We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Washington Boulevard, Ogden, UT 84401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Ogden
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This Hampton was built in an old, historic building smack in downtown Ogden. This was my first stay here but I'll stay here again. The staff is friendly, the hotel and rooms clean and fresh, and there is plenty to eat within walking distance. There are also many other good places for food within short driving distance. Speaking of driving, that's the only downside to this hotel. The parking situation is much less than ideal. You can park right on the street in front of the hotel to check in, but the parking garage is located a block from and behind the hotel and the few spots fill up quickly. Don't plan to arrive and get a parking place, leave for dinner, and expect the spot to be there when you return. There is alternate parking available in an adjacent public garage but you need to return to the front desk to get a pass if there aren't any spaces available in the Hampton garage. Don't expect this to be like other Hampton Inns because it is an historic building. You may end up looking out your window at a brick wall, so if you're planning on more than one night, request a room facing the street.

Room Tip: Request a room on the street. The streetside isn't noisy and you won't be looking at a bric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy you found the historic nature of our building to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    80
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
84
59
27
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Migrate back here on many occasions when in Ogden, despite other options.

Convenient location - OK, the parking is a bit of a hassle - but better parking better then in NYC, SLC, or a large city.

Always a great front desk. Clean rooms, tidy facility, good Hampton breakfast. Facilty in this old building is just comfortable, even when placed in a room with the inner building view.

Room Tip: With many freeway hotels available, or the nearby Marriott, selecting this hotel seems like a 2nd ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I just wanted to say thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay here at our hotel! I'm so glad you were able to experience our warm Hamptonality. We can't wait to see you again soon. We love having you here.
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Loved, absolutely LOVED, this Hampton Inn. A beautiful old building renovated with contemporary furnishings. Quiet, clean rooms. Friendly people and service. Traveling through so our stay was but one night. Could easily have stayed longer and enjoyed this beautiful little town. Great front desk recommendation for dinner at Sonora Grill, which is located around the corner. I'd like to dine there again too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We are so glad you loved our beautiful Hampton, we feel privileged to work in this amazing building. I am pleased to hear you received friendly service with great recommendations for dinner. The revitalization of Ogden has made the town and area a great place to visit and live.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel and Ogden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Everything is so-so. The parking is hit or miss. Cheap beds, lumpy comforters, noisy a\c, limited tv choices. The rooms are not quiet and not insulated for street noise or hallway.

Good for an overnight stay if the price is good, but I'm dread having to spend an extra night here. Tried to book another hotel, but all others are full.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your time in posting a review of our hotel. In hospitality, guest feedback is a very valuable indicator of performance, and we strive to provide you friendly service in a great hotel. Parking is not only an issue for us, but for the entire downtown area. Some of our comforters are a bit lumpy and are being replaced, but our beds are less than a year old and most guests love them. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and are sorry your stay with us was not outstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, OR
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

~Fairly nice property
~Clean
~Rooms have decent linens
~Large flatscreen TV, Quiet, Central Location
~But.... A small parking area is around the corner (almost 1.5 blocks away) and usually full which requires an additional trip to the front desk for directions, then you are issued a magnetic key ($35 replacement fee) for another parking lot almost 2 blocks away on the 3rd or 4th floor which has no user-friendly stairs or walkway =(

Would not recommend to people with kids & much luggage or people who cannot walk or cannot carry luggage a couple of blocks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are hotter due to sun exposure Unload your luggage at front door/curbside as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your time in posting a review of our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us. Our parking is behind our building with a short walk, but we recommend that you check in, take your luggage to your room and then park your car, making the walk less strenuous. There is an elevator on the east wall of the garage with a nice courtyard to walk through, I apologize that clearer directions were not given to you for the return walk to the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is an excellent property - newly remodeled; great staff; you can see the pride in the breakfast room as everything is neatly laid out and in a logical order. Well done. The only drawback - the road and vehicle noise from 24th and Washington. The hotel is right on the corner at a stoplight. Every Ogden resident with a Harley must have gone by the night I stayed there. The windows are double-paned, but that didn't seem to do much. If you do stay there, try to get a room off the street. If it wasn't for the noise factor this property would be at least 4-5.

Room Tip: Anything away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you! We appreciate your great comments about our staff and the breakfast room. We do have trouble with the noise from the street because the building is 99 years old and on the Historic register we are limited in our options. Our rooms off of street are quiet. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I recently stayed at this property, and was eager to do so based on all the great reviews. For the most part, I felt they lived up to their ranking as the #1 hotel in Ogden. It is unique especially for a Hampton. The room had a beautiful view of the mountains, the beds are incredibly comfortable as I have come to expect from Hampton, it was clean, and every member of the staff I spoke with was very friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of several fantastic restaurants on historic 25th street and also several more around the Salomon center. The breakfast was better than that at some of the other Hamptons I have experienced. The only two areas where I would say they were not #1 for Ogden were room size and parking. I had a regular king room and there was not much open space in it at all. I would definitely stay there again, but I will try the two queen for a little more space.

Room Tip: Select a two queen or a suite for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel. Being a historic building the space available limited the size of some of the rooms on the north end of the hotel, we do have larger king rooms available, next time you come to the area, let us know you would like a larger room, we will accommodate you, our two queens are very nice too. Parking is not only an issue for us, but for the entire downtown area. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden

Address: 2401 Washington Boulevard, Ogden, UT 84401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogden
#2 Business Hotel in Ogden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Ogden
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden Hotel Ogden
Hampton Inn Hotel Ogden
Hampton Inn Ogden
Ogden Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.