We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most upscale Italian north of Salt Lake City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zucca Trattoria

Zucca Trattoria
1479 E 5600 S, Ste 101A, Ogden, UT 84403-5145
801-475-7077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zucca Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 313 Restaurants in Ogden
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harrison Boulevard
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Most upscale Italian north of Salt Lake City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Fresh authentic ingrediants and prepared true to Italian traditions. This is not American Italian - this restaurant is the real deal. [I have been to Italy twice]. The presentation of the food is very artistic (see photos). Great care appears to be taken in creating the different entrees and cooking them to perfection.

The menu is always changing to match availabilty of ingrediants. There's a three course meal deal for $30 during weekdays that might appeal to those on a low budget. There is also an attached market that sells To Go sandwhiches as well as cheeses and other Italian ingrediants you won't find in the supermarket next door. The restaurant also does a good business on Take Out Pizza. But this is REAL Italian pizza, with a very thin crust baked in the proper pizza oven.

Zucca also has a great wine list and also serves cocktails.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice menu and wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Service was great, menu has nice variety. Menu was a little over the top for the college students with us.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, UT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Innovative menu- excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Zucca Trattoria has become a favorite restaurant for my husband and myself and we come here at least twice a month. We especially enjoy the different menus like the "Tastes of Italy" and other culinary events. We especially like the emphasis on local and seasonally available food items. The pizza, soups, and eggplant sandwich are excellent and the pastas are very good as well. highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogden, ut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feast of the Seven Fishes was incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This was a special menu offered during Christmas Week. I was excited when I saw their e-mail announcing it because I've read about this Italian custom and knew I could never do it justice in my home kitchen. It was offered as either a complete 7 course dinner or 2 smaller menus. We chose to go the full 7 courses to fully enjoy the experience. Each course was better than the last, appropriately portioned and served at reasonable intervals. The first course was Marinated Fresh Anchovy with white balsamic and roasted pepper sauce. Excellent and please forget whatever you know or dislike about anchovies. This was wonderful! Next, we enjoyed Clams w/ parsley, oregano and breadcrumbs (Vongole al Verde). A first for us was the Tonno Tonnato which was seared ahi tuna (best quality) with albacore tuna in a caper aioli sauce. We were all tempted to lick our plates! Then we had Squid ink homeade pasta with mussels and San Marzano tomatoes. The pasta was cooked al dente, the mussels were very tasty and the tomatoes had that touch of sweetness. This was followed by a risotto (arborio) with squid ink, clamari, sweet peas cooked in a Pinot Grigio. The rice was cooked perfectly al dente and the dish was flavorful and creamy. The next 2 dishes were our favorites of the evening. Baccala alla Trapanese which was cod with tomatoes, capers, garlic confit, olives over a creamy polenta. I took small bites so I could prolong and savor the flavors. Finally, we had Prawns with Marsala w/ pancetta, Borlotti puree with garlic and Olio Nuovo. I had to google the borlotti to find out what it was! A delicate, flavorful pink bean...as a puree it was wonderful. Our accompanying wine was a Poiully Fuisse we had brought from home (most Utah restaurants allow you to bring in your own bottles and charge a corkage fee) for the special occasion and it went well with all our courses. The entire 7 courses was priced at $60 per person and we felt it was worth every penny! Well done Chef Elio Scanu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Zucca supports Culinary Cruelty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I live fairly close to this restaurant and have recommended it many times, that is until making reservations for New Years Eve and finding out they have a set menu that includes Foie Gras. I realize some people consider this a delicacy, but many, including myself, consider it inhumane and arrogant to torture any animal for some silly dish that people want to flaunt as high brow. This dish and raising ducks for it is illegal in many countries and states. Our entire party will go elsewhere and I will not recommend this restaurant in the future. Supporting culinary cruelty on the part of the restaurant is despicable.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zucca Trattoria also viewed

 
Ogden, Wasatch Range
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Zucca Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zucca Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.