We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Comfortable Older Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 W 12th Street, Ogden, UT 84404   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ogden
Naples
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Comfortable Older Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a nice older two story hotel, very well maintained, with comfortable clean rooms. Being an older hotel the room doors open to the outside. If you cannot walk upstairs ask for a ground floor room. It is located close to I-15 and adjacent to Jeremiah'a restaurant which offers room service and has almost something to please everyone on the menu. It is a good value and excellent if you are just passing through and want a meal and a good rest.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    71
    46
    21
    18
See reviews for
80
86
19
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Located right off the freeway, this was a good choice for a one-night stay during our recent road trip through Utah. The room was very clean and comfortable, so no issues there. The small outdoor pool was cute and looked clean, though we did not use it. The hot tub is located in enclosed glass walls inside the exercise room -- it was fine for a quick therapy soak to relieve driving tension, but we found it a bit odd it wasn't outside next to the pool... considering the climate, it would be wonderful to have a year-round outdoor hot tub.

Important to note: This property is motel-style, with the room entrance located outside. This means the only windows in the room face the walkway. Not ideal for us, but it was fine for one night -- we just needed a place to crash.

We tried Jeremiah's (the restaurant located in the same parking lot as the hotel) and the food was great -- we tried two kinds of soup, and both were fantastic. A nice option if you want a quick meal.

Room Tip: To avoid a parking lot view, ask for a second floor room facing the back of the hotel which has a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very clean, comfortable, nice location. Great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

REJECTED point blank with no apologies at all. Why you ask? For the audacity of wanting to pay cash. Apparently this hotel doesn't accept cash. Never heard of before and Im a BW member. Go to Sleep inn. Nice people.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
First of all, let me say that we do most certainly accept cash paying customers. However, due to previous issues with theft and room damage from cash customers, we do require a valid credit card on file for your stay, or appropriate ID and a cash desposit. I apologize if this was not explained to you when you checked in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed one night in this Best Western property prior to running the Ragnar Relay. Our team captain had booked five rooms for us and we were all right next door to each other, which made organizing a bit easier! We had the first five room just off the office on the first floor, so we also had very convenient parking right in front of our rooms. I was the first person on the team to arrive and the front desk was more than happy to check me in to one of the reserved rooms so I didn't have to wait outside!

The room itself was clean and comfortable. I didn't see any cleanliness issues within the rooms, although the outside could use the same detail used on in the inside. Right outside of our rooms were several large spiderwebs which appeared to have been there for at least a little while. However, I'm very happy that the room itself was clean.

The bathroom was a bit tight, with very little room around outside the shower and toilet. But, everything was clean!

Our team ate breakfast at Jeremiah's located across the parking lot from the hotel. The food was good, although the service was a bit slow. Regardless, I'd recommend for a nice, hot breakfast in the morning!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a long road trip from Dallas to Seattle. The property is very close to the highway. It was a very cute hotel, and there is a nice green space on the back of the property. There was plenty of parking in front of the rooms.

For dinner, we walked one block to a pretty good Thai food restaurant called Aroy-D.

Negatives: Our reservation did not come with breakfast, and there was a train very close by that ran until 9PM and started at 7ish in the morning, but we were not woken up between those hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was horrible. We have a baby and did not see one elevator. We had to climb two sets of stairs to get to our room and hold the baby with luggage. We checked in with the baby so if they knew that we had to go up stairs they should have found us a ground room or told me prior to booking it at her desk. First we got into our room and the sheet had stains on it. I informed the front desk when I got back from diner. The restaurant was good. I guessing this train started in the early am. Not sure. We faced the beautiful pond in the back but I could sleep because of this loud train. This was not a good hotel for a traveler that just drove all day and wanted a good nights sleep. I would not recommend this place or stay again.

Room Tip: I don't know if the train faces the back of the building but don't be next to the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
I do apologize that you had such a difficult time getting up to the second floor. We are a two story property and are not required to have an elevator. I am not sure if you requested a ground floor room, but if we had one available, we would have been happy to get you in there. Also, my front desk staff will help with luggage upon request. Again, I apologize for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Brandon Peterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn

Address: 1335 W 12th Street, Ogden, UT 84404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western High Country Hotel Ogden
Best Western Ogden
Country Inn Ogden
Ogden Best Western
Ogden Country Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn Ogden, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.