We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Road Island Diner

Road Island Diner
981 West Weber Canyon Rd., Oakley, UT 84055
435-783-DINR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Oakley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun place to stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

First visit to this fun diner.... looks like an old fashion diner on the front and an old barn which hides the back. The city of Oakley did not want to look at a diner on a hill overlooking their small town...they preferred the look of a barn! The inside is authentic and well maintained, the waitresses have nick names such as "Franie". Fantastic atmosphere in an authentic 1930's diner. Good food and friendly, fun service. Worth the stop

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    12
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Better to get on to Kamas or Park City if you can.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second visit to this really nice diner, but the first one was four years ago. Just as we thought the first time, the physical restaurant is very appealing and unusual, but the food is no better than fair-to-middlin'.

Two of us had salad-type wraps, and the chicken-and-pecan one was very late in coming to the table and the contents were wet with water and nary a pecan could be found. The turkey/avocado wrap at the table was much better. Too bad the mashed potato side comes drenched in very salty brown gravy, as the potatoes themselves were delicious. Our five-year-old loved his mac and cheese, but his older sister didn't find much to like about her chicken kids meal. The one club sandwich a the table was ok, but nothing special.

The food isn't really bad, but it also isn't really good. It seemed there were a whole lot more locals eating at the only other restaurant we saw in Oakley--a burger joint, it appeared to be.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Manager at Road Island Diner, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for returning. Obviously you have a very decerning son, our Baked 3 cheese Mac n' Cheese is to die for. Thanks again for you patronage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great experience not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

On the way to the Thousand Peaks snowmobiling ranch we spotted this very cool, authentic Northeast diner and knew right away that we had to try it on the way back and WOW, so glad we did.

Very good, inexpensive food in an authentic NY style diner. Great specials and outstanding milk shakes!!! Every trip to Park City should include a stop at this place as it makes for not only a wonderful experience, but also a nice break from the very expensive restaurants in Park City.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, below average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

For a one time dining experience in an old diner, it's great. Disappointed on the quality of the food and service. I have been several times since it opened and so far haven't had anything there worth the price. The grandson did like playing with the juke boxes on the table and listening to the music and was entertained.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Owner at Road Island Diner, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We are dissapointed you felt our simple value oriented diner fare was overpriced. We voice the same concerns to our food purveyers. I hope you voiced your displeasure over your food preparation to your waitress. They are trained to satisfy the clientele. Thanks for your repeat business, Keith Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun EXPENSIVE Diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were only able to sit in half of the car. Menu had little to offer and was way over priced! Came here due to others' reviews and was disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Owner at Road Island Diner, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We are sorry we hadn't any food choices to your liking from our 2 page menu. I'm sure our waitress would haved served you dessert in the other half of the Dining Car if you would have asked. (Hint: It's nearly identicle to the half you sat in) Did you try the counter stools? Keith Walker Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Road Island Diner also viewed

Been to Road Island Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Road Island Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.