We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Summit Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summit Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   247 24th Street, Ogden, UT 84401 (Formerly Ogden Marriott)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Ogden
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past ten years. I have seen changes to the decor and look of the hotel. The one thing that remains a constant is the consistently good service I receive when I am here. I most recently stayed in September 2012 as a part of a trade show package. Brigit Pack and her staff did an excellent job with every facet of the organization of the events surrounding the trade show.

The hotel is in a good loaction in Ogden within easy walking distance of several restaurants and within easy driving distance of several more restaurants as well as shopping. The mountain view from the hotel (as well as anywhere else in Ogden) is beautiful. My hotel room had a comfortable bed and good work station. The hotel has a small exercise room and really small indoor pool. I used the exercise room, which has cardio equipment and a few benches for use with the free weights/dumbells provided.

I ate breakfast in the restaurant one morning. As one might expect with a Marriott, the buffet was quite good and included eggs to order. The buffet, however, was not the only option as the restaurant also offered items from a menu. I did not eat at the hotel for any other meals, but the restaurant appears to be popular. The hotel also has a Starbuck's in the lobby, which offers a better grade of coffee than the complimentary variety.

All in all, the hotel is pleasant, and I plan to stay here again when my business travel takes me to this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Greg A,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Marriott Ogden. I know how busy your days are and we appreciate your feedback!

Marriott Ogden takes great pride in delivering elevated service on a consistent basis. We truly appreciate your return business year after year. I have passed your kind words on to Brigit as she takes great pride in servicing the conference you participated in. We look forward to another succesful conference in 2013!

Again, thank you for choosing Marriott and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    55
    16
    16
    16
See reviews for
50
39
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at this property--one time a number of years ago in the winter time on a ski trip and recently so my husband could participate in a triathlon at Snow Basin. The hotel is very conveniently located in the historic part of Ogden, where there are a number of dining choices. The room we were given was quite large, and was your standard Marriott fare. We had access to the concierge lounge where a good breakfast was served. The lounge was closed on the weekends, but they gave us a voucher for the buffet at the restaurant, which was actually quite exceptional (extremely varied assortment of foods). My only complaint about the hotel was that we stayed there for 7 nights and were given a room on the 3rd floor with a really lousy view (actually looked out on a some concrete structure). As loyal supporters of Marriott (platinum member), I thought they might have tried harder to please (especially since I found out that another guest who was not even a Marriott member and was staying by himself for 3 nights there was upgraded to a suite). But in general I would recommend this as a very nice place to stay while visiting Ogden.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the mountains - probably best from highest floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Fridaysmom,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Marriott Ogden. We know you have many options to choose from when visiting Ogden and we are honored you chose Marriott!

I was happy to see that you had a great experience in our Concierge Lounge. Currently our Concierge Lounge is ranked in the top 1% in the nation for service! We are very proud of that!

I apologize that we were unable to reserve a room on a higher floor for you. Concierge Level rooms are always in high demand. The next time you are visiting Ogden please don't hesitate to contact myself or the Front Desk prior to your arrival to see if a complimentary upgrade to the Concierge Level will be available during your dates of stay. We will do everything we can to accommodate you.

Again, thank you for staying with Marriott and taking time out of your busy day to review our property.

We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Typical Marriott rooms, No surprises. Walking distance to a number of restaurants, beautiful view of the mountains. Minor league baseball park is across the street. In-house restaurant above average for hotel food.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor. Many lower floor rooms have obstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Accuseal,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope you were able to catch a Raptors (Ogden's Minor League Baseball Team) game during your stay. The next time you visit us during baseball season check with the front desk to see if we have any tickets for the game. If we have any tickets available you can enjoy a game on us!

Thank you for choosing Marriott. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We did a package deal that included Lagoon Tickets, Breakfast and Gas card. Room was a little small (2 adults and 2 children) and the bathroom even smaller. Breakfast very nice and had lots of options and attentive staff. We were charged $15 for a rollaway which you dont see with a Courtyard or Spring Hill Suites. Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean and what you expect. We stayed at a Springhill Suites the next night for the extra space.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Jeff G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Lagoon Package is a great deal and we hope to see you again next year enjoying the same package!

Thank you for choosing Marriott and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

At check-in this hotel looks like an old Red Lion property. The decor is dated but the hotel is very clean and well kept. Once in the room you know you are in a Marriott property. The bedding is great, the rooms spacious and quiet.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic, they even had turkey bacon and turkey hash. The omelet chef made a fantastic vegan omelet, he even took the time to go back in the kitchen for more "elegant" vegetables to add. The restaurant server couldn't have done more for us.
Also, the lounge had a very nice wine list which was appreciated given our late arrival time.
We will be back for another stay.

Room Tip: The concierge level is worth the additional price. If the concierge room is closed the certificate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanMcKenzie, Director of Rooms at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear TravelConnoisseurs,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our property. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our breakfast buffet and lounge.

I am also excited to let you know that we are in the process of upgrading many amenities here at the Marriott Ogden that will bring our property up to date. Each guest room is getting upgraded to HDTV, our complimentary wireless bandwidth will be increased substantially and our guest room corridors will have a more updated feel.

Again, thank you for choosing the Marriott for your trip to Ogden! We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stop at this hotel as part of a across the country and back trip, and our stay was everything expected of a stay at Marriott. Bed is wonderful, service above average. Had a great breakfast and then continued East.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Front Office Manager at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear ZAPPER-36,

Thank you so much for stopping and staying with us on your cross country trip! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and I hope that your trip was marvelous. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Ogden, Utah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. The front desk was friendly and organized, parking was plentiful, and the room was clean and comfortable. Although our room had two double beds and a chair w/ottoman for relaxing, we still had plenty of room to move around and not feel confined. The hotel is located just a block away from the historic district and well within walking distance. I would definitely return to this hotel on future visits to Ogden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Front Office Manager at Summit Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear gig5,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and sharing your feedback! I was so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms and great downtown location. We look forward to accomodating you the next time that you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summit Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 247 24th Street, Ogden, UT 84401 (Formerly Ogden Marriott)
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Hotel is currently under renovation and will soon become the Courtyard by Marriott. Please pardon our dust during this transition, many of our outlets are currently closed. Complimentary Breakfast is available to all guests, thank you for your understanding. The Summit Hotel is located in the heart of Ogden, which has become a destination for outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy skiing/snowboarding at one of three winter resorts located less than 30 minutes away: Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, or Wolf Creek. During spring, summer and fall guests enjoy hiking and biking on mountain trails; or boating and fishing at Pineview Reservoir. The Summit Hotel is adjacent to Historic 25th Street. We are minutes from Hill Air Force Base, Lagoon, and only 35 minutes north of Salt Lake City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Summit Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogden Marriott Hotel Ogden
Marriott Ogden
Summit Hotel & Conference Center Ogden, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.