We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Comfort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 Washington Blvd., Ogden, UT 84401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Historic Comfort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and historic! The lobby is wonderful. The elevators have that historic yet slightly afraid they will break down charm. The front desk staff is always friendly. The views are amazing! The hotel sits in the only good part of Ogden (its downtown) and is in walking distance to everything that is anything in Ogden. The rooms are very large. We stayed in a suite and it is HUGE! The regular rooms are a good size too. The furnishings are dated but still stately. The beds are very comfortable. The haunting stories are fun and rather harmless. Your stay comes with a great breakfast in the beautiful lobby and all this for very reasonable rates. Really the only complaint is that in the summer the hotel hallways are VERY warm. The rooms have air conditioning and have be whatever temperature you desire but the hallways are warm.

Room Tip: Choose one that faces west for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed some of my favorite features of Ben Lomond Suites; the history, great location and large rooms. I'm also happy that you found the elevators charming and the haunting stories entertaining. In the three years I've been at Ben Lomond Suites the elevators' have entertained me with their quirky personalities, but have never tried to keep me with them. The hallways do get a bit warm on hot days in the summer but luckily Ogden only has a few hot days and the ACs in the rooms work great. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    60
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
58
58
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Utah
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I really couldn't have asked for more from the Ben Lomond. First off the lobby area is simply stunning. It is a genuine grand hotel. It was a great change from the Days Inn type places we normally stay. The rooms were very big and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was great and the breakfast was much better than I had expected.

A bonus: Allegedly this place is haunted, so that aspect was pretty cool,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Manager at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our grand historic lobby. We are looking forward to sharing your review with our team.

We agree ghost stories can be entertaining and when you have been around as long as we have people are bound to tell a few ghost stories for fun.

Thanks again for the review. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ogden is a pleasant place to stay and if in the area I would urge you to consider accommodation at the Ben Lomond Suites.

During our tour of the US we stayed at 17 different hotels and I have to say this was my personal favourite. We walked into our room and immediately thought 'Wow' simply because of the size of the place. Our accommodation comprised of a very large lounge area with comfortable seating and a good-size television. The bedroom was also of a decent size with a lovely big bed that was extremely comfortable and afforded a splendid night's sleep. There was a small kitchenette and the bathroom contained a jacuzzi which was quite wonderful after a hard day of driving. Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was faultless in every way. As a bonus, the hotel is centrally located, easy to find and provides secure underground parking.

We thought breakfast was 'okay' although nothing special, but that is a small point considering the quality of the accommodation. Not only is this a superb hotel but we considered it to be one of the best 'value for money' places we have ever stayed at.. We really can't praise this hotel enough and thoroughly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in the Ogden area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our historic hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are the only all suite hotel in downtown Ogden and as you noticed our rooms are much larger than other hotels. We are also glad to hear you had a good night's sleep, that's what we strive for. We would love to hear what we can add to breakfast to make it "great" instead of just "okay", if you have time shoot us an email with your ideas.

Thanks again for you nice review.

Have a Great Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is really my kind of hotel. I love older hotels and search them out. That often comes with learning to deal with older facilities and not being surprised by the accommodations. I really loved this hotel. The outside facade and interior main areas are stunning. The views from the windows are really nice. The rooms are big, and the one point that always makes it or breaks it for me: the bedding is super comfortable. It was quiet. It was clean.
The downsides of this hotel, as previously mentioned, the bathrooms are furniture isn't so much antique as it is just dated. It felt a little like staying in Grandma's apartment circa 1985. That's not a bad thing, it just is what it is. The hallways are also a bit confusing as you get off the elevators.
Overall I would love to stay here again. The price can't be beat and I'm almost afraid one day they will renovate the bathrooms and furniture and so on and then it will be a $400 a night "boutique" hotel. Alas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the review. Ben Lomond Suites is a beautiful historic hotel and we love it when our guests' enjoy our history as much as we do. We are hoping to be able to update the bathrooms in the next year or so. We wish we could fill Ben Lomond Suites at $400 a night, but do not plan to realize that dream in the near future. Thanks again for the nice review.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I want to like this hotel. Second time I've stayed here, it's probably 5+ years since my last stay on business. Overnight family trip this time. Picked it for the huge rooms. Got the double queen in a newly "updated" room. Beds were great. Flat screen tv in bedroom, old style small tube tv in living room. Pretty clean room and property. Breakfast was good with attentive staff. The bad. Room, bathroom, wallpaper, and furniture outdated and worn out. Properties can be old and fantastic, unfortunately our newly updated room was in need of another update. New bathrooms, new fixtures would help a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast. We have some of the largest rooms in town and as you stated they are great for families. If you are traveling with teens we even have two bedroom, two bath suites that give you even more room. Updating the bathrooms is the next item on our list of renovations for our beautiful historic hotel. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Greetings Travelers:
I would like to say that the Ben Lomond Suites in Ogden, Utah are impressing. I arrive to Hotel this July
2012. As soon I went to the front desk I was receive with beautiful smile from Lashelle Mann at the Front desk. She welcomes me to the hotel and as soon as possible she accommodate me in one of the most elegant room I have stay in my life as a traveler, believe me you will find out. My room 301 is great for a couple and also for somebody like me that came in a business trip it has a home felling in it. So if you want to find peacefulness and relax you self this is the place to stay. Too bad a dint came with my wife. I most definitely will return to the Ben Lomond hopefully in winter season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in July. Hopefully you and your wife can visit us this winter for a snow ski trip. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Travelling SW USA by motorcycle, we often avoid larger cities in favour of smaller ones with some history or character. Not knowing anything about Ogden, Utah and seeing pics of Ben Lomond Hotel we were relying on other tripadvisor member ratings to guide us in our decision. We weren't disappointed! The room was very clean & absolutely huge. We were very surprised that a buffet breakfast also came with the room and it was excellent. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Oh, and we should mention that we had the best sleep of our trip so far here - super comfy bed & pillows! Plus - what hotel has a guest laundry? We made good use of it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and slept well, we strive to help our guests start the day off right with a good night's rest and a tasty breakfast. Our guest laundry is definitely helpful on long trips when you can't pack a change of clothes for every day of the trip. We hope the rest of your SW USA motorcycle trip is fun and safe and you come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd., Ogden, UT 84401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is within an easy walk of the Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center, and multiple great restaurants and bars. Stays include free full breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Suites has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Suites also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 300 guests. Ben Lomond Suites has two great restaurants and a bar, MacCool's Public House located just off the lobby level and Restaurant 1007 on the 11th floor of the hotel. Come and enjoy Ogden's Historic Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.