We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a boutique hotel than a chain one. Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Washington Boulevard, Ogden, UT 84401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unwind with Double Points
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“More a boutique hotel than a chain one. Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is unique! Walking around the wonderfully renovated lobby, I found it felt more like a Hotel Monaco than a Hampton Inn. Obviously, those that restored and renovated this century-old building both knew and loved what they were doing. Honestly, it looks like it just opened.

The elevator doors look art deco and out of the 40's ... fabulous. The rooms are contemporary and tasteful, both the bedroom section and the bathroom. I found the bed very comfortable. I was in a corner room and it was huge. The bathroom was cavernous. Beautifully appointed.

The breakfast area is roomy and well-appointed. The food and service were, in my experience, up to the excellent Hampton standards.

The staff was helpful and friendly. Excellent service. This hotel should be a multi-star or multi-diamond property, even though it's a Hampton Inn. It far exceeded my expectations.

The negatives are few. The fitness center is a little small, but the hot tub was huge. There was noticeable noise from the street (probably due to the age of the building), but being on the 6th floor, I found in minimal and easily drowned out by soft music. I didn't have to park a car, so cannot comment on those issues.

Overall, a wonderful urban hotel in the middle of Ogden.

Room Tip: My guess is that the higher the floor the less the noise from the street. Also, the corner rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. we think we have a very unique and nicely restored building, we all take great pride in our Hampton. Our elevator cabs are orginal to the building, they have been restored and add to the unique quality of our building. Again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    100
    31
    11
    3
See reviews for
106
81
28
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a tasteful hotel in a small town for so reasonable a price. The location is very convenient to restaurants and shops, the architecture is beautiful, the room is very comfortable and tastefully decorated, and the service is spectacular. Overall it exceeded my expectations. Plus, I got a free continental breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy you found the historic nature of our building to your liking and enjoyed our buffet style breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Hampton has been put in what was a downtown hotel or an office building in a previous incarnation. As such, its rooms are smaller than what one is accustomed to in a Hampton.

The rooms are tastefully appointed, but mine should be due for refurbishing soon. The bathroom was large, relative to the bedroom, but the tub was small. Also, the mirror is far from the front of the counter and is poorly lighted, making shaving an adventure.

There was some noticeable street noise and more noticeable noise through the bathroom wall.

The hotel provides free parking, but the lot is small so you might not get in.

The service was subpar. When I checked in the desk clerk seemed frazzled by having three people wanting to check in at the same time. Neither speed nor efficiency was her strong suit. Two other times when I came to the front desk the clerks were outside smoking.

It's an o.k. place, but there must be better in Ogden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry you did not experience an exceptional stay with your guest room or staff. The problems you mentioned with our front desk/guest service have been addressed. We appreciate you bringing this to us and we hope you will give our property a second chance if you return to the area. We would really love to have you back so we can show you what our Hamptonality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is an older hotel that has been nicely rehabbed. It offers small guest rooms, but they are clean and nice. The beds are very comfortable and I loved the warm duvet. I downgraded my rating since some of the rooms face each other in the center in a small atrium with steel bars in front of the windows (no light comes in), and because you can hear everything in the rooms next door, hallway, outside, etc. I felt like I had to tiptoe in my own room and slept with earplugs in all night. Free breakfast was nice to have and there is variety but the hot options were a little tasteless. I went here on business and they had a couple small conference rooms, but are not set-up to cater to medium or large conference groups. Nice lobby, workout room and pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your time in posting a review of our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us. We are glad you loved the duvets, they make the beds warm and cosy. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I assumed when I heard I was staying at the Hampton in Ogden that it was their normal type hotel. This is a huge downtown hotel wonderfully redone. The location is good, right downtown, romms are confortable, plush carpeting, comfy beds, friendly staff. The breakfast in the morning was a nice touch and also they have a "to go bag" if you don't have time. This was a pleasant suprize.

Room Tip: Didn't see if they have apool and only ate the buffet breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy you found the unique nature of our building to your liking.Our On the Run bags are an excellent choice for the person wanting that little something extra, we are glad you like them We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. We love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were with a group from the UK having a bird watching/photographic holiday, in Grand Tetons, Yellowstone and a few days in the Ogden area to visit the Bear River Bird Refuge and Antelope island. All booking were made by the agent so I have no idea of the cost and the Reception don't keep printed lists of tariffs.

A very impressive, elegant hotel. Our room 219 was large and tastefully decorated. It had 2 large, very comfortable beds, with cotton sheets and a duvet. A built-in wardrobe with 8 hangers.. A large TV, desk, lamp, coffee making machine, iron and ironing board and 2 comfortable chairs. It didn't have a fridge nor racks to put the suitcases on.

The bathroom had a wash hand basin unit with hair drier, soap, shampoo, conditioner and moisturizer, but no shower gel. The bath had an overhead shower and surprisingly the towel rail was on the wall at the other end of the bath. I thought this was a bit silly, as the plentiful supply of towels were sure to get damp from the shower.

Our room overlooked the main road and cross roads, so there was a muted traffic noise from about 5.30am.

The two lifts were quite small,so we walked up the stairs to the second floor when we didn't have bags to carry and got there quicker.

There was a complementary breakfast with plenty of choice. The toaster was very slow.
The main surprise was the disposable plates and cups and PLASTIC cutlery, which some what lowered the standard. I suppose the advantage was when you finished eating you just emptied everything into a bin, so the table was cleared and could be used immediately by the next guest.

They didn't appear to do lunch or evening meals which surprised us. Perhaps this is normal in the US?

Overall we were very pleased with this hotel and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. we think we have a very unique and nicely restored building, we all take great pride in our Hampton. Our elevators are on the small side, the cabs are orginal to the building, they have been restored and add to the unique quality of our building. It is standard for the Hampton Brand to not serve lunch or dinner but our location to a varity of restaurants makes our hotel a great place to stay. Again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This Hampton Inn was one of the best places I have ever stayed. The breakfast every morning was top notch. Lots of choices in food items plus a portable breakfast if you could not eat there! Our room was comfortable and very clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Loved the way a vintage building had retained its character, but was updated just enough. Will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. Our On the Run bags are an excellent choice for the person wanting that little something extra, we are glad you like them. I am happy you found the unique nature of our building to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. We love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden

Address: 2401 Washington Boulevard, Ogden, UT 84401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogden
#2 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Ogden
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden Hotel Ogden
Hampton Inn Hotel Ogden
Hampton Inn Ogden
Ogden Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.