We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 Washington Blvd., Ogden, UT 84401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ogden
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfy, historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Loved the King suite I stayed in for a night. HUGE room, nice furniture and amenities including fridge and microwave. Had a tv in the sitting area and flat screen in the bedroom which was nice, and it was no problem bringing my dog with me. Not sure about location though. It is short walking distance to the historic 25th street shops and eateries. However, the blocks behind the hotel are run down and didn't seem safe. I was walking my dog around the block and I'm pretty sure I saw a drug deal go down by the upper level parking deck. I really liked this hotel but I don't think I will stay in Ogden again. Absolutely nothing to do on a Sunday, everything was closed except for 3 or 4 restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner suites have great views of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Stephanie E.,
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your suite and that you brought your puppy to visit us. If you visit us again I encourage you and your dog to enjoy the Ogden Municipal Gardens across the street or the River trail five blocks to the north of the hotel. Sundays are pretty quiet in Ogden, just like the majority of Utah, unless you feel like visiting one of the local churches. If you are in Ogden on a Sunday I recommend enjoying some of Utah's natural beauty, visiting Snowbasin and Powder Mountain ski resorts, visiting Antelope Island, driving up Ogden Canyon, playing on the beach at Pine View Reservoir, playing a round of golf at the local golf courses, going on a hike, or catching a movie. If none of these ideas appeal and you are still at a loss as to what to do, ask the front desk for ideas. Also, MacCool's the Irish Pub just off the lobby is open on Sundays.
Thanks again for the review, we are so happy you enjoyed your suite and the views.
Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
50
48
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Gorgeous hotel. The staff was amazing, greeted us the sec that they seen us. Very bubbly friendly atmosphere makes you feel very welcome during your stay. Our view from our window was amazing as well. If you are in the ogden area I would def stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Kathyjones09,
Thank you for the great review, we can't wait to share it with our team. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed the view. We are looking forward to your next visit to Ogden and Ben Lomond Suites.
Thanks again, Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Do speak to Lan at this hotel if you want great customer service. She upgraded us to a spacious and quiet room for three of us after an initial couple of hitches. It had no views but that was preferable to a smaller room with lovely views. The hotel was full so it was impossible to have lovely views and a larger accomodation at the time we were there. The other staff are also helpful and efficiently stored our luggage on our last day. Breakfast is OK and provides fuel for the day's skiing at the very accessible Snow Basin and other nearby ski resorts. The hotel is adjacent to McCools restaurant which offers delicious meals at reasonable prices and have staff who are warm and friendly. If it offered breakfast, I would go there but it only starts at 11am. From the Ben Lomond, if you want to take a day off skiing, it's an easy walk to explore some Ogen shops on the short 25th St. I recommend the socks shop bursting with bright and colourful "Wild Habitat" animal print socks which are apparently supplied to zoos all over the US and which also stocks ski and health socks (such as the bamboo socks) and tights, the tiny Argentinian cafe with its delicious empanadas, a couple of antique/curio shops stocked with goods whose previous owners must have have seen the changes to the Ben Lomond from an attractive four story building with turrets to its current structure which is really larger and more spacious than one might think from the outside. It's great that the Ben Lomond has convenient undercover car parking. Having to lug luggage up a few steps loses a couple of brownie points.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with views at higher levels and the staff will do their best to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear MLPandLB,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and eating at MacCool's Irish Pub. It sounds like you discovered a couple of the fun things to do in Ogden. Skiing at Snowbasin is definitely one of my favorite things to do in Ogden and as you said it is just a quick drive up the mountain. We also sell discounted lift tickets to both Snowbasin and Powder Mountain ski resorts at the front desk. 25th Street with its many wonderful restaurants and shops, is a great place to explore and eat. We are looking forward to sharing your nice comments with Lan and the rest of the team.

Next time you visit use the ADA entrance under the canopy by the garage to bring your luggage and skis in and out of the hotel, that way you avoid carrying your ski equipment up the 5 steps at the main entrance.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for a full week and were treated really well by the full staff. A front desk staff person by the name of Lan made sure that everything was just perfect for us! She is great, and everyone else was also. Free bacon, eggs and potatoes every day for breakfast! Free! Will stay every time we go to Ogden.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear DDGreen,

Thank you for the great review. We are so happy that Lan and the rest of our team treated you well, we can't wait to share your comments with them. We are also glad that you enjoyed breakfast, after all it is the most important meal of the day and a great way to start your day off right. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The view out the window of suite 709, on a clear day, is worth the price of admission. And the bed -- I don't know how it was different than other hotel beds. Maybe it was the ultra light but ultra warm duvet, maybe the plethora of pillows with varying plump factors, maybe the mattress. At any rate, I had four great nights of restful sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mona K.,

Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the view of the Wasatch Mountain Range and downtown Ogden. The mountains are truly spectacular and as the tallest building in Ogden we have great views of them. We are happy you slept well and enjoyed the duvet and fluffy pillows. We hope you visit us again soon.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from a several day stay in the hotel and note it's historical nature, great fun on the shuffleboard in the bar, tasty bar food, friendly wait staff, and a self-serve breakfast that while not gourmet, was way ahead of the usual chain offering, our upper flr room was a bit warm and I confess to using the A/C in winter to keep the room at 69 F, Comfy beds - 2 huge beds accommodated me and my ski buddy, the additional sitting area provided enough room for some Après-ski drinks and snacks for 6 or 8 of us. NOW you know it was a great ski location with easy public and charter access to Powder Mtn and Snow Basin. Despite having come with a pre-arranged ski trip, a few questions to the front desk revealed an assortment of ski package arrangements including lift tickets that would provide smaller groups great value. And PS FedX has an office just up the street to ship skis. Expect to be back with our Ski Club and/or my Family Ski Trip in 2013.

Room Tip: Room temp likely goes up floor by floow - inquire at reservation for your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Hbpshp,

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had fun skiing at Powder Mountain and Snowbasin. Powder Mountain and Snowbasin are great ski resorts that have yet to be discovered by many Utah skiers and as a result you seldom run into a line. Ogden's new ski bus makes it really easy to get to both ski resorts without having to drive in winter weather. We also sell discounted lift tickets to both Powder Mountain and Snowbasin. When you organize your trip with your Ski Club make sure to let us know so we can put you in touch with our sales manager and organize group discounts on lift tickets and the like.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed MacCool's, the Irish pub just off the lobby. Next time you visit you should try Restaurant 1107 on our eleventh floor it has great views of downtown Ogden and the mountains and tasty food.

Thanks again for the nice review. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I only stayed in Ogden for one night, and luckily the Ben Lomond was less than a block from the Egyptian Theater. This hotel has character. Yes, it has been around for awhile, but that is part of its charm. I was given a huge room, with a sitting area separate from the bedroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable and it was nice and quiet. The front desk was a bit less responsive than I would have liked. There were multiple people behind the desk, but there was only one person taking care of customers. In spite of that, I would return next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear TravelinT7,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hotel does have a great location for attending events at the Perry's Egyptian Theater like the Sundance Film Festival last weekend and the Live broadcast of the Phantom of the Opera from the Royal Albert Hall in London 1/29/13-2/15/13. We also have two great restaurants in the hotel and are within walking distance of many more.

We are glad you enjoyed our large rooms and historic feel. We are sorry that the front desk was less responsive than you would have liked. We will share your comments with the front desk and work on improving our service.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd., Ogden, UT 84401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is within an easy walk of the Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center, and multiple great restaurants and bars. Stays include free full breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Suites has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Suites also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 300 guests. Ben Lomond Suites has two great restaurants and a bar, MacCool's Public House located just off the lobby level and Restaurant 1007 on the 11th floor of the hotel. Come and enjoy Ogden's Historic Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.