We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, small breakfast area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ogden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ogden to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2245 South 1200 West, Ogden, UT 84401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, small breakfast area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose this hotel because we are in the middle of a move across country and wanted a place with easy parking and luggage carts for all of the things we had in our cars. The hotel is off of the highway but we didnt notice any added noise in our room. We were on a high floor. The hotel has a small pool and hot tub which we did use for a short amount of time.

The next morning I did workout in the facility which was okay, but a previous user had made it pretty stinky. The breakfast area was INSANE in the morning. There was no where to sit so we took our breakfast upstairs and almost had another rude guest knock us over in his quest to get into the elevator.

So...this was an ok hotel. The rooms were quiet and clean. But maybe think about getting breakfast somewhere else. It was decent for a pit stop on our trip across country.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice but you have to wait for the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Jenwee,
We hope that by now your move has been made and you and your family are safely in place at your destination. Thank you so much for you comments concerning your stay with Holiday Inn Express, Ogden. I am glad that we had plenty of parking for your move and that you had a good night's sleep. I will look into the fitness room and see what problems we could improve on. Also, I do apologize for the breakfast confusion. Normally, the breakfast area has enough room for everyone. I am suspecting that many guests of the hotel came down at the same time, which is not normal. Again, we thank you for staying with us and would look forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
scross@ogdencomfortsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    47
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
43
42
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stopped here to be a half hours ride from Salt Lake City International after a vacation in the Tetons. The room was comfortable and the staff very friendly. Our room had a small refrigerator, but not all of the rooms have one. There was nothing exceptional about the establishment (that can be a good thing) except for the free breakfast. Ada, the woman in charge of breakfast, served freshly scrambled eggs (not the pre-made patties found in some places), crisp bacon, and almost anything you could want. There were even made to order pancakes! Our family of 11 all found something we liked. It was just off the interstate but there was no traffic noise and the air conditioner was quieter than most. It was a nice stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear David P,
Thank you to your family and yourself for choosing to spend the night at the Holiday Inn Express, Ogden. We are glad that you had a good stay with us. Ada, our breakfast attendant is amazing. She has been with the hotel since it opened. She is a true asset for the hotel. She makes everyone feel comfortable and at home. Kind of like" Mom" there to help you out. I am glad that the Breakfast Buffet had enough choices for your family of 11. In closing, I will pass on your comment to Ada and would look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
scross@ogdencomfortsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here while we were visiting Utah and this is one of the best Holiday Inn's I've ever stayed at! In fact I've stayed in 4 star hotels that are not as nice as this Holiday Inn.

The rooms are very tastefully decorated, spacious and comfortable. And the beds were amazing too! The staff was very kind and helpful, and when we asked for local recommendations for eating and shopping, the front desk person took out a map and highlighter pen and began telling us about several options in the area. I felt like every staff person here was very polite and attentive.

The breakfast was wonderful with several selections. We were very happy with this hotel and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear SweetSeattleLady,
WOW is a strong comment and we are SURE GLAD that you used it for US. The Ogden, Holiday Inn is a great place and I am delighted that we met your expectations.
I thank you for taking the time to write your comments to TripAdvsor and will pass your letter
onto our entire staff. For if it was not for the staff, we could not be the hotel that our guests want us to be. Again, thank you for staying.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
scross@ogdencomfortsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Most of our room had been redone, but the bathroom had been skimped on. The grout on the floor had been painted. The beds could use a change. The room also wasn't terribly soundproof. Because this hotel is so close to the off ramp, and a flying J truckstop the truck noise is very noticeable. So perhaps asking for a room away from the highway might help. The cleanliness that we have come to expect from Holiday Inns was here, at least in the room. The hot tub had some mold in one corner, but the pool seemed fine. The towels provided were more like the size of a face cloth. Breakfast was hot, and the cinnamon rolls were very yummy. Staff was incredibly friendly. If you are looking for a hotel close to the highway as you pass through town this should work. It isn't terribly close to shopping or much food. But I would stay there again for a single night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Akheila,

First thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Ogden. All business is important to us and we value your stay.

Second, It takes time to write comments on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your taking the time to write the comments that you did. Guest feed back is the most important thing to us, for if we do not hear how we could make your stay better, we can overlook small items that can make a guest more comfortable. I have passed your comments onto the hotel departments that were impacted. Also, I have passed your review onto our breakfast attendents and to our front desk staff and have thanked them for their friendliness and efficiency.

We hope that in traveling, you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
scross@ogdencomfortsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a very nice hotel, and a great value. My family was driving back from Yellowstone, and needed to be at the airport the next morning. I found this place, after being discouraged at the high prices in Logan. The breakfast selection was great. They had biscuits, gravy, cinnamon rolls, eggs, pancakes, yogurt, and bacon. The rooms looked like they had been recently decorated, and were spacious. There was an indoor pool, and workout room. If I am ever in this area again, this will be where I stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Starsfanatic,
Thank you for your kind words that we received on TripAdvisor. I am glad that Holiday Inn Express, Ogden, Utah could make your stay enjoyable. We appreciate your comments and the time it took to respond to TripAdvisor. Our entire staff will see your comments because they are the ones that make the guest's stay perfect.

In the future, we would appreciate your choosing to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
scross@ogdencomfortsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean room, nice furnishings comfy bed. All that we needed traveling. The breakfast was really nice, with a sweet lady to help you. Also very quiet for being so close to the freeway. Friendy staff to answer questions about the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Junebug Johnson,
Thank you so much for your comments on your visit to the Holiday Inn Express, Ogden, Utah.
We are glad that we met your expectations. Our breakfast attendant is amazing and we get great feedback on her. She has been a part of our staff since the hotel opened.

I will pass on your comments to the other staff members on the hotel. If you are ever traveling through Ogden, we would appreciate your staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
scross@ogdencomfortsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel was about what I expected. I did think the "two room suite" would have 2 rooms not a little half wall but it still worked for our needs. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. I accidentally left my iPod Touch in the room and when I called they had it for me!! To me that says a lot about their staff there. Oh and the breakfast was great!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranch7, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Ogden, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Katie F,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to TripAdvisor on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Ogden, Utah.
The comment concerning our staff is a huge compliment to us. We value our employees and feel that we have the best staff around. Our hotel staff takes pride in the hotel that they work at and try to treat all guests with the respect that they deserve.
In the future, we would appreciate if you would consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
AGM / DOS
Holiday Inn Express
Ogden, Utah
801-605-2298
scross@ogdencomfortsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ogden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ogden

Address: 2245 South 1200 West, Ogden, UT 84401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
#6 Family Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ogden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ogden is located 2 miles from Historic 25th Street, 3 miles from Ogden Hinckley Airport, and 35 miles from the Salt Lake City International Airport. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy such activities as downhill skiing at one of three area resorts--Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, and Wolf Mountain; hiking and biking on miles of mountain trails; and boating and fishing at one of many nearby lakes or reservoirs. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ogden, offers 75 guest rooms including 23 suites with our unique ability to accommodate 6 people per room, double occupancy. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, or you can enjoy our volleyball court, and sports court. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Our conference rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art media equipment, make this an ideal place for executive retreats, banquets, seminars, conferences and training meetings. Wake up with our Express Start Continental breakfast featuring hot cheddar cheese omelets, sausage, bacon, cinnamon rolls and much more. This is a great location for everything Ogden has to offer: Snowbasin Ski Resort, Powder Mountain, Wolf Mountain, Lagoon Amusement Park, Dinosaur Park, Great Salt Lake, Golden Spike National Monument, Hill AFB Aerospace Museum. Visit Ogden, Utah and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel the best hotel in Ogden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Hotel Ogden
Holiday Inn Ogden
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ogden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.