We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonora Grill

The Sonora Grill
2310 Kiesel Ave, Ogden, UT 84401-1964
+1 801-393-1999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sonora Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 307 restaurants in Ogden
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Sonora Grill is a unique and independent restaurant serving regional Mexican cuisine in a refined atmosphere with unparalleled customer service. Executive Chef, Chris Mortenson, brings with him an impressive resume of experience from restaurants in Seattle, Portland, San Francisco, and Las Vegas. Chef Chris along with owner Steve Ballard are excited to share their passionate interpretation of Mexican food with its patrons. The Sonora Grill will feature a large ceviche bar, catering, full bar and lounge, private party room, private banquet room, and take out with a walk up window.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Horrible service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We walked in and nobody was at the hostess station. After 5 minutes, I spoke up to one of the many staff members walking by,who only looked at us the whole time we were standing there, and asked if someone was available to seat us. After waiting some more, the hostess came to the front. She asked if we wanted to wait for a booth. We told her a table would be fine and she argued with us and made us wait for the booth "to be cleaned". After waiting another 5 minutes, we were told that we could not have the booth because it was not being cleaned but "the people who are in the booth decided
not to leave". We ended up getting the table we said would be ok in the first place. We ordered guacamole
because by now we were starving! Our appetizer
came out 3 minutes before our entrees! This
experience was a disaster from the beginning!
Probably won't go back
especially if I'm particularly hungry or in a
hurry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Sonora Grill, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We take customer service very seriously, and we appreciate you leaving a review, and hope you will try us again. Our main goal is customer satisfaction and truly hope to see you again.
Best Wishes,
Sonora Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    63
    41
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wish I could give it 6 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I. LOVE. THIS. RESTAURANT.
Being from Texas I find the Mexican offerings in Utah to be...lacking. We stumbled across The Sonora Grill one evening when we took our kids to Flow Rider across the street. I am in love! Now, it's not Tex Mex, to be sure, but it is a culinary delight of Cal Mex cuisine. They use the freshest ingredients and employ a great deal of creativity in their menu. The atmosphere is very nice, and they even make fresh guacamole right at your table. My favorite dish is the Habanero Mango shrimp (they may have taken this off the menu.) An added bonus is that they are mostly gluten-free (except the flour tortillas).This is a restaurant that is often requested in my family for birthdays and other special occasions. My whole family loves this place and we feel it is well worth the drive from Utah county!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overrated not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Food was good but nothing spectacular. The price seems high for what you get. Service was good, but better choices for mexican food in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mexican Food in Utah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our opinion is slanted from living in Arizona for 30+ years. The food was good, different, but good. Service was good, but the cost was a little pricey.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great late night family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here passing through Ogden after a long drive. 2 adults and 2 kids shared 2 entrees. The food was creative and tasty. Drinks were quite reasonably priced. Service was good and very friendly.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonora Grill also viewed

Ogden, Wasatch Range
 
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Sonora Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonora Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.