We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run Marriott Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Summit Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   247 24th Street, Ogden, UT 84401 (Formerly Ogden Marriott)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ogden
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well Run Marriott Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Well this place has it all but an open Starbuck's and bell service. The hotel facilities are well maintained and comfortable and welcoming. The King bed was very comfortable and the room was decorated nicely. Good amentities in the room and late night room service is available. The breakfast buffet in very nice and fast, so fast I forgot to tip the waitperson. Ouch! In fairness to me becasue I had a bed and breakfast coupon I never saw a bill. Maybe they need to bring one zeroed out to remind us we need to tip! This hotel is a business hotel but caters to local events quite often. Good number of meeting rooms and a business center. The staff was very helpful and made you well like a honored guest and the front desk clerk even offered to get some one from housing keeping to come get my bags upon check-out. I declined however and slepted them down myself. Free self-parking is the order for this hotel also.

The room rates on this trip were very reasonable using Marriott's senior rates, 62+. The rates is also good for AAA members. The lobby bar has food options until late at night and adult beverages of all kind. I never saw the Starbucks counter open, so my guess is that its an early morning thing and then it's done for the day. The hotel has a indoor pool, spa and workout room.

The activities within walking distance are good. No mall near by that I saw, but a Multi-Plex Cinema was within 4 blocks and a fun zone with bowling was also that close with multiple dinning options nearby. A new find on this trip was the Prairee Schooner Steakhose within 1.3 miles (no freeway) of the Marriott. Look it up on the internet, it's a very fun place to dine and the food and service was excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a King executive room if you don't need a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear JRFord,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We noticed that you are a Top Contributor on Trip Advisor. With your travelling experience it's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your tips are spot on as well. Our Executive King Room offers additional space if you don't require two double beds.

I do apologize that your weren't able to enjoy a Starbucks during you stay with us. At this time our Starbucks Cafe in the lobby is only open in the morning. However, we are happy to serve coffee even after Starbucks closes from our Canyon Restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back to the Marriott soon! Safe and Happy Travels!

Warm Regards,
Ryan McKenzie
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    59
    19
    19
    18
See reviews for
50
39
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I travel a lot and stay in a lot of hotels worldwide. This hotel was very clean and the staff was beyond prepared for everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was actually very good and the wait staff inside the restaurant were helpful. The room was clean, no issues, and the service staff kept everything in top notch condition.

Would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear mikejaret,

We love hearing from our guests that we rank with the best hotels worldwide. We take great pride in our customer service, cleanliness and food. Our breakfast buffet is one of our more popular options at the Canyon Restaurant.

Thank you for taking time to review our property! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Ryan McKenzie
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I went to Ogden on a business trip. This town is small and in the summer its hot with nothing to do. I did drive to the top of the mountain and it was a pretty drive. The hotel has a small gym with the essentials and the restaurant food is really good. The hotel is walking distance (2 blocks) from a restaurant center with a movie theater. From Salt Lake airport its a 30 minute drive and you will need a car. The staff is very cheerful and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear ktjf07,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! The hotel and kitchen staff were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food and the service you received. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Ogden, Utah!

Warm Regards,
Ryan McKenzie
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple times when visiting one of my organization's facilities located in Ogden. It is a very pleasant and warm hotel. The staff is very pleasant, extremely pleasant. The room was big, clean and bed cozy. The other nice benefit is being walking distance to several very good restaurants. They also serve Starbucks coffee in the lobby. I will definitely continue to stay here when visiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear pschmeda,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay! It is certainly nice to be located in the heart of Ogden and be within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marriott the next time you visit Ogden!

Warm Regards,
Ryan McKenzie
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

They put us on the first floor towards the end of a long hall. The end door was propped open and several guys were standing there smoking at the end of the hallway. I went to the front desk to say something but was passed by a male and female employee. I thought that they were there to ask the people to smoke outside. I was wrong. It got louder and I called to asked the front desk to stop it and nothing happened. Next day the trash can by the vending machines was full of beer cans and bottles. Terrible noisy night. No help from the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear pepe6,

Thank you for choosing the Marriott for your most recent trip to Ogden, Utah. I wanted to apologize for the invonvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We did have holiday parties that went late in to the evening during the dates of your stay. Our guest's satisfaction is our highest priority. I sincerely apologize that we didn't provide the level of service that is expected from a Marriott to you.

The next time you visit Ogden I would love another opportunity to serve you so your stay goes as it should've the first time. Again, thank you for staying with us.

Warm Regards,
Ryan McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for my son's away from home hockey game. My son loved the room and the selection of channels on the TV. we did order room service and our food was great, the service was excellent and everyone was really friendly. Room was excellent. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear rustyred1,

Thank you for choosing the Marriott Ogden for your trip to Ogden. I am happy to see that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us. I am also glad that your son enjoyed the selection of television stations. This week we are expanding our channel selection as well as upgrading to HDTV in all of our guest rooms. So, for your next visit to the Ogden Marriott your son will enjoy that amenity even more!

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Ryan McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have start this review off by by saying we are Marriott 'fans' ! Having said that, the Ogden Marriott was a VERY pleasant experience. The hotel has a very warm ambiance, very friendly personnel including their Manager whom introduced himself as we were packing our car before leaving next morning. The room was very tasteful, large & extremely comfortable. The window air conditioner was slightly noisy so we mentioned it to the front desk next morning. We thoroughly enjoyed a full breakfast next morning (included in our package price) & were very well looked after by the restaurant personnel .
Another plus...the hotel is well within walking distance to an excellent select of restaurants nearby
All in all, a VERY pleasant stay which only reaffirmed our loyalty as Marriott 'fans'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear KootenayGold,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I was the manager you met out in the parking lot. It was a pleasure catching you on your way out and learning about your travels! We certainly appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and hope to see you again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Ryan McKenzie
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 247 24th Street, Ogden, UT 84401 (Formerly Ogden Marriott)
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Hotel is currently under renovation and will soon become the Courtyard by Marriott. Please pardon our dust during this transition, many of our outlets are currently closed. Complimentary Breakfast is available to all guests, thank you for your understanding. The Summit Hotel is located in the heart of Ogden, which has become a destination for outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy skiing/snowboarding at one of three winter resorts located less than 30 minutes away: Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, or Wolf Creek. During spring, summer and fall guests enjoy hiking and biking on mountain trails; or boating and fishing at Pineview Reservoir. The Summit Hotel is adjacent to Historic 25th Street. We are minutes from Hill Air Force Base, Lagoon, and only 35 minutes north of Salt Lake City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Summit Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogden Marriott Hotel Ogden
Marriott Ogden
Summit Hotel & Conference Center Ogden, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.