We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Matador

El Matador
2564 Ogden Ave, Ogden, UT 84401-2413
(801) 393-3151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 298 Restaurants in Ogden
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Ogden, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant has great Mexican food. They can seat families or parties of 30 or more. I have been three many times. Some times it's hard to find a place to park as the parking lot is small. So go early to avoid the line and have a parking space.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    8
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
“Good food, IF you can get service!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This restaurant has great food, but don't expect much in terms of service. The staff is rude and incompetent for the most part, including the management. Be prepared for slow, unenthusiastic service and plenty of eye rolling. The last time we went we didn't even end up eating because we were seated by an incredibly rude host and then left without any acknowledgement for over 10 minutes...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Old Time Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

El Matador has been one of the best Mexican Restaurants in Ogden for years. A little off the beaten path it is just a block east of the downtown square. Enjoy

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good food for a mexican eatery in Utah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The food and the variety are very good. The chips and salsa are nothing special, despite the claims that I've seen in several other reviews. The seating can be cramped in some sections of the restaraunt. The ambiance is fun and the servers are generally attentive and helpful. The portions are huge, and quite often I eat less than half of my dish. The full service bar offers good margarita's (most of the time) and the usual selection of beer. I've been here many times, probably averaging 3 to 4 times a year, and have never been disappointed with my experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Never went back again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We made the mistake of giving this place another try because I was pregnant and wanted Mexican food...Ogden's choices are limited! The food is so blase and the service is nuts. Long waits for every single thing and they charge $3 for a bowl of cold shredded cheese that they offer with chips as complimentary. We had wised up to that, so I said no thank you, but when I checked out I saw it on our bill. I told the girl at the register and she said, rudely, "They wouldn't have put it on there unless you had it." I said....go ask our waiter. She sighed, grabbed it, and changed it. The first time we went we had a ketchup smiley face on our Mexican food when it came out to us! We hate that place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

Ogden, Wasatch Range
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Matador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.