious looking snacks.

I am not sure what went through the architect's and/or interior designer's mind when the decor or layout was decided on - was the theme "let's make sure that guests don't get too comfy here"? Even hyper-modern Scandinavian hotels have more atmosphere than the Courtyard.

If this is the best that Ogden can offer, then I will need to consider looking for places in Salt Lake to stay in future (about 45 miles from the airport).

Hey, some good news: the free Wifi was working well (even without the cheeky offer of a faster paid for version).

Room Tip: Try for a room to the front - the bar activities to the rea of the hotel can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_E_Guzman, General Manager at Courtyard Ogden, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear HarryAnnie,

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel.

As you mentioned in your review, our hotel has recently gone through an extensive renovation of all rooms and lobby area and we are very proud of our new hotel. As the final part of our $10 million renovation, we have demolished the two story wing of the hotel. This area is being quickly cleaned up and it will be replaced by a beautiful outdoor courtyard and additional parking.

I'm sorry the new Courtyard decor was not to your liking. In my years with Marriott I have come to the conclusion that everyone has a different opinion when it comes to hotel decor and it's almost impossible to please everyone.

I don't know why you were only offered Mild coffee at our Starbucks outlet as we offer a wide variety of Starbucks drinks, but I have shared your feedback with the restaurant manager to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

I hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Ogden and our exterior improvements are completed.

Kind Regards,

Ezequiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am a loyal Marriott guest who found this Courtyard to not be up to Marriott standards. I stayed here years ago when it was a full service Marriott and before the remodel. (loved it then) When we first checked in I thought I was going to love this place. Clean. Newly remodeled. What isn't to like? But it didn't take long to loose that warm fuzzy feeling. The fan on the heater was on all the time. The only way to get it to shut off was to turn the heat off. The TV reception on the non HD channels was so bad they weren't watchable. It was either HD, or nothing. The lights in the bathroom were bare lightbulbs!!! No cases. No covers. Really!!! I asked the front desk if that was the norm and her response was "I don't know, I have never been in a room." The last straw was the lack of customer service. As a platinum that spends over 100 nights a year at Marriotts, they ignored all of my profile request and stuck me in a handicap room on a middle floor. They were not accommodating at all. I ran out of toothpaste and instead of having those tiny "get me one more brush" bottles that every hotel in America give out for free...they only sold toothpaste for $3 for a tiny bottle.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_E_Guzman, General Manager at Courtyard Ogden, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Cubfaninco,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We take matters such as this very seriously. One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. Your feedback regarding the service our team provided caught my attention.I am very sorry to learn that the quality of service provided by our staff did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team in an effort to improve our service moving forward.

Thank you for being a valued Marriott Rewards platinum member and for the loyalty you continually show to our brand.

We hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Ogden.

Sincerely,

Ezequiel Guzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The good: The bed was pretty comfortable. The room was clean for the most part. Microwave and fridge were nice touches. Elevator is super fast!

The bad:
The room smelled weird upon arrival. As I was taking a shower, I noticed used soap, shampoo, and conditioner from the previous guest still in the shower. The AC doesn't cool, so the room was pretty warm (around 75). Had to open the window to cool the room. Bed was pretty firm, but sufficiently comfortable.

Maybe I just had some bad luck.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

A/C is regulated and does not cool the room. I stayed in two rooms... both had the same problem.

The shower handle in one room was too heavy to stay in one place. As a result the shower got too hot and stayed too hot. I had to move rooms because of this at 11 p.m. They said they had to move me to a different floor because there were no other rooms available. I stayed on Thursday night and their parking lot was practically empty. I won't be back. Hilton Garden Inn next time.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_E_Guzman, General Manager at Courtyard Ogden, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Dear Courtney P.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I apologize that your recent stay at our hotel was less than favorable. We have just finished a $10M renovation of the building and we are working out a few construction issues.

Your input is appreciated as it will help us make sure that future guests will not have to deal with some of the same issues.

We are very proud to bring the Marriott name back to Ogden and we look forward to providing all of our guests with the great experiences they expect from a Marriott hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Ogden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ogden

Address: 247 24th Street, Ogden, UT 84401 (Formerly Summit Hotel & Conference Center)
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Ogden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is located in the heart of Ogden, which has become a destination for outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy skiing/snowboarding at one of three winter resorts located less than 30 minutes away: Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, or Wolf Creek. During spring, summer and fall guests enjoy hiking and biking on mountain trails; or boating and fishing at Pineview Reservoir. The Courtyard by Marriott is adjacent to Historic 25th Street. We are minutes from Hill Air Force Base, Lagoon, and only 35 minutes north of Salt Lake City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogden Marriott Hotel Ogden
Marriott Ogden
Courtyard Ogden Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Ogden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.